Stirling Albion v Clyde

Perhaps the person with the knife was a chef or on his way to cut a cake at a child's birthday party? He could also have been a juggler who wasn't very good and so had dropped his other two knives. 

Bit much to assume the worst, just because it's a Clyde fan. 

• Replies 225

Maybe the police would've caught the assailant if they hadn't stopped to show Jake a photo of said knife :rolleyes:

Anyway, some superb shithousing on display from ourselves this evening. Particularly pleasing after the last two away games. Goodwillie clearly not 100% fit but good to have him back in among the goals. 

McStay is back for a family thing. No idea what that means. Hopefully we have him back soon.

Tonight was about dig and thought we showed it in abundance. Given injuries , and others missing too, the bench was sparse, but still some good options there. We done enough to deserve the points.

On to another massive match on Saturday. This is shaping up to go all the way between the 3 of us.

The first half we looked shaky at times; Stirling in particular were getting three players against our two (McNIff and mainly Rankin) on our left. Not much quality into the box though. Superb save by Currie to keep it at 0-0 and a bit of luck from the rebound. Similar luck with the rebound from Rankin's shot which fell for Goodwillie to score.

The second half we settled things down and I don't remember Stirling having an effort on goal. Rumsby should have scored a free header from a corner kick to make things safe, and a few other nearly things. The time wasting from Stewart in particular was great.

Currie played well again. McNiff had a few moments again but did fine second half. Duffie doesn't offer as much going forward as Cuddihy from right-back but he's probably still a better defender in that position and although Cuddihy is good in the air, Duffie gives us another bigger guy in the team. I'd agree Rumsby is having a fine run of form, probably now that he's had Bollan coached out of him. Lang has the potential to be a class above any centre half in the league, including Cogill.

The midfield were dogged rather than glamorous. Grant did a lot of ball-winning (picking up loose balls, intercepting passes) and Cuddihy was everywhere. Boyle the best out of the front three, finding lots of pockets of space (I thought he was involved consistently, right up until his substitution) but Goodwillie, even though he looked knackered in the second half, helped kill the game. Banks was rubbish in the main, kept choosing the wrong option, but the opposition will always see him as a threat. Lamont ran his socks off in his wee stint.

As big a game as any in recent years on Saturday. There should hopefully be a huge crowd for once at Broadwood. Getting ourselves into second spot would be a huge psychological boost after such a long chase.

Stirling were absolutely dreadful; a shadow of the aggressive, competitive team who drew at Broadwood. Anyone fielding Max Wright is a worthy member of the dross seven.

Thought we were good last night, really scrappy game and I was glad we clued up to the ref in the second half that every time you sit down you get a free-kick like Stirling were doing in the first half. Could've had 2 last night but pleased to get 3 points on the board. Massive game on Saturday but what game isn't massive at this point of the season now.

No place for any player to hide

Cause he ran the opposite way.
Why didn't your team celebrate in front of your fans? Oh wait... 

Clyde fans turned up in good numbers and were very vocal throughout the game. It was a tad disrespectful for Goodwillie to not show some appreciation.

9 minutes ago, headthebaw said:

Clyde fans turned up in good numbers and were very vocal throughout the game. It was a tad disrespectful for Goodwillie to not show some appreciation.

He applauded the Clyde fans as he made his way back to the halfway line.

10 minutes ago, Clyde_1977 said:

As far as I am concerned as long as he keeps scoring he can celebrate anywhere he wants. Probably just conserving energy as he is just back from injury 

As long as the celebrations don't involve a flat in Armadale.

5 hours ago, headthebaw said:

He did acknowledge the fans. 

Goodwillie is normally one of the first to do so every week, didn’t notice anything different last night.  In comparison to every other season in last few years the connection with the supporters support is fantastic this season!

47 minutes ago, headthebaw said:

So does every single player who scores a goal acknowledge the fans every time they score a goal?

Or is it because it's Goodwillie you're just trying to make an issue out of nothing?!

Nice try, snowflake!

DGW isn't one for running over to fans never has been since he came to the club usually celebrates in the middle of the pitch , but always acknowledges fans and spends time with selfies ect if asked Terrific player with a terrific attitude hope that explains

His thump of his chest towards the fans after full time was plenty indication of what the fans mean to him. That and as others have said, applauding us on his way back for the restart after the goal. I’m sure he will correct this error and use correct etiquette when he scores next by jumping in to the stand and high five us individually.

Would you prefer he'd a flute & drum ?
Away and get yer chairman's pecker right doon yer throat ya inbred bigoted c**t
Would've taken any kind of win tonight, so we'll have that and move on.  Huge game Saturday, go at them from kick off tae final whistle and we'll win. 

Telt[emoji122]

I didn't think we deserved to lose tonight but we didn't create enough chances (for the second game in a row).
A touch of luck for Clydes goal with a deflected shot falling at Goodwinkies feet.
Question for Clyde fans. Why did Goodwillie  not celebrate his goal with you?
Clyde's timewaisting in the second half was farcical.
Thought you might be more concerned about the lack of celebrations from the league 2 player of year, mind you he would need to score first , just confirms as stated last year one season wonder [emoji106]