The Queen of the South thread

12 hours ago, 19QOS19 said:

Any word on why Pickard never returned for the second half?

12 hours ago, NM_1919 said:

On a booking

Just wondered if a player misses a game when he's picked up 2 bookings in different games as in the Euros.

It will be interesting to see how referees react to goal celebrations when players run into the crowd after some of the celebrations witnessed at the Euros which went unpunished. I think scorers only got booked there if they removed their top. Serious double standards if our referees adopt a stricter stance. 

Just wondered if a player misses a game when he's picked up 2 bookings in different games as in the Euros.

It will be interesting to see how referees react to goal celebrations when players run into the crowd after some of the celebrations witnessed at the Euros which went unpunished. I think scorers only got booked there if they removed their top. Serious double standards if our referees adopt a stricter stance. 

David gray got booked in the cup final for leaving the pitch by The ref. Scottish refs in general tend to be arseholes though when it comes to celebrations and booking players.

6 minutes ago, Hibeesbounce75 said:

David gray got booked in the cup final for leaving the pitch by The ref. Scottish refs in general tend to be arseholes though when it comes to celebrations and booking players.

Yes, definitely double standards employed in major European and World Competitions than in domestic competitions and we're supposed to be working from the same Rule Book. 

Swerving slightly away from that issue, at last night's game an Airdrie player kicked the ball out for a throw-in to stop play because one of his team-mates' boot had come off. Surely this should only happen if a player is injured or something serious happens where the play should be stopped quickly,  and you shouldn't expect to get the ball played back to you, which in this instance, the Queens player did.  If it's not played out because of an injury or serious matter then I think you are within your rights to keep possession.  

11 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Yes, definitely double standards employed in major European and World Competitions than in domestic competitions and we're supposed to be working from the same Rule Book. 

Swerving slightly away from that issue, at last night's game an Airdrie player kicked the ball out for a throw-in to stop play because one of his team-mates' boot had come off. Surely this should only happen if a player is injured or something serious happens where the play should be stopped quickly,  and you shouldn't expect to get the ball played back to you, which in this instance, the Queens player did.  If it's not played out because of an injury or serious matter then I think you are within your rights to keep possession.  

Yes, that was absurd.

It was Hamill who gave the ball back.  In the circumstances, he'd have been perfectly justified in hanging onto it.

Yes, that was absurd.

It was Hamill who gave the ball back.  In the circumstances, he'd have been perfectly justified in hanging onto it.

He gave it back yet got dogs abuse from the Airdrie fans as he wanted to play on. I certainly wouldn't have been giving the ball back in those circumstances. Ludicrous.

Where do most of our fans on here see us finishing this season ? Personally think we have a nice blend of youth and experience in the squad. Maybe like a few have mentioned we could do with another left midfielder but think we are well covered in the majority of positions. I think with the squad assembled a push for fourth is not totally out of the question but 5th/7th is probably more realistic. A nice Scottish cup run would be welcomed after a few tame efforts of late. 

I think  the squad appears to be a lot more balanced than last year and everyone appears to know what their role is, however our central midfield outside of Tapping is still a bit flaky for us to get 4th and our depth compared to other teams is not as good. The likes of Dykes and Anderson give the full backs more protection and offer something in the air as well as some pace which was sorely lacking last year. Defensively we've kept it intact though it's hard to judge Hamill against inferior opposition but he offers more quality on the ball than Kidd.  I think around about 6th with us, St Mirren, Raith and Morton being very similar to each other.

I think 4th is realistically a bit beyond us tbh, which I  would happily be proved wrong on,  even finishing 5th I would consider to be very decent. I just hope we can do a bit better than last season's final position with a decent run in the Cups for a bit of added interest. Although it's still a bit early to be judging teams as most are still at the experimental stage I think Saturday's game against Partick Thistle will give a better indication of strengths and weaknesses  that need to be addressed.       

4 minutes ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I think 4th is realistically a bit beyond us tbh, which I  would happily be proved wrong on,  even finishing 5th I would consider to be very decent. I just hope we can do a bit better than last season's final position with a decent run in the Cups for a bit of added interest. Although it's still a bit early to be judging teams as most are still at the experimental stage I think Saturday's game against Partick Thistle will give a better indication of strengths and weaknesses  that need to be addressed.       

I can see us finishing anywhere between 6th and 9th, which I know isn't exactly sticking my neck out.  

I'd be surprised if we're in the play-off hunt this year.  I'd also be surprised if we finish bottom of the pile.  Basically, I want to come away from more games this year with a feeling of having enjoyed myself.  I'm also keen that we do better in away games, even though I don't go to many.  Some sort of impact in a Cup or two would also help.

Part of the problem last season was also that the second half of it was so abject.  No pitiful runs this year would also be good.

Maybe all of that is too much to ask.

There was certainly a lot to be happy about last night on what was my first look at the Skelton-era Queens, but it shouldn't be ignored just how poor Airdrie were.  Still the whole point in pre-season and early-season games is to fill supporters with blind optimism, and this time round is no different.  That being said, and assuming everything goes roughly as expected, I think even our strong teams of recent years would struggle to finish top four this coming season.  As long as we are comfortably better than those in the relegation mix, and give a good account of ourselves against the top teams I'll be happy.  An improvement in the cups on last season would be nice as well, and should be pretty easy to achieve.

My main concerns after last night are the following - 

A midfield containing any two from three of Pickard, Tapping and Jacobs is going to be more workmanlike than anything else.  It places a lot of responsibility on the shoulders of Mark Millar and I'm not confident he is up to the task.  I thought he was in the last chance saloon last season, but he certainly is now, here's hoping he realises this and grasps the opportunity given to him.

We really, really need a left midfielder, preferably one with experience.  Watching the guile, nous and ability of Hamill and Anderson linking up together down the right hand side was a real joy last night.  It was a completely different story down our left hand side where the relative inexperience of both players showed on a number of occasions I felt.  Dykes looks good on the ball, great in the air and is very quick, but going by the quality of his delivery I don't think wide midfield is his best position.  It worked out fine last night because the quality of opposition meant we were basically playing with 4 forwards.  However against better opponents Marshall will need more protection from a specialist midfielder who knows when to push on, when to drop back and let Marshall overlap etc.

Sort those areas out and I think we should be in for a fairly comfortable season.

Not sure if it's common knowledge but Alex Cooper is training with you next week, offered to play for free/minimum wage I believe.

Had heard he was training with us. Can't remember seeing him play, thoughts? Worth taking punt on? We could do with a good left winger

7 minutes ago, palmy_cammy said:

There was certainly a lot to be happy about last night on what was my first look at the Skelton-era Queens, but it shouldn't be ignored just how poor Airdrie were.  Still the whole point in pre-season and early-season games is to fill supporters with blind optimism, and this time round is no different.  That being said, and assuming everything goes roughly as expected, I think even our strong teams of recent years would struggle to finish top four this coming season.  As long as we are comfortably better than those in the relegation mix, and give a good account of ourselves against the top teams I'll be happy.  An improvement in the cups on last season would be nice as well, and should be pretty easy to achieve.

My main concerns after last night are the following - 

A midfield containing any two from three of Pickard, Tapping and Jacobs is going to be more workmanlike than anything else.  It places a lot of responsibility on the shoulders of Mark Millar and I'm not confident he is up to the task.  I thought he was in the last chance saloon last season, but he certainly is now, here's hoping he realises this and grasps the opportunity given to him.

We really, really need a left midfielder, preferably one with experience.  Watching the guile, nous and ability of Hamill and Anderson linking up together down the right hand side was a real joy last night.  It was a completely different story down our left hand side where the relative inexperience of both players showed on a number of occasions I felt.  Dykes looks good on the ball, great in the air and is very quick, but going by the quality of his delivery I don't think wide midfield is his best position.  It worked out fine last night because the quality of opposition meant we were basically playing with 4 forwards.  However against better opponents Marshall will need more protection from a specialist midfielder who knows when to push on, when to drop back and let Marshall overlap etc.

Sort those areas out and I think we should be in for a fairly comfortable season.

All of that seems pretty fair, and left side certainly isn't Lyndon's usual position. He's a centre forward in the main but played a central midfield role in the 20's when he was first here and is probably more right sided than left. He's done very well in two outings on the left but up against better defenders, and indeed better attackers when his inexperience at covering the full back may become a factor, it may be different. However, he's learning all the time and he's a monster of a size which, combined with Anderson on the other side, means opposition full backs are going to have back post problems all season with us if they play. Millar has looked excellent in pre-season but he looked excellent in pre-season last year too and didn't really kick on from it in the real season.

Hamill's set piece delivery looks outstanding and is a side to him I wasn't really conscious was there before when I saw him play for Kilmarnock / Hearts. He's at least the best we've had at that since Mitchell and probably a better defender, certainly a more cynical one which is no bad thing. Combined with the extra height we have up top now in Rigg, Anderson and Dykes as well as Lyle, it gives us a weapon we simply didn't have last year and throw in the two centre halves we must be a real threat at corners with the height available.

We could undeniably do with a couple of players though, preferably somebody naturally left sided. There is still about 6 weeks to the window closing though. No panic.

As for the overall division. Hibs should be far too good for us and there's no real reason at this point to expect us to be much closer to Falkirk than we were last year. You'd have to presume Dundee United will be better too. Clearly a far bigger club with far greater resources and a manager who knows this level. I'd hope we're better than the two part time sides. Of the rest, St Mirren look to have recruited really well so far. I'm not ruling out our chances of competing with them but we'll be second favourites. Not sure about Dunfermline. They will no doubt be cavalier and in Reilly, Paton, Cardle, Higginbotham combined with AJ's attacking philosophy I expect them to score freely. Not sure whether they can keep them out at the other end though. Hopefully we should be in a position to compete with Raith Rovers and Morton at least. 5th or 6th to 8th looks likely, playoffs at either end are unlikely but not impossible. A decent cup run in at least one cup is important though and we've made a good start in this one. If we can beat Stenny at home then we'll have at least 9 points. We'd be damned unlucky not to go through with that though we'd probably have to beat Thistle to guarantee progress. I'm pretty optimistic overall.

14 minutes ago, Doonhamer doon south said:

I think we could finish 4th to 7th. Morton Raith and ourselves will be scrapping for last playoff place for most of the season.

Solid start to the season hope we keep it up.

That scenario would suggest one of Hibs, Dundee United, St Mirren or Falkirk won`t be in the top 7. Seems unlikely in all honesty.

Edited by Distant Doonhamer

That scenario would mean one of Hibs, Dundee United, St Mirren and Falkirk won`t be in the top 7. Seems unlikely in all honesty.

Excellent point. I would include st mirren in a four team mini battle for last playoff place throughout the season. So a 4th to 8th.

I have made a couple of blonde posts recently :wacko:

2 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

As for the overall division. Hibs should be far too good for us and there's no real reason at this point to expect us to be much closer to Falkirk than we were last year. You'd have to presume Dundee United will be better too. Clearly a far bigger club with far greater resources and a manager who knows this level. I'd hope we're better than the two part time sides. Of the rest, St Mirren look to have recruited really well so far. I'm not ruling out our chances of competing with them but we'll be second favourites. Not sure about Dunfermline. They will no doubt be cavalier and in Reilly, Paton, Cardle, Higginbotham combined with AJ's attacking philosophy I expect them to score freely. Not sure whether they can keep them out at the other end though. Hopefully we should be in a position to compete with Raith Rovers and Morton at least. 5th or 6th to 8th looks likely, playoffs at either end are unlikely but not impossible. A decent cup run in at least one cup is important though and we've made a good start in this one. If we can beat Stenny at home then we'll have at least 9 points. We'd be damned unlucky not to go through with that though we'd probably have to beat Thistle to guarantee progress. I'm pretty optimistic overall.

I'd agree with a lot of that. Hibs will be much stronger than us and Dundee Utd seem to be recruiting wisely  & putting a decent team together. Falkirk remain very strong and will also be title contenders and these 3 will almost certainly be in the top 4. St Mirren have signed some decent players and I think will fight it out with Dunfermline for the 4th play-off spot.

Raith had a squad that performed very well last year and, unless Locke makes a right mess of it, I would expect them to finish above us.

Duffy got in some good quality loan signings last year,but seems to be leaving it late in  finalising his Morton squad for this season. I think it will be nip & tuck  between Queens & Morton.

Ayr (& McCall) are the ones that make me nervous. For all that he was unpopular by the end at Palmerston, he has definitely got something as a manager and they might give us a run for our money in terms of league position.

We should be too strong for Dumbarton. 

I would therefore predict we will finish between 7th & 9th.

23 hours ago, PALMYLAD said:

Just read it's down as an own goal . Del now needs four more for the magical 100 goals for Queens ......

23 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Never crossed my mind it wasnt Lyle's goal. Wasnt until after the game that anyone suggested to me it might not be. I went to ask the ref for an official view but he had gone. I will confirm tomorrow when the official report is available but Del says he touched it and I would be surprised if it doesnt get credited to him.

Official report wasn't up until late but we can now confirm it was a Derek Lyle double according o the match referee. Wee piece on the OS now.

Had heard he was training with us. Can't remember seeing him play, thoughts? Worth taking punt on? We could do with a good left winger

Inconsistent, but most players are at this level. Personal I would have liked to have seen him giving more of chance with us, and would certainly have kept him over David Smith. So yes I reckon he's worth a punt.

11 hours ago, Doonhamer doon south said:

I think we could finish 4th to 7th. Morton Raith and ourselves will be scrapping for last playoff place for most of the season.

Solid start to the season hope we keep it up.

We'll be nowhere near the top 4. Duffy would have to make 5/6 fantastic signings that would hit the ground running which simply will not happen.