Buddist Monk Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 * Not sure if this is the right forum, but there is no football for a week so this can be a useful distraction. * According to Wikipedia, OTB has been on the go for 23 fucking years now! I honestly can't believe that is the case but it's been a long time, with pretty much the same line up of presenters and format of the programme all that time. We all know it's petty and ill-informed, but is it "good"? Good comes under many guises but essentially I'm asking if you enjoy it or not. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ylf Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 I download it and listen in my work. I like Cowan and Stuart. Think they are good together. Few of tams jokes are recycled right enough🤣. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Im_Rodger Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 It's the best thing on the radio when it's on. That's the most positive thing I can say about it though. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueKillie Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 I'd rather listen to it than the "build up" to the games that are on. Which usually is just the Old firm and Aberdeen show 15 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bennett Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Used to never miss it,a part of every Saturday at one time. Got out of the habit of listening to it tho, probably down to TV channels changing kck off times and days. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Detournement Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 It was better when they had punters phoning in but there's probably too much bitterness in Scottish football now for that to work. It does the job in the car on the way to and from and games. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
itzdrk Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Because I usually meet my pals about 12 for a home game and earlier for an away I don't get to listen to it really (too many podcasts to add another) so it's quite good catching it when Ayr don't have a game. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swordfishtrombone Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 I listen out of habit, the quality of the show is dependent on the guests. It is better when they don't talk about football. Stuart Cosgrove is far more interesting talking about music than football. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Accies88 Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Yeah I like it . Tam mentions the 1991 cup win every week though . 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Demented Zebra Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Great show though was better with the phone in. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sergeant Wilson Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 It's not as petty and ill informed as the alternatives. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scotty Tunbridge Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 tam cowan is a horrible man. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
LeeVanTeeth Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Have listened to it since the first episode. Was a breath of fresh air in its early days but in recent years it's became more and more repetitive, same old stories like Stuart haivering on about his wee boy appearing in a Rihanna video and Tam going on about JFK moments and the only time he has tasted Buckfast. At the 1991 cup final of course. The guys had more freedom in its early days, now with the insistence of the Very PC BBC it has become increasingly bland. The sad thing is if it was taken off air next week the replacement show would be far blander. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wee Willie Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 In the guid auld days it was the bees knees but has went tae seed nowadays. By far the best show was when Scotland played Italy (2005?) at Hampden and Amaruso was the guest on OTB. Funny as fcuk. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Laid-back Accie Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 I think it's pretty decent, it's a good listen on the drive home and it's done in a way so that it can appeal to everyone. 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadgerTheBadger Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Have listened to it since the first episode. Was a breath of fresh air in its early days but in recent years it's became more and more repetitive, same old stories like Stuart haivering on about his wee boy appearing in a Rihanna videoSo repetitive that it was actually a Beyoncé video his little boy was in 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JamieThomas Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 (edited) Phoned in as a kid to gloat when we avoided relegation on the last day of the season and Dundee United went down. This led to a few auld Arab vein bulgers demanding to know "what I'd seen my team win". Well lads, in case you're reading this - the answer is "more than you". Edited September 8, 2018 by JamieThomas 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kennysmassiveego Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Yes and no Very dependant on the guests , hate that Div character they have on from time to time though 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 I've always liked it and kind of grew up with it as it started when I was a youngster in the mid 1990s and it was always my Saturday evening after the football, listening to it on the radio or my tranny if I was at the game. I always loved their phone in after the games and thought it was ten times better than the Scotsport 'forum' and the Celtic/Rangers eejit phone in on Clyde. Together Cowan and Cosgrove are good and make for good listening and their insight and views on the game are always worth hearing, though I must admit I'm not a fan of either on their own and indeed I found Tam's TV programme (On the Ball?) years ago to be quite cringworthy. He's a good guy though and unashamedly biased towards Motherwell so that's good enough for me. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melanius Mullarkey Posted September 8, 2018 Share Posted September 8, 2018 Tam Cowan’s musical taste is fucking bowfin. 7 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...