Musselburgh Athletic F.C 2019/20

9 hours ago, newcastle broon said:

It's no far from Musselburgh to Rosewell a bus would be most welcome im led to believe a few have booked the hospitality not sure where they're from though.The club have advertised spaces are filling up. 👍

Screenshot_20200113-224922_Twitter.jpg

See your guy is at it this morning again!!  Is he aged about 9?

Have heard there will not be a bus on Saturday. There isn't normally one so close. I suppose the risk is that the cost would not be much less than going to Fife more than likely people are able to make their own way.

So, it is hard to gauge how many will be there. Hopefully a big crow as:

(i) the result determines if we move clear of Whitehill or perhaps  just one point ahead of you with two matches more played!

(ii) Last match before the play off against Mid Annandale, so fans should be in Rosewell to cheer our guys on!

4 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

See your guy is at it this morning again!!  Is he aged about 9?

Have heard there will not be a bus on Saturday. There isn't normally one so close. I suppose the risk is that the cost would not be much less than going to Fife more than likely people are able to make their own way.

So, it is hard to gauge how many will be there. Hopefully a big crow as:

(i) the result determines if we move clear of Whitehill or perhaps  just one point ahead of you with two matches more played!

(ii) Last match before the play off against Mid Annandale, so fans should be in Rosewell to cheer our guys on!

Yes noticed that hopefully he'll  notice its him that's making an arse of himself and gets bored,though last week he went running to his pals on another thread when I queried his immaturity. 

Not many teams will take buses to a local game to be fair.

A win for you certainly puts daylight between both teams. 

Didnt realise the play off was next week,hopefully yer minds on the big match next week and no Saturday then.

Out of interest what would you prefer 3 points Saturday and a defeat in the play off or defeat on Saturday and win the play off ? 

Ye can only pick 1 :P

Best of luck to you in the play off though 👍

1 hour ago, newcastle broon said:

Yes noticed that hopefully he'll  notice its him that's making an arse of himself and gets bored,though last week he went running to his pals on another thread when I queried his immaturity. 

Not many teams will take buses to a local game to be fair.

A win for you certainly puts daylight between both teams. 

Didnt realise the play off was next week,hopefully yer minds on the big match next week and no Saturday then.

Out of interest what would you prefer 3 points Saturday and a defeat in the play off or defeat on Saturday and win the play off ? 

Ye can only pick 1 :P

Best of luck to you in the play off though 👍

That is not fair NB!!!

Others will disagree- but I want 3 points over the cup win!

I think Newtongrange are in trouble now.  They have lost 7 of the last 9 matches and only taken 4 points out of the last 27. If you keep on getting beat....

Burgh know all to well, with the last time we were in the Super League that you get to a stage where there is not enough games left!!

5 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

Good win tonight for Musselburgh U20s as they beat Newtongrange U20s 3-1. This keeps them in 3rd place in league and was their 4th win in a row.

One down, one to go this weekend CJ. The 20s are on a decent run - good to see, and maybe one or 2 could be tapping the first team manager's door? Or not yet?

Yes, huge game today! A "6 pointer" and time for MA to get an away win! See you there! 

9 minutes ago, Passthebaw said:

One down, one to go this weekend CJ. The 20s are on a decent run - good to see, and maybe one or 2 could be tapping the first team manager's door? Or not yet?

Yes, huge game today! A "6 pointer" and time for MA to get an away win! See you there! 

Good points made PTB!

I ‘spoke’ about the Under 20s last season, but not sure it did them any favours!

This season, i have my views about who could progress (or not) from the U20s. However, it’s not up tome but the Burgh management team!

The fact that atheism U20s are 3rd in league, albeit with more game played, would tell me that players should have courtesy of being looked at!

21 minutes ago, Passthebaw said:

Under 20s now 6 matches undefeated, with last 4 won. Burgh main team need to aim for that kind of record as we aim to steer clear of the bottom 3. We have the players to do that - just need the best 11 on the park!

See you there! I’ll be the one with the shiny head!!

Should you give a sub the player of the match award when he comes on with just 22 minutes to play?

Normally I’d say no, but changed my mind today.

When Mathu King came on the park, Burgh were down and out. By the time the ref blew for full time, Burgh had won the match with Mathu’s two goals! I salute you Mr King!!

An unbeaten run of five matches has seen Musselburgh Athletic U20s get 13 points and move up to 3rd place in Conference B. On Friday night Newtongrange U20s were visitors to Pinkie for a 7.45pm kick off. On the first night of this season, the reverse fixture saw Musselburgh U20s leave New Victoria park with a 4-3 win. 

No team line for Newtongrange Star U20s so report just has squad numbers.

Musselburgh Athletic U20s were on the attack in the first minute when slack defending by Nitten U20s and good pressing by Khasim Mdalasini saw a shot by Ciaran Young come off the keeper’s right hand post. Five minutes later Nitten U20s were on the attack. A corner by the centre forward saw a header by no.14 come off the bar and out for a by-kick. The next move in the Burgh U20s box saw the referee speak to Nitten no.16 for clattering into Ross McRae.

Fifteen minutes played and Ross McRae was called into play with two saves from the Nitten centre half to keep the score at 0-0.  Not long after, following an offside decision, Nitten fired the ball upfield. Two attempts by the no.15 were blocked and ball went out for a goal kick. The next forage forward by Burgh saw no.14 lose ball to Khasim Mdalasini, then made a good recovery to put ball out for a corner.

Into the final minute and play was up the Burgh U20s right wing. Ball was half cleared out of the Newtongrange box. Kyle McFadden, on the edge of the box played ball back and a great strike by Khasim Mdalasini saw the ball come off the keeper’s right hand post and into the net.

With the last kick of the ball, half time came; Musselburgh Athletic U20s 1-0 Newtongrange Star U20s.

Forty eight minutes played and a good run up the wing by Khasim Mdalasini. As the cross came into the box, the Nitten keeper could not control to ball, but no Burgh player near. Jack Crombie was booked on the hour mark for a challenge on the centre line. Did not see much wrong at the time. Two minutes later Nitten  no.8 was next in book with yellow card.

First Burgh sub on 65 minutes saw Devan Craighead replace Jack Crombie. Then Nitten’s left back had a chance to equalise, but his free kick went straight to Ross McRae. Musselburgh’s next attempt at goal, came from a good ball into the box by Kyle McFadden. Conor Fitzpatrick’s shot saw a great save by the Nitten keeper.

On 79 minutes Kyle McFadden was replaced with trialist, Adam Dunlop. Newtongrange U20s best chance of match came in 82 minutes. Substitute, no.17 shot from the right hand side of the box and Ross McRae produced a great save and turned the ball round for a corner. There were two in succession with the no.11 hitting the side post and out of play.

Small margins!

From the by-kick, ball was picked up by Khasim Mdalasini. Play then moved from right to left hand of pitch, with ball passed into the box. A rasper of a shot by Devan Craighead landed in the net and Burgh took a 2-0 lead. Two minutes later, on 85 minutes another run into the Nitten box saw no.4, try to kick Khasim Mdalasini off the ball. The Burgh forward was having none of this and brushed no.4 aside and slide the ball past the keeper and with 3-0, match was as good as over.

Into the final two minutes and a shot by Nitten no.8 was blocked in the box. Then there were shouts for a penalty as no.11 went down, but so did Keiron Lugton and Ethan Wynne. The Nitten left winger then had to be restrained by one of his player’s and was then talked to by the referee. The last kick of the match saw a consolation goal by Nitten’s no.17.

Full time: Musselburgh Athletic U20s 3-1 Newtongrange Star U20s

On Saturday Musselburgh made the nine mile trip to Rosewell to meet bottom side Whitehill Welfare. Before the match, there were five places in the league and four points separating the sides, with Whitehill having played two matches less.

Musselburgh made four changes to the side which drew with Tranent a fortnight ago. Out went on-loan player, Bob Wilson who signed for Stenhousemuir; Jordan Orru, injured in training; with Mathu King and Conor Thomson on the bench. In came Michael Moffat, following his two match ban; Liam Reid, following his loan spell at LTHV; Josh Jeffries, a new signing from Dundonald Bluebell and Darren Downie, following his bout of (man) flu!

First chance of match fell to the home team, in four minutes, with the ball played up the middle of the pitch. Wright broke free of the Musselburgh defence, but saw his shot go wide of the far side post. Musselburgh had to wait until 11 minutes for their first attempt, but Josh Jeffries hit a weak shot which was picked up by Whitehill keeper, Bejaoui. Play was briefly stopped on 14 minutes following a strong challenge on Declan O’Kane by Swanson. The Burgh players appealed for a foul, but it was just a good old robust tackle so the referee was correct in playing on immediately after.

Musselburgh were on the attack on 21 minutes. Nathan Evans put in a good cross which just evaded Darren Downie and Whitehill cleared for a corner. As the ball came in, Brian Martin saw his header come off the bar and the home side breathed a sigh of relief! A few minutes later and another good chance for the away side saw a Darren Downie header cleared off the Whitehill goal line. 

The first goal of the match came from an error by the Burgh goalkeeper. As the ball was played into the six yard box, Paul Grant seemed to come for the ball, then stop and wait for the ball to come to him. When it did, Paul Grant could not keep a hold of the ball and Sproule was there to knock the ball in and the home team were 1-0 up.

Burgh pressed for an equaliser before half time. Darren Downie was fouled by Swanson as both players were trying to play football on their bums on the ground. The Whitehill player was none too happy with the referee’s decision. From the free kick, the ball was cleared by the Whitehill defence.

Into injury time and Brian Martin was the first player to get a yellow card for a foul on Somerville. From the edge of the Burgh box, a header was saved at point blank range by Paul Grant. The ball then came to Swanson whose low shot, which was again saved by the Musselburgh keeper.

Half time: Whitehill Welfare 1-0 Musselburgh Athletic

Four minutes into the second half and Michael Moffat was booked. It appeared to be for what he said after the whistle was blown as opposed to the tackle itself. A minute later and a number of Musselburgh fans thought there was an equaliser. However, a shot from 25 yards by Declan O’Kane just went the wrong side of the post.

On 57 minutes and another close call for Whitehill. A move which involved Brian Martin and Bradley Whyte was played to Nathan Evans. A great ball came into the Whitehill box, but Darren Downie headed over the bar. The first substitute of the match came on the hour. The effects of a heavy cold finally caught up with Michael Moffat and he was replaced by Conor Thomson. 

Jackie Myles was the third Musselburgh player booked on 65 minutes with a foul on Wright. From the free kick a shot by the home side’s centre forward McCallum was put out for a corner, but nothing came of that. A number of Musselburgh fans had been wondering why team captain was on the bench. His time came on 68 minutes when Mathu King replaced Jackie Myles.

Nathan Evans went close on 70 minutes when his shot, from the right hand side of the pitch just went wide of Bejaoui’s left hand post. Over the next 10 minutes or so, all three Whitehill substitutions were made. Devlin, Conner and Murray came on for Sproule, Swanson and Wright.

Into the last few minutes of the match and the Burgh supporters were becoming restless as it appeared another away match was heading for defeat. There was also no sign of a final sub coming off the Musselburgh bench. Three minutes to go, play was up the Whitehill end when the ball came back to Jonno McManus. From 30 yards, the ball was punted Into the Whitehill box. Mathu King got a touch on the ball. Then with his second touch, Mathu King turned and hit a shot past a despairing Taylor and also past Bejaoui into the net. With three minutes remaining, Burgh had equalised. While the Burgh fans were jubilant on the side-lines, the Burgh players quickly made their way back to their own half, perhaps sensing a late win.

On the 90 minute mark, Whitehill made their last move forward. The right back Somerville crossed the ball into the Burgh box, but Devlin’s header was weak and Paul Grant made an easy save. Into the third minute of injury time, Musselburgh again came forward. Declan O’Kane passed the ball to Mathu King who then ran by Connell and Taylor. Declan O’Kane was there to tap ball on. Both Mathu King and Taylor slid in for the ball with the Burgh forward managing to get the touch and the ball went slowly by Bejaoui.

Against all odds, Musselburgh were 2-1 up! Scenes on the touchline as Burgh players and some of the bench rejoiced while the away support were jumping up and down with joy. As soon as Whitehill restarted the match, the referee blew his whistle:

Full time: Whitehill Welfare 1-2 Musselburgh Athletic.

Musselburgh remain in 11th place, but are now only one point behind Crossgates, with a game in hand. 

Edited by Casey Jones

Didn't look great for The Burgh until it all turned around yesterday but it was a great, reallly enoyable day.

Thinking back to  a few years ago and I always kind of had a belief that it didn't really matter if we ever played at Whitehill, they had their league and we had ours.  Big part of it being a great day yesterday was that the Welfare are a great wee club and a pleasure to visit.

9 hours ago, Casey Jones said:

On Saturday Musselburgh made the nine mile trip to Rosewell to meet bottom side Whitehill Welfare. Before the match, there were five places in the league and four points between the sides, with Whitehill having played two matches less.

Musselburgh made four changes to the side which drew with Tranent a fortnight ago. Out went on-loan Bob Wilson who signed for Stenhousemuir; Jordan Orru, who was injured in training; with Mathu King and Conor Thomson dropping to the bench. In came Michael Moffat, following his two match ban; Liam Reid, who just returned from his loan spell at LTHV; Josh Jeffries, a new signing from Dundonald Bluebell and Darren Downie, following his bout of (man) flu!

First chance of match fell to the home team, in four minutes, with the ball played up the middle of the pitch. Wright broke free of the Musselburgh defence, but saw his shot go wide of the far side post. Musselburgh had to wait until 11 minutes for their first shot, but Josh Jeffries hit a weak shot which was picked up by Whitehill keeper, Bejaoui. Play was briefly stopped on 14 minutes following a strong challenge on Declan O’Kane by Swanson. The Burgh players had appealed for a foul, but it was just a good old robust tackle so the ref was correct in playing on immediately after.

Musselburgh were on the attack on 21 minutes. Nathan Evans put in a good cross which just evaded Darren Downie and Whitehill cleared the ball out for a corner. As the ball came in, Brian Martin saw his header come off the bar and the home side breathed a sigh of relief! A few minutes later and another good chance for the away side saw a Darren Downie header cleared off the Whitehill goal line. 

The first goal of the match came from an error by the Burgh goalkeeper. As the ball was played into the six yard box, Paul Grant seem to go for the ball, then stop and wait for the ball to come to him. When it did, Paul Grant could not keep a hold of the ball and Sproule was there to knock the ball in and the home team were 1-0 up.

Burgh pressed forward to try and get an equaliser before half time. Darren Downie was fouled by Swanson as both players were trying to play football on their bums on the ground. The Whitehill player was none too happy with the referee’s decision. From the free kick, the ball was cleared by the Whitehill defence.

Into injury time and Brian Martin was the first player to get a yellow card for a foul on Somerville. From the edge of the Burgh box, a header was saved at point blank range by Paul Grant. Then the ball came out to Swanson who hit a low shot, which was again saved by the Musselburgh keeper.

Half time: Whitehill Welfare 1-0 Musselburgh Athletic

Four minutes into the second half and Michael Moffat was booked. It did not appear to be for the foul that was given away, but rather for something said after by the Burgh defender. A minute later and a number of Musselburgh fans thought there was an equaliser. However, a shot from  25 yards by Declan O’Kane just went the wrong side of the post.

On 57 minutes and another close call for Whitehill. A move which involved Brian Martin and Bradley Whyte was played to Nathan Evens. A great ball came into the Whitehill box, but Darren Downie headed over the bar. The first substitute of the match came on the hour. The effects of a heavy cold finally caught up with Michael Moffat and he was replaced by Conor Thomson. 

Jackie Myles was the third Musselburgh player booked on 65 minutes with a foul on Wright. From the free kick a shot by the home side’s centre forward McCallum was put out for a corner, but nothing came of that. A number of Musselburgh fans had been wondering why team captain was on the bench. His time came on 68 minutes when Mathu King replaced Jackie Myles.

Nathan Evans went close on 70 minutes when his shot, from the right hand side of the pitch just went wide of Bejaoui’s left hand post. Over the next 10 minutes or so, all three Whitehill substitutions were made. Devlin, Conner and Murray came on for Sproule, Swanson and Wright.

Into the last few minutes of the match and the Burgh supporters were becoming restless as it appeared another away match was heading for defeat. There was also no sign of a final sub coming off the Musselburgh bench. Three minutes to go, play was up the Whitehill end when the ball came back to Jonno McManus. From 30 yards, the ball was punted Into the Whitehill box. Mathu King got a touch on the ball. Then with his second touch, Mathu King turned and hit a shot past a despairing Taylor and also past Bejaoui into the net. With three minutes remaining, Burgh had equalised. While the Burgh fans were jubilant on the sidelines, the Burgh players quickly made their way back to their own half, perhaps sensing a late win.

On the 90 minute mark, Whitehill made their last move forward. The right back Somerville crossed the ball into the Burgh box, but Devlin’s header was weak and Paul Grant made an easy save. Into the third minute of injury time, Musselburgh again came forward. Declan O’Kane passed the ball to Mathu King who went by Connell and Taylor. Declan O’Kane was there to tap ball on. Both Mathu King and Taylor slid in for the ball with the Burgh forward managing to get the touch and the ball slowly went by Bejaoui.

Against all odds, Musselburgh were 2-1 up! Scenes on the touchline as Burgh players and some of the bench rejoiced while the away support were jumping up and done with joy. As soon as Whitehill restarted the match, the referee blew his whistle:

Full time: Whitehill Welfare 1-2 Musselburgh Athletic.

Musselburgh remain in 11th place, but are now only one point behind Crossgates, with a game in hand. 

He might've gifted us a goal but that point blank double save was as good as winning the game for you. 2 0 half time and you wouldve had a mountain to climb. That's fitba for ye. I reckon that was ww s biggest crowd of the season so far too. Fair play to the Burgh fans travelling up in numbers,the main street in the village was crammed wi cars.

2 hours ago, Burnie_man said:

How many do you think Mussy will bring through to Blackburn on Sunday?

My guess is Mussy will bring around 200 supporters. There are 2 supporters buses running, plus the usual car travellers. Weather may have an effect though - current forecast is for rain! 

1 hour ago, newcastle broon said:

He might've gifted us a goal but that point blank double save was as good as winning the game for you. 2 0 half time and you wouldve had a mountain to climb. That's fitba for ye. I reckon that was ww s biggest crowd of the season so far too. Fair play to the Burgh fans travelling up in numbers,the main street in the village was crammed wi cars.

Agreed, although you never know what may have happened 2nd half. Don't think you troubled Mussy at all after the break. Swanson drifted out of the game after being the best player on the park 1st half. 

24 minutes ago, Passthebaw said:

Agreed, although you never know what may have happened 2nd half. Don't think you troubled Mussy at all after the break. Swanson drifted out of the game after being the best player on the park 1st half. 

Swanson picked up a knock and had to be subbed. I said in my posts we sat back and couldn't even hit you on the counter. 2 players going off made a big difference  to the game. A poor and very disappointing 2nd half from a ww point of view. 

46 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Swanson picked up a knock and had to be subbed. I said in my posts we sat back and couldn't even hit you on the counter. 2 players going off made a big difference  to the game. A poor and very disappointing 2nd half from a ww point of view. 

Swanson definitely was best player on park in first half. Football is all about ifs and buts and if you thought to much into this, then you could go crazy!

What if Brian Martin"s header had gone in; what would have happened if Paul Grant did not fumble the ball. Thing is as soon as a small part of the match was to change, absolutely no one could tell what the outcome would be!

Burgh have lost a few matches when in front and also through late goals. So, time/luck may change for Whitehill as well. Never give up.

8 hours ago, newcastle broon said:

Interesting comment on the crowd. I am glad you were pleased about the Burgh support. I know a few regular ‘away’ supporters who couldn’t make Saturday. Although you reckoned it was the biggest crowd of season, on your website, attendance was 170. But figures produced by Mr Blackburn, in November has the highest attendance as 226.