does anyone who is convicted of a violent offence deserve to work and play sport again.

26 members have voted

1. 1. does anyone who is convicted of a violent offence deserve to work and play sport again.

• Yes
    • No

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 13/08/22 at 09:04

The range of offences covered by "violence" is so vast that it renders the question kind of meaningless.

Someone gets a conviction for a fight outside a nightclub when they are 18, I doubt anyone would suggest a lifetime ban.

Someone is convicted of rape or murder, I think most people would be surprised if they were allowed to come back.

6 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

The range of offences covered by "violence" is so vast that it renders the question kind of meaningless.

Someone gets a conviction for a fight outside a nightclub when they are 18, I doubt anyone would suggest a lifetime ban.

Someone is convicted of rape or murder, I think most people would be surprised if they were allowed to come back*

* Clyde fans

Professional boxing is the wild west of sport but I always think of this case when this discussion comes up.  Tony Ayala Jnr, a top light-middleweight contender in the early 1980s.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tony_Ayala_Jr.#Rape_conviction

Before he could fight for the title, he was convicted of sexually assaulting his neighbour having broken into her home.  He had several convictions for violence against women and a history of drug and alcohol abuse.  He served 16 years in prison and when released resumed his boxing  career.  He eventually lost to Yori Boy Campos but was briefly jailed after being shot by a young woman's whose house he broke into and was then accused of having sex with a 13 year old (the allegation was withdrawn).  He was then put back in prison for 10 years for traffic offenses and possession of drugs and pornography (against his parole).

When he was released again he took over his dads gym and was given write ups like this in his local paper - https://www.expressnews.com/sports/columnists/john_whisler/article/Ayala-Jr-now-helping-run-dad-s-gym-5463413.php#photo-6278806

He died of a drug overdose just after this article was published, in the gym his dad ran. 

You'd think being a multiple convicted sex offender and abuser of women might turn people against him but he fought in front of thousands in his hometown.    Lots of people clearly forgive anyone if they can produce in sport.

Edited by ICTChris

I agree with those saying that Violent crime is too broad a term.

I’d add that there is a difference between working and playing sport.
I’d probably want people who’d served their time to be able to work again, or who would bear the cost of looking after them? Yet that doesn’t mean they automatically have the right to work in their chosen sport again. Shelf stacking at Tescos isn’t the same as going back into professional football for example. 

2 hours ago, Jambomo said:

I agree with those saying that Violent crime is too broad a term.

I’d add that there is a difference between working and playing sport.
I’d probably want people who’d served their time to be able to work again, or who would bear the cost of looking after them? Yet that doesn’t mean they automatically have the right to work in their chosen sport again. Shelf stacking at Tescos isn’t the same as going back into professional football for example. 

How judgemental, as if working at tescos is below playing football...

On 12/08/2022 at 19:34, magoo said:

How judgemental, as if working at tescos is below playing football...

It's more than shelf stacking at TESCO is a more anonymous position. There probably are folk working in my local TESCO or something with questionable histories but I don't know them. Whereas I know that Allan Lithgow has hunted down women to perform sex acts in front of them without their consent. A better comparison would be my local pub. Would I still go in there if the barman, who I interact with and know his face, had committed a similar act of noncery? No. I'd go drink somewhere where the barman isn't a nonce.

The barman, if having been found guilty and serving whatever his allocated was, deserves to work, as does Lithgow. But I'm not gonnae contribute to either one of their wages.

I don't have that same option in a larger, faceless organisation.

Why specifically violence there are lots of crimes committed which also leave a lasting impact on their victims.

The drug dealer selling to someone who then overdoses is just one example.

Surely every case needs dealt with on its own merits and ultimately clubs live with their decisions.

30 minutes ago, Auld Heid said:

Why specifically violence there are lots of crimes committed which also leave a lasting impact on their victims.

The drug dealer selling to someone who then overdoses is just one example.

It's a bad example. Someone who buys drugs from someone is not a "victim". If I rent a hotel room and then jump out the window, I'm not a victim of the hotel management.

Once again, what are acceptable and unacceptable crimes?

I regularly speed when driving, park where I shouldn't and have used the work phone for non work reasons. I don't think I am a criminal for doing these things, however, someone else with higher standard than me might disagree.

We set the bar for what we think is acceptable, but that bar is likely to be set  higher or lower by other people.