Rangers the saviours of Scottish football

• Replies 381

I'm not trolling here or looking for an argument but can you lot tell me how the SPL is better without Rangers? ( Sensible answers btw) Everyone knows the attendances have went down and the viewing figures for the likes of Sportscene, radio Scotland and the SKY games that show some SPL games where Rangers figures double them, but that's not what i'm getting at. People can talk about a more competitive league but at this stage we already know who's winning the league and who's getting relegated, where's the excitement in that? Aye the league was a two horse race when we were in it but the vast majority of people in Scotland either support Rangers or Celtic so there's more fun for the majority of people in Scotland. What's so exciting about fighting for second place?

It beats fighting for 3rd.

That's a poor attitude to have. Celtic haven't even got out of Celtic gear and have been dropping more points than they ever would and they're still top of the league. If we were in the SPL with a team we would usually have and Celtic played like they have been we would have won the league by now. Celtic know they can fanny about and still win it with ease.

I have something against Germans. I was once a founder of the "Rangers Socialist Supporters" (sadly now defunct). I see the current European economic crisis down to German intransigence, an inability to take into account the cultural differences between the North and South. When it comes to football, I like Dortmund and Bayern Munich, Hamburg are unknown to me.

If that is your economic outlook I'd suggest it needs a great deal of further work. The problem is far more deep rooted and complex than that. And to blame Germany is frankly ludicrous simplistic nonsense.

Germany is a wonderful country an economic powerhouse with a superb football league system.

Also reminds me of 2 days I had in Berlin some years back with a girl called Heike who was a fanatical Hertha fan! ;-)

I'm not trolling here or looking for an argument but can you lot tell me how the SPL is better without Rangers? ( Sensible answers btw) Everyone knows the attendances have went down and the viewing figures for the likes of Sportscene, radio Scotland and the SKY games that show some SPL games where Rangers figures double them, but that's not what i'm getting at. People can talk about a more competitive league but at this stage we already know who's winning the league and who's getting relegated, where's the excitement in that? Aye the league was a two horse race when we were in it but the vast majority of people in Scotland either support Rangers or Celtic so there's more fun for the majority of people in Scotland. What's so exciting about fighting for second place

The same thing that used to excite you about playing in Europe, when there there is hope. That is why the only football supporters in Scotland think thatthe SPL is less exciting are diddies from the the seaside leagues who have not got a hope of winning it. Personally I don't think it has made much difference to the excitement, except that the bigotry amongst fans seems to have calmed down a bit.

As we stagger to the end of what has been by any standards,a remarkable season it is perhaps apt to reflect where it all went wrong for Scottish football. In essence, Scottish football is corrupt and the treatment of my club Rangers F.C. has been quite disgraceful. Let me first begin by saying that Rangers made some big mistakes and to some extent are the victims of our own demise. Our biggest single mistake was to innocently believe that we would get fair treatment and went into liquidation with our eyes closed, unaware of the dark forces arraigned against us.

It has been incredible to witness the hordes of adversaries lined up to destroy us. Those wee clubs which we have fed down the years, were quick to bite the hand that fed them as soon as the opportunity arose. The sheer venom was something which I would never have imagined existed. More fool me. Bizarrely, I apportion very little blame to Celtic (see, I am not a bigot!), but rather teams like Dundee United, the maniacs from Aberdeen and other diddy teams.

The level of expectancy (dare I say, orgasmic anticipation) of the Big Tax Case and its subsequent outcome came as devastating blow to those who had us guilty before a legal document had even been perused. The fact that Rangers were completely exonerated of any guilt whatsoever, merely highlights the shameful motives and behaviour of others. In any other organization those in charge with any sense of honour would have done the right thing and walked. Messieurs Regan and Crewcut know of no such concept, they are there simply to line their own pockets. On the other hand, the much chastised Campbell Ogilvie emerges with real credit, keeping his cool and his dignity while others around them lost theirs.

The emergence of the venerable Charles Green has been a shot in the arm to our glorious club. For once, we have somebody in charge who is ready to take on the corrupt elements who govern our game. The example of Tannadice is just a foretaste of what awaits you all. You will regret treating us with scorn and arrogance. It is payback day and we will teach you a lesson you will never forget. He who pays the piper calls the tune.

As attendances continue to plummet in the SPL, Rangers continue to astound an incredulous public with their huge crowds, these are actions not words. Disaster was predicted and disaster will befall those who tried to kill us off. Reorganization of our national game cannot take place without having the country's biggest club (and institution) involved, only a madman would argue with this logic. However, when you come to us bowl in hand, WE not you, will determine the terms and conditions.

Finally, as we make our Odyssey around the wee towns of Scotland, we have undergone a metaphysical experience, existential even Like latter day missionaries we have spread the word to the most distant parts of the land. We have reached out to the residents of Annan, Montrose, Elgin, Berwick, Stirling and they like what they have seen. We are not the crude, savage stereotype as depicted in the tabloid press. We have been warmly received by those without an agenda, the respect has been reciprocated. We are not the triumphalists, we are in fact the true saviours of Scottish football. We have slashed ticket prices, we are using young Scottish talent on the field and yes, we are reaching out to all sectors of Scottish society. There is something rotten in the political field of Scotland where Nationalists try to oppress Rangers, seeing in us something which they detest. That is just too bad, we don't do walking away. Incidentally, I have written a whole article without once referring to religion, you see Rangers has risen above this nonsense.

Fuxake Vlad give it a rest

The same thing that used to excite you about playing in Europe, when there there is hope. That is why the only football supporters in Scotland think thatthe SPL is less exciting are diddies from the the seaside leagues who have not got a hope of winning it. Personally I don't think it has made much difference to the excitement, except that the bigotry amongst fans seems to have calmed down a bit.

Tell that to Dundee when ra sellik came to town and caused bother.

It's better without der rangers as we now don't have to put up with all the bullshit that goes with "the old firm" . It's been like a breath of fresh air.

It's better because we have the Dundee derby back.

It's better because it's easier to focus limited resources on beating one big club rather than two.

Simply, it's more entertaining without sevco

Whether its better or worse is pretty irrelevant. We just get on with it. In all seriousness I'm not interested in the axe grinders still banging on about the Tax Case or any of these idiots spouting off on Twitter. The people who ran Rangers screwed up spectacularly and ran out of money so your club went into Administration.

in short, You made your bed, lie in it.

Can't say I miss your fans rolling up at Easter Road all pissed up and aggressive. The "Rangers experience" is not something most SPL clubs actively enjoy.

My football club won so many trophies by having a positive attitude and winning mentality to be the best. I despair at these clubs who are happy for second best. You'll always be a no mark club with an attitude like that. Only team that could have challenged Celtic would have been a strong Hearts, but they've got their troubles and cant compete.

Your club did not live within its means. You bought success on the never never and indulged in questionable business practice.

As for a strong Hearts... I'll leave that to the many good Jambos on here to explain to you.

Tell that to Dundee when ra sellik came to town and caused bother.

Don't forget that approx half of the bigot fans in the SPL have relocated to the lower leagues, bigotry amongst SPL fans has dropped, even if Dundee did bfing some eejits with them it is a miniscule number n comparison to their predecessors.

Lets not stray too far from.the main point though. No one really thinks there's been a drop in excitemnent barring the Rangers fans and that is only because they have had to transfer their emotions to a team who are not involved in the SPL. It is all down to perception and it's only the Old Firm supporters who have lost excitement. All other clubs have an extra place to fight for, a chance to improve their finish. You wanted to have a sensible answer, that's it.

Your club died in disgrace and that is how they will be remembered.

Don't forget that approx half of the bigot fans in the SPL have relocated to the lower leagues, bigotry amongst SPL fans has dropped, even if Dundee did bfing some eejits with them it is a miniscule number n comparison to their predecessors.

Lets not stray too far from.the main point though. No one really thinks there's been a drop in excitemnent barring the Rangers fans and that is only because they have had to transfer their emotions to a team who are not involved in the SPL. It is all down to perception and it's only the Old Firm supporters who have lost excitement. All other clubs have an extra place to fight for, a chance to improve their finish. You wanted to have a sensible answer, that's it.

Dundee fans didn't do anything though? It was the bhoys in grey and white hoops who caused the worst trouble in 20 years. Change your team to Celtic btw.

What are you on about? I thought you wanted to talk about the.excitement levels in the SPL. Not slag off Sellick?

My football club won so many trophies by having a positive sectarian attitude and winning cheating mentality to be the best. I despair at these clubs who are happy for second best. You'll always be a no mark club with an attitude like that. Only team that could have challenged Celtic would have been a strong Hearts, but they've got their troubles and cant compete.

Nobody is happy with second best, but what do you suggest ? that a club goes out and spends millions to compete with celtic ?

Your mob tried that & look where it got you.