Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

How can a club that's been liquidated stay in the top league though?

*through gritted teeth* Once more, it's the company that got liquidated. Heavens sake man, how many times do we have to be told!

I'm struggling to keep up with the Rangers logic here. 

First, when Rangers faced being treated exactly like any other club that was liquidated, it was Sink Us And We'll Sink You, We Must Stay In The Top Tier.

Then, it was definitely We Want To Be Kicked Out And Enter In The Third Division, It's Only Right And Just.

After that, it was We're Glad We're In The Third Division And It's Shameful That The Authorities Tried To Crowbar Us Into The First, For Financial Reasons.

And now, it's back to We Should Never Have Been Treated Like Any Other Club, We Should Instead Have Been Kept In The Top Tier, Shame On You.

Basically, it looks like we should've made Rangers reapply in accordance with the rules, while simultaneously breaking the rules to allow Rangers to keep a team in the top tier, and both of these options were unacceptable and vindictive.  It makes no sense at all.

Well, whatever.  As I said then and will repeat, I think the biggest crime in their eyes isn't how Rangers were treated, so much as that they're all really, really upset that we laughed at them while it happened.

And we will never stop laughing .  :lol:

YNRA  :lol:

Bloody Hell. You actually mean this.

Would there have been more TV money?

Would there have been more through sponsorships?

" ". "" through ticket sales?

I m genuinely interested to find out.

"There's no doubt it was the wrong move in my eyes. Scottish football has been worse off and a lot of the teams who were happy to see Rangers go down have suffered and found themselves relegated or in the process of being relegated."

Heh heh....

Are you actually endorsing the most moronic comments imaginable?

Explain please how they begin to stack up logically.

I think you better re-check the records because surely that didn't happen. Before 2012 everything was amazing, clubs were swimming in a blue poon lagoon.

Having no chance of finishing 2nd and an even smaller chance of winning a cup didn't matter, because we got 4 bigot fests on the box and the TV deal meant clubs could afford at least 1 or 2 extra squad members with which to battle it out for 3rd spot.

Fans seeing their diddy rabble losing 0-4 at home to the mighty Gers exited the stadium smiling because of all the money the visiting fans brought which is, after all, all that matters to the average football fan in this country.

But these horrid diddies didn't let Rangers into the top league and what happened next? Hearts got relegated, Islamic State seized large parts of Syria, and, worst of all, Paul Daniels died. It's been nothing but a curse and Walter Smith is right, it's all the diddies fault. Shame on you all.

Excellent post.

Walter Smith is quite simply, a pretty thick bloke.

Would there have been more TV money?

Would there have been more through sponsorships?

" ". "" through ticket sales?

I m genuinely interested to find out.

Would Dundee United have proportionately scooped more of it, compared to those teams they battle with to avoid relegation?

If we really want to be this silly, we'll need to concede that Dundee United will have made more money by finishing higher than would have been likely if Rangers were in the tip flight.

Would Dundee United have proportionately scooped more of it, compared to those teams they battle with to avoid relegation?

If we really want to be this silly, we'll need to concede that Dundee United will have made more money by finishing higher than would have been likely if Rangers were in the tip flight.

Would the extra money have meant that they may not have had to sell all or some of their star players?

Would results have been better with those/some of those players?

Would the extra money have meant that they may not have had to sell all or some of their star players?

Would results have been better with those/some of those players?

And would rival clubs not have benefited also from more money?

Are you seriously suggesting that Dundee United have been uniquely affected?

Surely Dundee United wouldn't have been any better off with Rangers in the top flight, any extra money from TV and sponsorship would have been offset by the loss of income by Rangers fans boycotting Tannadice.

And would rival clubs not have benefited also from more money?

Are you seriously suggesting that Dundee United have been uniquely affected?

I'm suggesting nothing, just asking questions.

The question isn't comparing their finances to rival clubs but if increased finances would kept a highly regarded team together?

If It apparently led directly to relegation, then of course it's about the finances of rival clubs.

This is a ridiculous discussion.

If It apparently led directly to relegation, then of course it's about the finances of rival clubs.

This is a ridiculous discussion.

If circumstances had changed then none of us can say what would have happened, not even an awfy clever guy like you.

Dundee Utd were not in financial trouble when they sold Armstrong and GMS to Celtic they had in fact become debt free long before and were better off than when Rangers were in the league. Utd's problem was that they didn't replace them with the right players and ffs they made an absolute killing shifting that very average Ciftci to Celtic for 1.5m last summer.

If there was any doubt about money taken from gates in Utd's case over the loss of Rangers it would have been offset by Dundee coming up and an increasing away support from Aberdeen. Most Dundee derby's have been full or close to full houses.

No they exchanged bank debt for soft loans, they were not debt free.

The logic of the proposition

Rangers made to reapply to the league = Dundee United relegated four years later

...is that because one event followed the other, then the former must have caused or strongly contributed to the latter.

A version of the same thing, and only a little bit sillier:

Comet retail chain enters administration = Rise of ISIS; Death of Ronnie Corbett.

United's turnover has increased since Rangers were liquidated.  The damage was done while Rangers were alive and supposedly pumping the blue pound our way (touches forelock).  What appears to have happened over the past couple of years is that the board have tried to pay off that debt more quickly than was prudent.

Walter Smith believes the Ibrox board "have to find a way" to back manager Mark Warburton to compete in the top flight.

What's the international dialling code for Panama Dodgy Dave? :huh: