Darts...

Sideshow

Caven was superb on the floor for a couple of years before this year but he is now as poor on the floor as he is showing on stage. Anderson was pretty poor but won at a canter. 1/2 Gando more 180's than Caven was ridiculous value (3-0)

The crowd have been superb but they are a bit of a nightmare on doubles with the "ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh" build up before the player throws for the double but I think that's just their culture and isn't done out of badness at all.

I really like the feel to this tournament though the venue is superb and I love the porn star stair case they walk down. The walk on girls are getting right into the players as well which is a bit weird. Power will be in about them I have little doubt.

Have to agree the atmosphere was electric last night,Shame a german didnt qualify.Klaasen v chisnall and lewis v Vdv look like the standouts tonight.

cant believe the reaction to nicholsons comments about taylor.Its not as if he called him a fraud and he dosen't deserve his 15 world titles.He said if taylor plays below par next time they meet he will beat him,Which is true,Hes done it before.

ITV's reaction to Nicholson's comments is a breath of fresh air compared to Sky's "HE'S THE DEVIL!!!" outbursts.

Have to laugh at the comments about the standard of Justin Pipe when infact he was playing very well, and managed to hang with Nicholson who was playing brilliantly. But aye. Lakeside.

ITV's reaction to Nicholson's comments is a breath of fresh air compared to Sky's "HE'S THE DEVIL!!!" outbursts.

Thanks to Chris mason,Amazing how sky won't give him a gig.Probably because he had the cheek to speak out against taylor a few years back.

Have to laugh at the comments about the standard of Justin Pipe when infact he was playing very well, and managed to hang with Nicholson who was playing brilliantly. But aye. Lakeside.

He looked like the sort of guy you'd see at the Lakeside and had the throwing style of a player from there.

Everything about this Pipe character screams "Lakeside". The way he throws, his standard and the way he looks. Hopefully my boy Nicholson can put him away.

So it isn't just the way he looks then. Apparently the BDO has had a major improvement if Justin Pipe is at that standard.

cant believe the reaction to nicholsons comments about taylor.Its not as if he called him a fraud and he dosen't deserve his 15 world titles.He said if taylor plays below par next time they meet he will beat him,Which is true

This seems to assume Nicholson would beat a below par Taylor no matter how well or badly Nicholson himself is actually playing. Which is of course complete pish. Nae offence an aw rat.

Did anyone else see Taylors post match interview last night? Where that big lanky guy just totally misquoted what Nicholson actually said to him earlier, and instead of nicholsons actual comments which went along the lines of..... I do respect Phil Taylor and his achievements, and I hope I can play him in the quarters but id be a fool if I looked beyond my next round opponent as both Mark and Terry are quality players. Instead your man just says to Taylor..... was speaking to paul Nicholson earlier and he says hes gonna put you to bed....

WTF, he actually couldnt have changed what Nicholson said anymore if he tried.

To be fair, it probably would have been better if Nicholson HAD said that. Disappointed in him. :(

Im sure he's saving it for if he gets by Jenkins, and he can really stoke the fire for his much anticipated game with Taylor in the quarters.

ITV were doing so well until the lottery guy started shit stirring. Alan Warriner-Little was doing my head in last night as well - no change there, though.

Still, with Stuart Pyke and Chris Mason they've got two excellent comms. Sky won't touch Mason due to his criminal record, allegedly.

Anyway, here's the order of play for tonight...

Friday July 29

First Round

7.05pm Wayne Jones v Mark Walsh

7.35pm Jelle Klaasen v Dave Chisnall

8.05pm Ronnie Baxter v Michael van Gerwen

8.35pm Kim Huybrechts v Antonio Alcinas

9.05pm James Wade v Magnus Caris

9.35pm Adrian Lewis v Vincent van der Voort

10.05pm Wes Newton v Andy Smith

10.35pm Raymond van Barneveld v Andy Hamilton

ITV were doing so well until the lottery guy started shit stirring. Alan Warriner-Little was doing my head in last night as well - no change there, though.

Warriner-Little is hilarious. I quite like him because he just states the obvious constantly, or he just agrees with whatever the other guy alongside him says. Makes for some great entertainment.

Barney/Hamilton should be a decent wee game. I can't wait untill this shitty short format goes out the window. I know it doesn't get MUCH longer, but long enough.