The SPFL recommendation?

Problem being noone in the top.flight was willing to let us groundshare back then so basically that leaves you with nowhere to go if you cant share with a non top flight side.
Clyde were going to groundshare with Killie if promoted back in 2004. The rule was ridiculous, Broadwood had over 8k seats at the time and our average crowd waas under 2k.

1 minute ago, Jack Burton said:
56 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:
Problem being noone in the top.flight was willing to let us groundshare back then so basically that leaves you with nowhere to go if you cant share with a non top flight side.

Clyde were going to groundshare with Killie if promoted back in 2004. The rule was ridiculous, Broadwood had over 8k seats at the time and our average crowd waas under 2k.

You'd have lost the vote back then anyway even with an agreement. ICT had an agreement but still got knocked back on the original vote. Only the outrage in the country made them vote again. There wasnt the same groundswell of opinion back in 2004.

51 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

They said if they finished this season the new season wouldn't be able to start until September which means there wouldn't be enough dates in the diary for the new season. 

What happens to the new season of football can't start until September anyway? What I'm saying is there bluffing again to try and push this through!

That's what needs to be decided before the new season starts.  But at least by getting this season out the way clubs can start accessing new revenue streams that will stop them going under. If it happens that the new season is delayed then at least clubs will be in a better financial position, and then we go with whatever contingency plan has been put in place.

Completing this season with play-offs playing twice a week would require 6 weeks in League 1/2 (infact longer as Stranraer and Peterhead have 9 games to play) and 7 weeks in the Championship. Plus a gap to the next season of a few weeks. Surely you see that not having to complete those fixtures before starting a new one would make it incredibly more likely to have a full season next year?

Again, all the usual arguments about fairness are valid, but I don't see it as bluffing. If the season is going to be completed then once clubs get their last installment early from this season (if they get that) they are going to have no income for months, and once furloughing is pulled back they will have a full squad of players and employees to start paying.

Edited by Diamonds are Forever

You'd have lost the vote back then anyway even with an agreement. ICT had an agreement but still got knocked back on the original vote. Only the outrage in the country made them vote again. There wasnt the same groundswell of opinion back in 2004.
That was the year ICT went up. We finished second behind them.

We also finished second the season previous when Falkirk won it.

Just now, Jack Burton said:

That was the year ICT went up. We finished second behind them.

We also finished second the season previous when Falkirk won it.

Sorry my bad. I was thinking it was earlier for some reason. Aye complete hogwash having to groundshare for 2k extra seats you'll.hardly use.

UEFA will make the decision one way or the other, before this fecking lot of imbeciles get their combined act together.

Drastic change is needed in the running of the game, and the greed is good club need their wings clipped permanently, before they destroy whats left of Scottish Footballs reputation. 

As someone posted earlier , get the bigot brothers away tae feck

Surely uefa could start by saying there will be no champions league or Europa league for season 2020/21. That would free up a hell of a lot of midweek slots and make next season manageable even if the start is delayed. Uefa could potentially play the remaining ties from this seasons competition as a filler throughout the season. Given that the early qualifying rounds start in about 2 weeks I think cancelling these is pretty much inevitable.

Heard a wee rumour that may or may not be from spfl mouth directly about plans for a 16/16/16 league set up under the reconstruction plans being thrown about.

Just look at how good that would be. Personally think this will save Scottish football and make people interested in their clubs again.

Top tier of:
Celtic
Rangers
Motherwell
Aberdeen
Livingston
Hibs
St J
Killie
St mirren
Ross county
Hamilton
Hearts
Dundee utd
Inverness
Dundee
Ayr

Second tier of:
Dunfy
Arbroath
Morton
Alloa
Qots
Partick
Raith
Falkirk
Airdrie
Montrose
EF
Dumbarton
Clyde
Peterhead
Forfar
Stranraer

Third tier of:
Cove
Edin
Cowden
Queens
Elgin
Annan
Stirling
Albion
Brechin
Brora
Kelty
Fraserburgh
Bonnyrigg
Inverurie
East Stirling

Sign me up now
Cove Rangers would self combust.

21 minutes ago, Clyde01 said:

Surely uefa could start by saying there will be no champions league or Europa league for season 2020/21. That would free up a hell of a lot of midweek slots and make next season manageable even if the start is delayed. Uefa could potentially play the remaining ties from this seasons competition as a filler throughout the season. Given that the early qualifying rounds start in about 2 weeks I think cancelling these is pretty much inevitable.

With the money that takes in no chance.

16 team top league, split after 30 games into:

Group A: teams 1-4
Group B: teams 5, 8, 9 and 12
Group C: teams 6, 7, 10 and 11
Group D: teams 13-16

Play additional 6 games.

Group A winners are champions and second place get a European spot.

Third and fourth go into European playoffs with winners of B and C.

Bottom 2 in D get relegated.
Have you been to Belgium recently?

6 hours ago, Gordon EF said:

“So what are the alternatives

People can change their positions on things because...compromise...”

Hey, we can pull a Dundee and offer a preseason friendly with East Fife for them to change their no vote (which, by rule, they can do)...wait, it doesn’t matter anyway. The point is, it shows just how stupid, venal and corrupt the leadership at many teams and the SPFL are.

Edited by TxRover

1 hour ago, Clyde01 said:

No, that's their cash cow mate 

4 hours ago, Donathan said:

16 team top league, split after 30 games into:

Group A: teams 1-4
Group B: teams 5, 8, 9 and 12
Group 😄 teams 6, 7, 10 and 11
Group 😧 teams 13-16

Play additional 6 games.

Group A winners are champions and second place get a European spot.

Third and fourth go into European playoffs with winners of B and C.

Bottom 2 in D get relegated.

That would be excellent. Finally breaking away from the utter tedium of having to play the majority of teams 4, 5 or 6 times a season, but the arsecheeks still get to play out bigotfest 4 times a season to keep them and the TV companies happy. Also solves the current issue with the split where some teams have 3 home or 3 away games against the same opposition. Added bonus of keeping Hearts, Inverness, Dundee, Partick and Falkirk happy as well. Therefore, absolutely no chance that the clowns running our game would allow this to be proposed or actually vote this through. 

Edited by NavyBlueArmy1876

1 hour ago, TxRover said:

Hey, we can pull a Dundee and offer a preseason friendly with East Fife for them to change their no vote (which, by rule, they can do)...

in these dark times, it's good to find a bit of comedy in the world.

Why would you need any split? It's a shambles and should be a non starter in any league, how anyone on this planet can think that the possibility of finishing 6th with less points than the team that finishes 7th is a good idea is beyond me.

Because you’ve played against different teams, in the bottom half weaker. It’s not a difficult concept.

EXCLUSIVE: Dundee have submitted a ‘yes’ vote to the SPFL’s proposals paving the way for the 2019/20 season to be concluded

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-fc/1268401/dundee-fc-spfl-vote-yes-season/?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter