Sarah Everard

You're simply looking for things to get angry and offended about. Which is ironic because you seem to be the sort of angry wee guy who probably says "snowflake" a lot. 

If throwing insults is your idea of sensible debate, I’ll pass.....

13 hours ago, TheJTS98 said:

A bit different, but my ex is a primary teacher. And in her first year as a teacher she got landed with taking the P7 kids for their high school visit.

At this high school visit she met her old S4 English teacher. At that point he'd been a new hire young teacher and she'd been an S4. Now she was in her early twenties and he would have been around 30ish. She noticed on the second day of the visit that he was clearly trying to fire into her.

Nothing illegal, but it left her feeling a bit weird. A guy who had been her teacher as a teenager in her words 'quite clearly getting stuck in'.

Strange ethical area, I suppose. They were both adults doing jobs in a grown-up workplace.

I think the law has got it right here   It is fucking weird but the time lapse between him being her teacher and them meeting removes the position of power he once had,   Meaning your ex is perfectly capable of getting him telt.   

Edited by parsforlife

6 hours ago, TheJTS98 said:

A bit different, but my ex is a primary teacher. And in her first year as a teacher she got landed with taking the P7 kids for their high school visit.

At this high school visit she met her old S4 English teacher. At that point he'd been a new hire young teacher and she'd been an S4. Now she was in her early twenties and he would have been around 30ish. She noticed on the second day of the visit that he was clearly trying to fire into her.

Nothing illegal, but it left her feeling a bit weird. A guy who had been her teacher as a teenager in her words 'quite clearly getting stuck in'.

Strange ethical area, I suppose. They were both adults doing jobs in a grown-up workplace.

That's still miles too weird for me. Actively firing into someone you first met and who you knew relatively well when they were a child. 

Naw. 

25 minutes ago, parsforlife said:

I think the law has got it right hear,   It is fucking weird but the time lapse between him being her teacher and them meeting removes the position of power he once had,   Meaning your ex is perfectly capable of getting him telt.   

22 minutes ago, madwullie said:

That's still miles too weird for me. Actively firing into someone you first met and who you knew relatively well when they were a child. 

Naw. 

The 1st post I agree with - once the position of power is nullified then it's no different to any other situation people might find themselves in.  The 2nd one would depend on many. many factors so I'd not be so quick to say it's a naw in every case.  

18 minutes ago, hk blues said:

The 1st post I agree with - once the position of power is nullified then it's no different to any other situation people might find themselves in.  The 2nd one would depend on many. many factors so I'd not be so quick to say it's a naw in every case.  

I get that. I just think as a teacher, you're so starkly exposed to how childlike 13,14,15 even 16, 17 year olds can be, how immature, and for me, especially their writing. That's a barrier I just couldn't ever have got over. 

I appreciate there are situations where like, for eg new teachers at 21 end up teaching a class of s6 pupils, and they don't look, sound or act very much different to their pals, and there lines could easily be blurred. I didn't start teaching till I was 30,so maybe that's why I've got a harsher perspective. 

2 minutes ago, madwullie said:

I get that. I just think as a teacher, you're so starkly exposed to how childlike 13,14,15 even 16, 17 year olds can be, how immature, and for me, especially their writing. That's a barrier I just couldn't ever have got over. 

I appreciate there are situations where like, for eg new teachers at 21 end up teaching a class of s6 pupils, and they don't look, sound or act very much different to their pals, and there lines could easily be blurred. I didn't start teaching till I was 30,so maybe that's why I've got a harsher perspective. 

We're on the same page then. 

Where I am now, they have tried to address the issue by making some laws about being alone in the presence of  someone x years your junior if you're not direct family.  It's a complete clusterfuck with so many holes in it.  IIRC, it could be construed as illegal for an 80 year-old bloke to be in the company of a  60 year-old woman or something stupid like that.  

15 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

If it is used to apprehend the criminal and stops them from harming others then it's not pointless in the slightest

Yes after the fact, but the discussion was about making people feel safe walking about, knowing that your abductors will be caught rather than stopping these horrific crimes being committed in the first place is hardly the most comforting thing in the world.

What’s the answer then? If you can’t deter someone who knows they will be caught, how would you make people feel safer?

Just now, Wee Bully said:

What’s the answer then? If you can’t deter someone who knows they will be caught, how would you make people feel safer?

No idea. But a camera operated by someone watching 20/50/100 screens they are unlikely to watch the moment you get abducted. As for the people that commit these crimes they know they must know in the balance of probability they will get caught. 

Probably a return to community police officers wandering about would be a start to making people feel safe, but then again these folk have to have trust of the people they serve so can't target young black men for a stop and search every time they fancy.

When I was in 6th year  there was a girl I was pals with who used to fancy the school technician. He would have been early twenties. He didn't have any authority over any children, I'm pretty sure he was just going round the school doing maintenance. They ended up getting together after she met him in a club a few months after we left school. They're still together now which would be around 15 years later.

I've never considered that weird until reading some of the stories in this thread,

We used to give the boy a bit of hassle when we were at school. That stopped for me when I was playing juvenile football on the pitch next to his amateur game. He got in to an argument post match with an opponent and karate kicked him before giving him a proper doing.

He's a nice guy though 😂

Edited by Merkland Red

2 hours ago, madwullie said:

Naw. 

As glamourised (for a bit anyway) in Friends.

8 hours ago, roman_bairn said:

So your idea of debate and discussion is to suppress the views of those you don’t agree with? Irrespective of how futile.
The point I was making was that this was not just some twitter nut but a genuine politician raising a ridiculous suggestion in the House of Lords.
If the idea of sensible debate includes suggesting that men cross the road to make women feel safer, the last time we saw that sort of separatist view was in the fifties in the US....

The fact it was a ridiculous suggestion was her whole point. It was to highlight the absurdity of the police advice to women. This advice was effectively don't go out and you won't be attacked by a strange man.

Stop attacks by sanctioning potential victims, great idea, for how long?

The fact the press and you didn't see the nuance comes as no surprise. The press have the excuse they need headlines to get clicks and sell papers. I can't come up with one for you.

This threads starting to remind me of the Brass Eye Peado episode, something like this-

Morris on showing an MP a picture of a porn actress-

CM-Is it ok to have s sexual relationship with this woman

MP- Yes I think so.

CM- Even when you've found out that she used to be an 8 year old girl?

MP- Well, no.

43 minutes ago, HeWhoWalksBehindTheRows said:

This threads starting to remind me of the Brass Eye Peado episode, something like this-

Morris on showing an MP a picture of a porn actress-

CM-Is it ok to have s sexual relationship with this woman

MP- Yes I think so.

CM- Even when you've found out that she used to be an 8 year old girl?

MP- Well, no.

10 hours ago, Bonksy+HisChristianParade said:

My girlfriend was out for a run tonight and a couple of guys crossed the street for her 4A0C309C-6B26-4029-BF71-BB446AEBBF05.png.93bd6401839417f33d8430f372b40067.png she said she found it a bit weird but I suppose it’s good that people are trying to make a change. 

I’d find it weird if someone was interested in my bouncing tits. Give her a hug from me.

The teacher-pupil thing is a bit weird. There were quite a few teachers in my old school who were married to former pupils, albeit ones close in age to them. My wife’s aunt and uncle met when she was his teacher, although there is only three or four years between them.

My wife is a teacher and one of her male colleagues was fired for sending inappropriate text messages to a female pupil. It didn’t meet the threshold for prosecution, despite him being escorted off campus by the police. He was subsequently struck off by the GTC, although he is apparently clear to work with children. It had a big effect on the school, cast a shadow over a lot of their work. I also think it’s extremely sad that a male teacher did this. He was potentially a good role model for boys, he ran extra curricular activities and clubs, he was the only male teacher in his subject and he could’ve really been a positive influence on people but no, he’s blown it because he didn’t have the self control required around a barely legal teenager. What a pathetic loser.

17 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

The teacher-pupil thing is a bit weird. There were quite a few teachers in my old school who were married to former pupils, albeit ones close in age to them. My wife’s aunt and uncle met when she was his teacher, although there is only three or four years between them.

My wife is a teacher and one of her male colleagues was fired for sending inappropriate text messages to a female pupil. It didn’t meet the threshold for prosecution, despite him being escorted off campus by the police. He was subsequently struck off by the GTC, although he is apparently clear to work with children. It had a big effect on the school, cast a shadow over a lot of their work. I also think it’s extremely sad that a male teacher did this. He was potentially a good role model for boys, he ran extra curricular activities and clubs, he was the only male teacher in his subject and he could’ve really been a positive influence on people but no, he’s blown it because he didn’t have the self control required around a barely legal teenager. What a pathetic loser.

Shit loads of this goes on. Like I say I've taught full time in two schools, and had placements at two schools. 

In my placement school, a teacher had just been struck off for having a relationship with an s6. He was the son of the head of english, so that was an extremely comfortable placement. 

The first proper job I had, the guy that was in the room next to me, after I left, started a relationship with a girl that had just left school, dinghying his wife and young family.

In my last school, a teacher did the same, except this time the girl was still at school when they started. IIRC it was his grimace at the time that rumbled them and forced him to come clean or she was going to the police. 

Neither of the last two are still teaching (couldn't tell you about the first) and AFAIK they are all still in the relationships. 

Horrible c***s. 

Edited by madwullie