The Dundee United Thread 22/23

7 minutes ago, Ludo*1 said:

Even if McMullan is shite and can't handle the step up, the state your squad is and has been in is crying out for a player like him.

McMullan was a very frustrating player for us.  Got himself into decent positions but his crosses where invariably rubbish; he certainly seems to be doing better for Dundee.

16 minutes ago, ArabFC said:

Not surprised. He often has brilliant runs followed by bouts of being horseshit.

I’m probably in the 5% of United fans who would’ve kept him.

Cos, you know, an inconsistent winger is better than none.

I'd have kept him if I knew the alternative was nothing

1 hour ago, skinny arab said:

Those are things that are happening in the background and we still need to facilitate their reintroduction into the team,” Courts said.

“When Mark Connolly comes back, when Declan Glass, Jeando Fuchs and Flo Hoti come back in, we don’t want to have recruited into positions we know we only need to wait a month or so before key players start returning.”

The above is from an injury report on tele website so despite being desperate for a central midfielder who can influence a game it looks like we won’t be signing anyone as “key players” Hoti and Glass would have their paths back into the team blocked (despite neither player ever being a first team regular). The shitshow continues. 

I'm approaching levels of anger seen previously only on the Dundee thread last season with this shit show. 

Was he just lying when he said 2 or 3 signings were imminent?

Hoti couldn't get a get a run in a Forfar side relegated to L2.

4 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

Scandinavia is not a country, it’s a term used for a collection of countries in Northern Europe.  In that respect it is a silly question however I hope you have learnt something from the answer.  HTH.

Actually, it's a question from tourists that has provoked arguments in Scandinavia itself.  The Swedes naturally claim that if the region had a capital it would be Stockholm as Oslo and Copenhagen are much smaller cities.  The Finnish people don't really consider themselves to be a part of Scandinavia so Helsinki doesn't really come into it.  A silly question but not one that hasn't been considered by the Scandinavians themselves.  It's obviously not an argument that any of them can really win.  Anyway, United have had some really good Scandinavians that played for them as have one or two other Scottish clubs I won't mention. 

41 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

McMullan was a very frustrating player for us.  Got himself into decent positions but his crosses where invariably rubbish; he certainly seems to be doing better for Dundee.

He got severely criticized for his crossing at Tannadice and it affected his confidence when he got into good positions.  McPake told him not to worry about it and his crossing got better.  Just a different managerial style but it seems to have worked for him.

41 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

I'm approaching levels of anger seen previously only on the Dundee thread last season with this shit show. 

Was he just lying when he said 2 or 3 signings were imminent?

Hoti couldn't get a get a run in a Forfar side relegated to L2.

Yes.

All that comes out of Tannadice now is wind and pish. 

They just say what they need to at that particular point to sound like they have a grasp if things. They don't.

And if they actually do get 2 or 3 signings it'll only be because we've punted Shankland or Robson for money as they don't want to tell us there's not a pot to pish in. Even though I think fans wouldn't be surprised due to the obvious circumstances. 

mcmullan is playing well for dundee due to the fact hes starting every week...confidence is a huge thing for wingers and when he was getting the odd game here the odd game there 20 mins here 20 mins there at tannadice his confidence would have plummeted

9 minutes ago, Meeniedee said:

mcmullan is playing well for dundee due to the fact hes starting every week...confidence is a huge thing for wingers and when he was getting the odd game here the odd game there 20 mins here 20 mins there at tannadice his confidence would have plummeted

Its not outwith the realms of possibility that he was utterly gash for us where there was huge pressure and expectation from fans, hes moved accross the road where there's less pressure on him under a different regime and now having better form. 

Good on him. He was definitely better out the door as he was, well, shite for us and needed away.

Does it mean id take him back? Nope.

2 minutes ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Its not outwith the realms of possibility that he was utterly gash for us where there was huge pressure and expectation from fans, hes moved accross the road where there's less pressure on him under a different regime and now having better form. 

Good on him. He was definitely better out the door as he was, well, shite for us and needed away.

disagree about him being under less pressure surely hes under more pressure to perform considering where we got him from.

10 minutes ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Aye, that's just wind and pish.

8 minutes ago, Meeniedee said:

disagree about him being under less pressure surely hes under more pressure to perform considering where we got him from.

Well he was here for 4 years, was shite for the most part and got dogs abuse regularly here.

Moving to a smaller club always makes it easier.

Edited by mishtergrolsch

9 minutes ago, mishtergrolsch said:

Well he was here for 4 years, was shite for the most part and got dogs abuse regularly here.

The boo boys still living in the 80s. We’ve all been through that 🤦🏻‍♂️

4 minutes ago, Yenitit said:

They’ve never been a big club. 

they probably were for about 5 mins in the early 80's....the majority of their fans who end every post with FTD83 were probably still tucked away in their auld mans ball sac 

1 hour ago, mishtergrolsch said:

1013952172_PaulandBob.jpg.46b1618ad519a16fbf7da49102b59d3b.jpg   

Glorious, suits you sir if I may be so bold!

I'll retrieve the dry fly from your gents sports jacket collar sir, thank you, suits you, oooooh.

Best regards as always.

Good evening Mr Red-Dot  @Szamo's_Ammo

imageproxy.gif.95429ba842aaaf5e15ba24cee70eea66.gif

Edited by This Charming Man