Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

I think that English Irish guy on sportsound hit the nail on the head (although he's normally a fud) - if any club goes bust as a result of Rangers being in the third division then it is a poorly run club. This is exactly the sort of situation that clubs have been reducing their debts to avoid - if, for example Kilmarnock, go bust it will have as much to do with their stupid hotel as it will Rangers - I think we saw this from their abstention in the spl vote

Correct. I really think we are going to see more Administrations (and new Newcos!) after yesterday's vote. Tick tock tick tock....

Stuart McCall

We are not living outwith our means

We just have contracts committed into the future and no guarantee the money will come in to pay them

WTF

Time to look at the reality of clubs forward financing.

Killie signed Pasca for 3 years, before the end of last season, way before anyone knew RFC would go into liquidation.

All clubs have to budget on forward estimates based on previous figures.

That's how it works in business. All 42 have to adjust, I predict no club will go bust. We'll all be equally shite, so the competition should stay good.

Everybody likes to say Scottish fitba is shite, but really it ain't. God, some of the dross Sky pay for from Engurland is way more shite!

Disclaimer, the sun is out, my brain is fried and Strongbow bottle number 3 is about to be opoened, WTF, it's the weekend :D

I'm told that the Daily Rancid has "named" Thistle as being among the quislings. The BoD must issue a clear statement now: if fans believe the rag it could have a drastic effect on the club.

Unless, of course, it is true.

Edited by Sam Leitch Loyal

Edited increased list and *bumped*:

QOS confirmed YES

Accies confirmed YES attributed to Chairman Gray interview.

No statement from Forfar to confirm their vote, instead a general statement about the NO result.

No statement from Partick to confirm their vote, instead a general statement about the NO result.

No statement from Morton to confirm their vote, instead a general statement about the NO result.

No statement from Falkirk to confirm their vote.

No statement from Montrose to confirm their vote.

No statement from Dundee to confirm their vote.

Come on - we released our statement intending to vote No somewhere between Raith's and Stranraer's.

Don't even think about suggesting we voted otherwise.

Gillian even sat in the seat beside Turnbull.:rolleyes:

I'm told that the Daily Rancid has "named" Thistle as being among the quislings. The BoD must issue a clear statement now: if fans believe the rag it could have a drastic effect on the club.

BairnsTrust have just issued a statement saying they have requested clarification from the FFC Board on how they voted. Must add that BairnsTrust have always advocated a NO vote. Watch this space.

Partick Vichy thistle dearie dear :-(

Come on - we released our statement intending to vote No somewhere between Raith's and Stranraer's.

Don't even think about suggesting we voted otherwise.

Gillian even sat in the seat beside Turnbull.:rolleyes:

Yeah but can't see anything confirming this anywhere, nonemoreso your Club website. Clarity required plz. :D

Dated 27th June 2012

Under the current SFL rules, any Club making an application for membership should be admitted to the 3rd Division. I personally see no reason to make any exception to that at this time and would therefore vote accordingly.

Dated 27th June 2012

Under the current SFL rules, any Club making an application for membership should be admitted to the 3rd Division. I personally see no reason to make any exception to that at this time and would therefore vote accordingly.

We could be really pedantic about this but that statement was before the vote. There's a world of difference between intent and action.

You're also taking the word of those who said they were going to vote "yes" before the vote but now claiming the opposite.

I for one don't believe Albion Rovers (who admitted it was because they stood to lose the Airdrie derby), Brechin or Stenhousemuir. They nailed their colours to the mast before the vote - at least Queen Of The South didn't try and backtrack afterwards (but then they would have most to lose by doing so).

SPL 2 won't happen laugh.gif

Sevco are in the Third and will be for a while, really really hope they get close to promotion before losing out, then spend the next 5 years or more trophy-less and still in the Third. Now THAT would be true justice in my eyes biggrin.gif

Tut tut Mr.Gilmour

Gilmour condemns "horrific" newco vote

SIMMERING Stewart Gilmour last night let rip at the lower league clubs who tossed Rangers to the depths of the Scottish game ... sparking fears of mass redundancies at St Mirren.

The Saints chairman was left stunned yesterday afternoon when news broke from a Hampden summit that the 30 SFL clubs had decided to block the admission of the Ibrox club's newco to the First Division.

By an overwhelming margin of 25-5, they voted to banish the liquidated Glasgow outfit to the Third Division – and, in the process, cast Scottish football into a whole new crisis.

Chairmen of top-flight clubs are now bracing themselves for a doomsday scenario that could see big-money

commercial partners, such as Sky television, pull out of their SPL deals.

And Gilmour – who was enjoying a sunshine break in Spain when yesterday's vote result was announced – admits dark clouds are already looming as he fears having to axe many of the club's loyal staff.

In an exclusive interview with Express Sports, Gilmour said: "This is horrific news for St Mirren Football Club. The consequences are terrible – catastrophic even.

"What happens next? Well, there is an SPL meeting on Monday and we will need to see what is said then and take it from there.

"The St Mirren board will meet in the days after that SPL meeting and decide what is the best way forward but we are already looking at major redundancies."

Yesterday's vote came just days after SFA chief executive Stewart Regan drew up a masterplan aimed at enticing the SFL clubs into backing the First Division option.

Despite promises of a 16-team top division within two years and enhanced cash handouts for all of Scotland's 42 senior clubs, the 'sporting integrity' argument won the day as Rangers were exiled.

But Gilmour insists an opportunity has been missed – and a blunder has been made that could send a number of clubs into the same financial abyss currently occupied by the Govan outfit.

He said: "To be fair to Stewart Regan, the document he released last week was a good document.

"It set out changes to Scottish football that would bring in a fairer structure, fairer distribution system, fairer everything.

"Unfortunately, the people in the SFL have not bought into that. I just hope they realise the damage they have done to Scottish football.

"Five clubs in the SPL could be in administration within weeks – and we will have to do everything we can to avoid being one of them."

Rangers last night issued their own statement which claimed that, following talks with SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster and Regan, they believe plans for SPL 2 – which would include Rangers – could now be put in motion, with existing Division One members invited to join.

However, Gilmour can't see such a set-up getting off the ground.

He added: "The SFA and the other bodies are already talking about the options and that could be decided on Monday.

"As for an SPL 2, I'm not sure that is any better than letting Rangers back into the top flight."

Edited by Shuggie_Murray7

You're also taking the word of those who said they were going to vote "yes" before the vote but now claiming the opposite.

I for one don't believe Albion Rovers (who admitted it was because they stood to lose the Airdrie derby), Brechin or Stenhousemuir. They nailed their colours to the mast before the vote - at least Queen Of The South didn't try and backtrack afterwards (but then they would have most to lose by doing so).

Thing is though Brechin and Stenny have come out officially and confirmed NO votes. Shirley they can't be bare faced lying through their shiny pearly whites? Like they're fraudulently hijacking another member's vote to look good! :o

SPL 2 won't happen laugh.gif

Sevco are in the Third and will be for a while, really really hope they get close to promotion before losing out, then spend the next 5 years or more trophy-less and still in the Third. Now THAT would be true justice in my eyes biggrin.gif

OK, but THEY. WILL. NEVER. LAST. THAT. LONG.

NEVER,NEVER,NEVER,NEVER,NEVER.

Never.

Tut tut Mr.Gilmour

SIMMERING Stewart Gilmour last night let rip at the lower league clubs who tossed Rangers to the depths of the Scottish game ... sparking fears of mass redundancies at St Mirren.

The Saints chairman was left stunned yesterday afternoon when news broke from a Hampden summit that the 30 SFL clubs had decided to block the admission of the Ibrox club's newco to the First Division.

By an overwhelming margin of 25-5, they voted to banish the liquidated Glasgow outfit to the Third Division – and, in the process, cast Scottish football into a whole new crisis.

Chairmen of top-flight clubs are now bracing themselves for a doomsday scenario that could see big-money

And Gilmour – who was enjoying a sunshine break in Spain when yesterday's vote result was announced – admits dark clouds are already looming as he fears having to axe many of the club's loyal staff.

In an exclusive interview with Express Sports, Gilmour said: "This is horrific news for St Mirren Football Club. The consequences are terrible – catastrophic even.

"What happens next? Well, there is an SPL meeting on Monday and we will need to see what is said then and take it from there.

"The St Mirren board will meet in the days after that SPL meeting and decide what is the best way forward but we are already looking at major redundancies."

Yesterday's vote came just days after SFA chief executive Stewart Regan drew up a masterplan aimed at enticing the SFL clubs into backing the First Division option.

Despite promises of a 16-team top division within two years and enhanced cash handouts for all of Scotland's 42 senior clubs, the 'sporting integrity' argument won the day as Rangers were exiled.

But Gilmour insists an opportunity has been missed – and a blunder has been made that could send a number of clubs into the same financial abyss currently occupied by the Govan outfit.

He said: "To be fair to Stewart Regan, the document he released last week was a good document.

"It set out changes to Scottish football that would bring in a fairer structure, fairer distribution system, fairer everything.

"Unfortunately, the people in the SFL have not bought into that. I just hope they realise the damage they have done to Scottish football.

"Five clubs in the SPL could be in administration within weeks – and we will have to do everything we can to avoid being one of them."

Rangers last night issued their own statement which claimed that, following talks with SPL chief executive Neil Doncaster and Regan, they believe plans for SPL 2 – which would include Rangers – could now be put in motion, with existing Division One members invited to join.

He added: "The SFA and the other bodies are already talking about the options and that could be decided on Monday.

"As for an SPL 2, I'm not sure that is any better than letting Rangers back into the top flight."

He sounds brainwashed huh.gif feel genuinely sorry for St Mirren fans as that statements a bit shitty, although Steve Lomas has said similar things dry.gif

Tut tut Mr.Gilmour

Good grief he has spat the dummy hasn't he! Like ICT before him.