Junior Cup Draw

Do we know who the new teams that have entered / re-entered Junior Cup for this season?

Kenny mentioned on the Junior forum that now

"115 teams - an increase of 7 teams."

Also all teams in Senior Scottish Cup get a bye in the 1st Round into 2nd Round.

5 minutes ago, MickGarvey said:

We appear to be missing the point that this "showpiece" tournament also increases the workload of the fixtures secretary.

I am all for an ALL IN "showpiece" non league tournament in Scotland. But surely it is fair to suggest that teams who wish to participate in this optional competition should be automatically assigned a midweek fixture to fall immediately after this competition match day?

About 90-95% of teams in the West compete in the Junior Cup anyway.

The league season will start a bit earlier and have midweek games earlier in the season so majority of teams can easily fit in 30 league games plus cup competitions - Scottish Cup for licensed clubs & Beith, Scottish Junior Cup / Strathclyde Cup, South Challenge Cup, West of Scotland Cup..

Guest MickGarvey
2 minutes ago, Shannon said:

About 90-95% of teams in the West compete in the Junior Cup anyway.

The league season will start a bit earlier and have midweek games earlier in the season so majority of teams can easily fit in 30 league games plus cup competitions - Scottish Cup for licensed clubs & Beith, Scottish Junior Cup / Strathclyde Cup, South Challenge Cup, West of Scotland Cup..

Last season descended into a shambles with the league bolting on one matchday onto the end of the Premier League and three matchdays onto the end of the First, Second and Third which in my opinion wasnt necessary. 

I do not have a gripe against the Scottish Junior Cup. It is an optional competition. If team wish to participate, they should be prepared to play midweek to fulfil the league fixture opportunity missed.

29 minutes ago, Shannon said:

Do we know who the new teams that have entered / re-entered Junior Cup for this season?

Kenny mentioned on the Junior forum that now

"115 teams - an increase of 7 teams."

Also all teams in Senior Scottish Cup get a bye in the 1st Round into 2nd Round.

Think two of the new teams will be in the North Region. Whitehills and Hall Russell are returning from being in abeyance.

1 hour ago, MickGarvey said:

We appear to be missing the point that this "showpiece" tournament also increases the workload of the fixtures secretary.

I am all for an ALL IN "showpiece" non league tournament in Scotland. But surely it is fair to suggest that teams who wish to participate in this optional competition should be automatically assigned a midweek fixture to fall immediately after this competition match day?

The fixtures secretary has never complained about his workload generally, nor about having to fit in the SJC. In fairness, it should not take priority over the league schedule but apart from that, if the majority (not sure if it is) of the WoSFL memeber clubs are taking part in it then it should be treated like any other cup.

Also, signing in under another id does your credibility no good at all pal.

2 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

Yes and given the fact that the number of competing teams has increased, it's just getting better & better.

@Bestsinceslicebread will be bealin'!

Nope, not really but I do love it that I'm the first person you thought of, must be in your head lolol
I couldn't give two fecks, I only reply when not too intelligent people come out with utter shit about how amazing juniors and junior cup are not was.
The Juniors were amazing back in the day, but that's the past and yeah Clubs should never forget that past, its in its history and I congratulate everyone as they will all never forget
I will say, the worrying thing on here is how dumb people think, even keyboard wizards are dumb at times.
If you think the junior cup is getting better and better, then people like you are the reason why junior football ended up in the state it was.   
The junior cup final, I'm genuinely, and speaking from the heart here, still to find anyone who enjoyed the Junior cup final last season, it was horrendous.  I even know neutrals who went and told me it was rubbish.  I loved the junior cup when I was younger, loved playing in it, loved and dream of the idea playing in the final etc.. But I get the impression that you think I'm totally against it, nope, far from it but if it makes you happy then believe it. The junior cup is NOT a national tournament because tons of teams throughout the country do not want to play in it or have no intention of playing in it, again FACT.

Have you ever worked out why teams left the junior cup and don't want back throughout the country?
The thing is, a cup that you think is beneath the junior cup, has more teams in it, better quality of teams and officially, teams don't lose money out of it and its not run correctly as in advertising and promotion and its only a regional cup, now that is embarrassing for you Jim.
It doesn't matter how much you try to spin it, you don't come out of this well, even the ones who red dot this post know I'm correct

The standard of football is rising in Scotland at our level, more technical, better coaching, that's my view.  Believe it or not, the pyramid makes it more exciting for teams, committees, players, fans and youth players coming through etc... to dream of playing at a higher level, trying to progress without limits. but Junior football when it was functioning a few years back was archaic and going no where with old men running it who didn't look to progress or look to the future, only wanted to stay in power and old guys who ran the clubs listened to them and it meant junior football couldn't progress and crowds were dwindling.   I'm not saying this because I'm bealing lolol,  just an actual FACT.

The negatives that you and a few others ignore is amazing.  The Junior cup costs many teams money, so they come out of it at a loss, correct me if I'm wrong but don't think anyone receives money from making it to specific rounds until they get to the quarter/finals?.  If a Glasgow team are drawn away to an Aberdeen team or visa versa, the coach usually costs somewhere in the region of £800 and the junior FA gives the travelling team somewhere in the region of £240 travelling money, a loss of £560 more or less.

Last season an example of WOSFL teams first round ties, (I'm sure fans or committees of the away teams can confirm or correct etc...
Banks o Dee v Newmains
Buchannan Hearts V Ashfield
Carluke V Ellon United
Colony Park v Bellshill
Dufftown v Maryhill
East End V Lanark
Glasgow Perthshire v Cruden Bay
Irvine Vics V Fraserburgh
Islay V Dalry
Lesmahagow V Hermes
Petershill v Nairn
Vale of Leven v Banchory

Unless some of these away teams got amazing or free travel, they would have paid out at the very least £700 for a coach and usually in the £800s and each away team was shafted only receiving somewhere in the region of £220 - £260 from the Junior FA, losing £500 to £600 per round.  Some teams even drawn next round, away twice, even 3 times so where shafted again lolol.

Me personally, I would love a national non league cup for teams at tier 5 and below but right now there aint any apatite for whatever reason but many teams also deem their leagues more important and the real Scottish Cup the same.   If the junior cup needs to get better and better as you say it, then they need to address their problems, work out why thousands and thousands of people don't want to deal with them anymore, once they get over those issues and improve, then possibilities are there but I'm sure P&B and happy for people like yourself to continue in your one sided views 

3 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Nope, not really but I do love it that I'm the first person you thought of, must be in your head lolol
I couldn't give two fecks, I only reply when not too intelligent people come out with utter shit about how amazing juniors and junior cup are not was.
The Juniors were amazing back in the day, but that's the past and yeah Clubs should never forget that past, its in its history and I congratulate everyone as they will all never forget
I will say, the worrying thing on here is how dumb people think, even keyboard wizards are dumb at times.
If you think the junior cup is getting better and better, then people like you are the reason why junior football ended up in the state it was.   
The junior cup final, I'm genuinely, and speaking from the heart here, still to find anyone who enjoyed the Junior cup final last season, it was horrendous.  I even know neutrals who went and told me it was rubbish.  I loved the junior cup when I was younger, loved playing in it, loved and dream of the idea playing in the final etc.. But I get the impression that you think I'm totally against it, nope, far from it but if it makes you happy then believe it. The junior cup is NOT a national tournament because tons of teams throughout the country do not want to play in it or have no intention of playing in it, again FACT.

Have you ever worked out why teams left the junior cup and don't want back throughout the country?
The thing is, a cup that you think is beneath the junior cup, has more teams in it, better quality of teams and officially, teams don't lose money out of it and its not run correctly as in advertising and promotion and its only a regional cup, now that is embarrassing for you Jim.
It doesn't matter how much you try to spin it, you don't come out of this well, even the ones who red dot this post know I'm correct

The standard of football is rising in Scotland at our level, more technical, better coaching, that's my view.  Believe it or not, the pyramid makes it more exciting for teams, committees, players, fans and youth players coming through etc... to dream of playing at a higher level, trying to progress without limits. but Junior football when it was functioning a few years back was archaic and going no where with old men running it who didn't look to progress or look to the future, only wanted to stay in power and old guys who ran the clubs listened to them and it meant junior football couldn't progress and crowds were dwindling.   I'm not saying this because I'm bealing lolol,  just an actual FACT.

The negatives that you and a few others ignore is amazing.  The Junior cup costs many teams money, so they come out of it at a loss, correct me if I'm wrong but don't think anyone receives money from making it to specific rounds until they get to the quarter/finals?.  If a Glasgow team are drawn away to an Aberdeen team or visa versa, the coach usually costs somewhere in the region of £800 and the junior FA gives the travelling team somewhere in the region of £240 travelling money, a loss of £560 more or less.

Last season an example of WOSFL teams first round ties, (I'm sure fans or committees of the away teams can confirm or correct etc...
Banks o Dee v Newmains
Buchannan Hearts V Ashfield
Carluke V Ellon United
Colony Park v Bellshill
Dufftown v Maryhill
East End V Lanark
Glasgow Perthshire v Cruden Bay
Irvine Vics V Fraserburgh
Islay V Dalry
Lesmahagow V Hermes
Petershill v Nairn
Vale of Leven v Banchory

Unless some of these away teams got amazing or free travel, they would have paid out at the very least £700 for a coach and usually in the £800s and each away team was shafted only receiving somewhere in the region of £220 - £260 from the Junior FA, losing £500 to £600 per round.  Some teams even drawn next round, away twice, even 3 times so where shafted again lolol.

Me personally, I would love a national non league cup for teams at tier 5 and below but right now there aint any apatite for whatever reason but many teams also deem their leagues more important and the real Scottish Cup the same.   If the junior cup needs to get better and better as you say it, then they need to address their problems, work out why thousands and thousands of people don't want to deal with them anymore, once they get over those issues and improve, then possibilities are there but I'm sure P&B and happy for people like yourself to continue in your one sided views 

Right.

Answered quickly with above just to annoy you but need to answer.

Firstly, writing the word "fact" in capitals never made anything true and typing lol in any form is unseemly in a grown man, let alone lolol.

Next, the reason I mentioned you is because you loved writing about how the number of participants were going down. Now it's going up with clubs coming back, like last season. If it's such a horribly expensive tournament why is this the case. The fact that it's optional yet clubs elect to play in it blows your cost theory away. It's their money and that's how they choose to spend it so you've smashed a couple of paragraphs out for no reason there.

Finally, on another thread there are some posters who will disagree that this pyramid is the land of milk and honey,. the Juniors were not perfect and there are pluses about the WoSFL but stop kidding on that it's great. 

Then, the SCC does have technically better clubs involved but no-one wants to see it. The final had embarrassingly low numbers

Edited by jimbaxters
To annoy Bestsinceslicebread

Guest MickGarvey
12 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

The fixtures secretary has never complained about his workload generally, nor about having to fit in the SJC. In fairness, it should not take priority over the league schedule but apart from that, if the majority (not sure if it is) of the WoSFL memeber clubs are taking part in it then it should be treated like any other cup.

Also, signing in under another id does your credibility no good at all pal.

What about the other clubs in the league, not participating, but have the potential to be impacted?

If teams wish to compete in the SJC, that is their prerogative. My humble opinion is that they should be prepared to make up the fixture date in the midweek.

Edited by MickGarvey
Grammar mistake.

Just now, MickGarvey said:

What about the other clubs in the league, not participating, but have the potential to be impacted?

If teams wish to compete in the SJC, that is their prerogative. In my humble opinion is that they should be prepared to make up the fixture date in the midweek.

Yes 100% correct, The Junior cup it not part of the SFA curriculum and if it was effecting the scheduling I'm sure the SFA would get involved. The league secretary is dealing with the fixtures and he is all for the junior cup so is happy to try and make it work without hassle but if fixtures are made awkward for any team, especially not participating in the junior cup them due to the Junior cup then the club should be in the right to say no, get it sorted, as the junior cup aint part of the SFA

4 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Factually, Of course I am and you never reply with something coherent or civilized when you reply to me.  I never get a good debate from you with facts.  All I or many get is usually Blah, Blah Blah or, what's that animation/cartoon that used to be Rhubarb, Rhubarb. Rhubarb?

An animated cartoon eh? Is there any other kind?

49 minutes ago, LongTimeLurker said:

Think two of the new teams will be in the North Region. Whitehills and Hall Russell are returning from being in abeyance.

We actually had 9 new entrants but lost 2 entrants from last season.

Hall Russell and Whitehills as you said.

St Cadoc’s and Finnart as new members from the West.

Kello Rovers returning after a ban. Rossvale and Pollok competing as non-members as allowed in the new rules.

Pumpherston returning to the competition and Camelon returning to membership from the East.

A total of 9 new clubs.

Syngenta folded and Harthill Royal did not take up Junior membership.

A loss of 2, making it a gain of 7.

Of the increase in Byes into the Second Round we gained 6 and lost one.

Beith as winners of the West Premier, Culter as Winners of the North Premier,

Carluke, Glenafton, (New Members of SFA) & Pollok, Camelon. (SFA Full members that did not participate last season).

We lost Syngenta.

Footnote -  In the West of Scotland it now has the same priority as the South Region Challenge Cup, the Strathclyde Cup and the West of Scotland League Cup. As voted for at the WoSFL AGM.

Just now, Kennie said:

We actually had 9 new entrants but lost 2 entrants from last season.

Hall Russell and Whitehills as you said.

St Cadoc’s and Finnart as new members from the West.

Kello Rovers returning after a ban. Rossvale and Pollok competing as non-members as allowed in the new rules.

Pumpherston returning to the competition and Camelon returning to membership from the East.

A total of 9 new clubs.

Syngenta folded and Harthill Royal did not take up Junior membership.

A loss of 2, making it a gain of 7.

Of the increase in Byes into the Second Round we gained 6 and lost one.

Beith as winners of the West Premier, Culter as Winners of the North Premier,

Carluke, Glenafton, (New Members of SFA) & Pollok, Camelon. (SFA Full members that did not participate last season).

We lost Syngenta.

Footnote -  In the West of Scotland it now has the same priority as the South Region Challenge Cup, the Strathclyde Cup and the West of Scotland League Cup. As voted for at the WoSFL AGM.

The last part = Yasssss

13 minutes ago, jimbaxters said:

Right.

Answered quickly with above just to annoy you but need to answer.
You don't annoy me, Ill easily reply to you, usually as you are incorrect or even misleading replies to posts

Firstly, writing the word "fact" in capitals never made anything true and typing lol in any form is unseemly in a grown man, let alone lolol.
I write Fact because it is Fact

Next, the reason I mentioned you is because you loved writing about how the number of participants were going down. Now it's going up with clubs coming back, like last season. If it's such a horribly expensive tournament why is this the case. The fact that it's optional yet clubs elect to play in it blows your cost theory away. It's their money and that's how they choose to spend it so you've smashed a couple of paragraphs out for no reason there.
Again not a theory, its fact and I don't run the club, if they want to participate in the cup and lose money that s for them to decide, not you or I

Finally, on another thread there are some posters who will disagree that this pyramid is the land of milk and honey,. the Juniors were not perfect and there are pluses about the WoSFL but stop kidding on that it's great. 
When have I ever said it was great, again, you are misleading, the pyramid is way far better and right now, Any team in Scotland can progress>
The pyramid has problems, that is for sure and we all knwo the problems tat needs addressed and hopefully it will, someday, when, Im unsure

Then, the SCC does have technically better clubs involved but no-one wants to see it. The final had embarrassingly low numbers
Again, stated, its just badly promoted and advertised, that's all, your bold comment is wrong

3 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Point 1- Aye a dae

Point 2- Naw it isnae

Point 3- Ask St. Pats if any team in Scotland can progress

Point 4- Hyperbole is good sometimes but admittedly you're right on that one

Edited by jimbaxters