djchapsticks FM22 World Tour

djchapsticks

July 2030

A disappointing cup loss marks the earliest cup exit I've had in this entire save and we followed that up with yet another defeat. Seongnam have been a real pain in our hole this season.

Three decent enough wins to bounce back though, but given we were 3-0 up against both Daejeon and Gimcheon, there's still a real tendency to hit that self-destruct.

image.thumb.png.2dc49051dfafebe55496c282ffc13019.png

As for the league, yeah you need to believe it's gone. That being said, it does follow the exact same format as the SPFL so stranger things have happened but we probably now need to win about 11 or 12 of our last 13 to have any chance at all. We should do enough to stay in the top 4 and the ACL places though.

image.png.6dd998ed39c2fa5edca01df5e7957a9e.png

August/Sept 2030

A good couple of months in all honesty. Dropped four points but the performances picked back up. Lost a late equaliser to Incheon which was disappointing but even then, we're keeping ourselves firmly in the top four race.

image.thumb.png.99ba17d901da7251a26e3a2b60286ae6.png

Except...Pohang have went on a bit of a stinking run.

image.thumb.png.c576259a0b6d3ce6307ef1213cb2225b.png

Which means...the 12 point gap with 13 to go is now 3 points with 6 to go. Check Daegu as well, they've clawed back the same amount of ground as we have.

image.png.9afc066a01be565b7cdb96902738089d.png

And the last pre-split fixture?

image.thumb.png.6ee1810ac4595a95cb0467aeaa4ae7af.png

Matchday 35 (part 1)

Home to Incheon next- on paper my easiest fixture of the final five.

image.png.a9dee1896443267573c854dce7483f77.png

Turns out it was pretty straightforward. Bizarrely though, the rest of the top six don't play their round 35 matches until after round 36. This split's fixtures are weird.

So for now we're on top.

image.png.c69a2d5eb9f3acd4c5a5dc5b789c007f.png

image.png.c6091ffbbade201baf756a89d22097c5.png

Matchday 36

Away to Daegu - this side have been a pain in my arse at times this season and I'm expecting a tough one here too.

image.png.22beda8c36f8db2aeb35da0258ef033d.png

Or....not?

Elsewhere - a 95th minute helping hand from Incheon means Pohang drop another two points.

image.png.56ab9da19368b27be70ba4f11ae76846.png

Suwon pick up a routine win and it's a lot tighter than it currently appears as the games in hand of the other contenders roll around next. Daegu are definitely gone now though.

image.png.53c09c0ea3120153caf329f7caed6396.png

Matchday 35 (part 2)

In the other league games....well there's only really one of interest here. A draw would probably be perfect as it would keep me ahead of Pohang and put Suwon out of it completely.

image.png.499750253869d508d805b1bf7126f96b.png

Oaft. That means with only two games left, it is all very tight at the top.

image.png.09d985ba73179ffc61c53278c3a49284.png

Matchday 37

We host Daejeon a day before Suwon and Pohang take to the field so can put a bit daylight between us again in anticipation of a last day shootout against Pohang.

image.png.4b354b3414492c317d403bc8798146b9.png

And we pummelled them something rotten in the first quarter before taking the foot off the pedal. That result ends Suwon's involvement in the title race. It might also end Pohang too if they fail to win their match.

image.png.4bd408eb0b676aee539eea5e0accf49a.png

Which they did fail to win! Suwon by way of a victory has prevented it being official just yet but in a quite mental turnaround, Jeonbuk are going to be the 2030 K-League winners!

image.png.7764731b2989ea125e12834b66a1efc1.png

Matchday 38 - Final day of the season.

We travel to Pohang who are already out of the race following their 3-3 draw last weekend.

Suwon need 3 points and we need to lose. There also needs to be something like a 23 goal swing that has rendered the chances of us losing it from here as nil.

Which was just as well as we were pish!

image.png.75197a7a068798219b94895e634a6924.png

Still not complaining. I set out to get a CL spot and ended up with a very, very unlikely championship win. Probably my favourite one in the save so far as it was so down to the wire.

image.png.2a2aeb7f04ec10f929e872fc1a9980e3.png

image.thumb.png.d89032e326ee666ce3c60a40ffed02ab.png

Ivory Coast duty

We approach the 2021 AFCON with the final qualifiers. We had already made it by way of four wins from four so these are essentially warm up games for January 2031's tournament which will probably signal the end of my time with them, regardless of the outcome.

image.thumb.png.4f6d9e62d6761320ddd592f8265d5ccd.png

image.thumb.png.e9de8e950d68c9adf781652a71d5792e.png

Draw takes place in around 4 weeks time, so back to Jeonbuk for now to do a bit of pre-season signing.

Early pre-season 2031

A few bits of movement at club level. My first choice goalkeeper wanted a new contract. South Korea is beholden to the same rules as China that no goalkeepers without S. Korean nationality are allowed to play in the K-League which restricts the options somewhat, so at 33, I opened contract negotiations with Song Bum-Keun. 

He wanted £59k a week. He was on £19k. And he wouldn't budge. 

So I punted him out the door to Leon in Mexico for £900k. I mean don't get me wrong. He's not bad but I'm not parting with the money he was after to stay.

image.thumb.png.5fd531b87fe190f551594a6e13780362.png

So in his place, came in Katsunori Kitmura by way of having S.Koren citizenship. He was Pohang's first choice and transfer listed so I actually got him for less than I sold Bum-Keun for. He's probably a very, very slight downgrade, particularly in distribution but it's the best I could do in the circumstances.

image.thumb.png.71dd7a9540f3ee888decd07c6ed34b98.png

Elsewhere, we strengthened with two more young Korean talents.

Jang Dong-Ho from Seoul FC for £1.1m will get some game time on the right this season as backup to Keleba and Park Jae-Eun

image.thumb.png.f6cce8ec88585b2a15217d96a0c623dd.png

Min Seung-Ho is another young Japanese player with Korean blood. He was attracting a bit of attention from big European sides and had a £475k release clause, so I jooked in before the bidding got going. Inderberg is starting to get noticed by bigger clubs after 25 goals in his debut season so if I need to sell, I've got a couple of decent young prospects to fill his shoes.

image.thumb.png.81c4b8115c6694aae172b6ba82f442ee.png

Managed in Korea on a previous FM and I always found that no foreign goalkeepers rule bizarre - it’s something to do with concerns that all their goalies are shite so if they get foreign ones in then the local ones will be even worse. 

It usually just meant I could assemble a very decent outfield with a complete diddy behind them. 

AFCON 2031

My final bow with Ivory Coast before I move on. I feel we've got a really good shout of winning this and it would be the first of the national continental trophies on my tour if we can win it.

The group looks very winnable at least. Ghana are the obvious other favourite in the group.

image.png.340f674173d7e99520e2f0e97535d875.png

We're the best team in Africa going into the finals but only just. There are a few big hitters kicking about who could derail this.

image.png.05f45656197ae97c24a435d2b6614517.png

Group stage - Matchday 1. Burkina Faso

Opening game sees us meet the 3rd seeds in the group, Burkina Faso. For those of you old enough to remember, this is a country that has long since been the bar that Scotland's national team have been judged against in World Rankings. Under Vogts, we would regularly be informed that Scotland, at 66th, 74th, 83rd in the World rankings, were behind even Burkina Faso.

In all honesty, it was as straightforward as could be. They didn't even have shot on target.

image.png.a6860ef90912ce6be70cd2b9670d24fb.png

Matchday 2 - Tanzania

image.png.14d04adf67441fce5c2e3983508aeee0.png

That's a brass neck - we had something like 13 shots of target to their one so there's no real excuse for not winning comfortably. Ghana also drew with Burkina Faso, meaning we've already qualified.

Matchday 3 - Ghana

image.png.bcb096e57b3ff4e546b07845ddf8727e.png

Ouch. A rank rotten group stage and we're a wee bit fortunate to go through. Need to buck the ideas up big time though if we want to win this.

image.png.24681caf2ec2683e3a9ed592d4933383.png

One of the higher ranked sides coming up next.

Round of 16 - DR Congo

image.png.7800dffa867cd83cb3b22ff35ed08330.png

Utter garbage. We got exactly what we deserved. I honestly expected we'd be in among the last 4, possibly even expecting to win it. So disappointing to go out in that manner.

Didn't even hang about for the bullet.

image.thumb.png.858ab0f91de8d537a3b14541e529f0ce.png

Rest of 2031 Pre season

First off, ACL group draw.

An interesting group and we have my old side Port to contend with in the group stages.

image.thumb.png.9f956b70de639d6f285a1132163a4694.png

The board have said they want us in the final this season. I want to go one better.

That is complicated though by a few departing faces, one in particular.

image.png.490872c15deda73f8c601e27e21fc461.png

Thongkaew, I got more than I would have expected for so it was easy to let him go back to Thailand.

Song Dae-Eui, as soon as a Premier League team came in, kicked up all levels of hell to move on and I had to reluctantly do so.

Inderberg is the big one. I double our money on him but when PSG come knocking, it's enough to piss any player in the world off if you rebuff them. I did so anyway and he came back with a transfer request. I agreed to sell for £11m but when they came in for £10m, there was no time to knock it back in anticipation of another on deadline day...though they did sweeten the deal somewhat.

image.png.744606d6a9fd22f9ed266208057651ac.png

They loaned him back for the season. Delighted with this and little wonder, he's coming on big time since I bought him for £5m.

image.thumb.png.c4954b99d3f876ebd937f3f638b5f52e.png

The squad is pretty slim at full back, centre half and on the wings. I'm in final stages of bringing these three to the club for £900k, £650k and £425k respectively. But we need probably another full back and at least one centre back on top of this.

image.thumb.png.a28b71f46284cbc69b5ea3b959045cd9.png

image.thumb.png.b94a28d1e068093b0b38383d9ed54d1a.png

image.thumb.png.4b6a75e0f3bf188f28148e311bd486a1.png

With that being said, the sale of Inderberg leaves us with and £18.5m transfer kitty. My foreign five are quite settled and really, I don't want to lose any of them. Inderberg will go and free a space when he does but maybe Diomande at 30 I can start to move on, but he's still one of my best players. 

Need to keep on with good Korean talent.

February. Start of 2031 Season

A few more pieces of business and I've decided to raid some of our rivals and spend relatively big to pad the squad out with players of quality for this level.

Kim Young-Nam is the first choice left back, coming in from Pohang for £2.6m to improve an area where we desperately needed it.

image.thumb.png.34a8274006f59e8184cc39610c442596.png

Shin Sung Ju arrives from Suwon and will be in and among the first team. £1.6m parted with to bring him in.

image.thumb.png.b6711aa6bc3abb8bc2e71fd2d4a48ca0.png

Jang Tae-Woong also arrives from Pohang for £4.5m. A bit steep but we'll literally have one striker when Inderberg does go so he's a decent replacement though clearly not as good.

image.thumb.png.044fc02171c428cf136a5724c6405074.png

The Champions league has also started strongly.

image.thumb.png.9ffc93be002294d0cc0a5457a6463ec4.png

DL Pro and Hougang are the two weaker sides in the group but pumping Hougang 13-0 was still a bit of an eye-opener.

The league starts on 1st March.

March 2031

A strong start to the season in the league, slightly let down by dropped points in the last two games.

image.thumb.png.748affa1d045efedacf045788baa9abc.png

In continental competition, I'm more or less safely through. Port gave me a bit of a scare by taking the lead but we're far too good for my old side.

image.thumb.png.66d87695e10e72d56d1aba8a747d4017.png

All in all a decent start, especially considering one of the big wins was against Incheon who have got right out the traps this season.

image.png.336369add1e47a42d8243732635c7496.png

April - June 2031

The month of April went relatively well. The ACL Group was seen through with total ease and the league results were commanding until a defeat to my old rivals Suwon.

image.thumb.png.8f55a94d7312818beab1759a86fcb7f2.png

May, more of the same. We do have a bit of performance anxiety against the other two big teams in the league at times but we just blow almost everyone else out the water.

image.thumb.png.e499cadfab9927d6c34a6055340e0f41.png

As was evident in June...

image.thumb.png.0ba835432ef0f96e13803f4a4fa7cfaa.png

At the 20 game mark we're looking good. Sitting pretty four points clear and completely hammering the goal difference numbers. Like legit 28 GD ahead of anyone else in the league. Mental.

image.thumb.png.24b7e753c025c86db2cfd3935d56c27b.png

Inderberg is steaming ahead in the goals tally with 20 in 18 games. He's become legitimately world class but I've already made moves to fill his squad space for next season. In the June transfer window, even though I may not still be at Jeonbuk.

18 year old Shehab El Saheed is arriving. I met his release clause of £800k which is a complete steal.

image.thumb.png.ddeb39ffb207e708b5c4ffc89e31a25d.png

In slightly sadder news. My star centre-half Frane Ivanovic had his head turned by a slew of European interest. Juventus, Arsenal, Porto and Inter Milan were looking at him before one club made a steal and got in ahead of everyone else. Offering £5m cash up front and unsettling the player if I knocked it back as it was his preferred destination.

image.thumb.png.405f9c97b96b76fa708b6da6b43dd461.png

Someone has a Qatari sugar daddy it seems. :lol: And it's been quite the year for them too.

They've split the Old Firm, ended up in this season's Champions League, spend £56m in the last year on transfer fees and lost the Europa Conference league final 3-1 to Arsenal.

Ross County also achieved 3rd in the league and made it to the last 16 of the conference league the year before. The Cinch eh?!