East/West Combined Super League

HTG

Your clubs ambitions would only be matched if you have the relevant criteria. For example say renfrew with their current ground finished top of the lowland league, they would not be entitled to promotion. Therefore keeping the status quo between lowland and spfl. If I have judged things correctly?

This means there is possibly no reason for all junior clubs to join up with lowland and make it a nationalised non league set up, except travel, that they will get a say in how it's formed and run. Win win IMO.

• Replies 658

Your clubs ambitions would only be matched if you have the relevant criteria. For example say renfrew with their current ground finished top of the lowland league, they would not be entitled to promotion. Therefore keeping the status quo between lowland and spfl. If I have judged things correctly?

This means there is possibly no reason for all junior clubs to join up with lowland and make it a nationalised non league set up, except travel, that they will get a say in how it's formed and run. Win win IMO.

Renfrew wouldn't get near a place in the lowland league, never mind win it. Better that we all sit in our own midden and sink slowly than embrace change.

Any move that helps to drive up standards of facilities for players and spectators should be welcomed. I'd apply a good proportion of the lowland league requirements to super league entry tbh.

What requirement's are necessary for super league?

The SJFA website has ground criteria (from 2010) based on sfa membership at that time. Enclosed ground, seats/cover for 500 plus toilets and dressing room same size as SFA. Thought this was bizzare as even now only 1/160 odd meet junior criteria?

• 4 weeks later...

how many junior teams would embrace the pyramid system as a jump to around a tenner to watch teams that aren't as good as juniors and would they still draw the same crowd?

Most Lowland league teams charge £5 to get in. Only been to a couple of Highland league games this year and both charged £8. Do not get your argument?

As far as I remember locheeboy already responded on what happened with this on another thread? Something along the lines of no happening for now because most smaller clubs opposed, but top a lot of superleague liked the idea.

I wouldn't mind seeing an official communication...

Cant really be much happening at our end regarding a pyramid.it was said on the LL thread that we had a meeting in the club to explain how we achieved entry to sfa.At the time we were told there would be a further meeting for members to vote on leaving the juniors.heard nothing yet about any meeting.

• 2 months later...

Hot off the press

To:All East &West Region Clubs

Dear Sir/ Madam

EAST / WEST COMBINED SUPERLEAGUE

The previous restructuring proposal put to the East / West clubs did not find favour with the majority of clubs, particularly those in the West Region - additional travel cost and inconvenience of travel being cited as the main concerns.

Mindful of these views, but charged with how best we can develop the game generally and take it to the "next level" - creating a Best v Best culture - a Steering Group appointed by the Management Committee proposed that clubs be invited to express an interest in joining an East /West Combined Superleague of 12 clubs for season 2016/2017.

Clubs are therefore invited to submit an "expression of interest' to participate and they should intimate this to the Association Secretary no later than 31 July 2014.

Responses will be considered against a set criteria taking into consideration the following:

1. Ground facilities.

2. Pitch standard.

3. Geography I travel cost.

4. Recent performance history.

5. Fan base / travel support.

6. Retention, where possible, of local derbies.

With other points of note being :

Consideration will be given to reducing / removing midweek fixtures at end of season.

Clubs to continue playing in locall inter Regional competitions.

Selection process will be carried out in a manner that keeps any excess travel to a minimum (see item 3 above.)

Should any club require clarification or wish to discuss further, please contact the undersigned.

East West Set Up.pdf

Hot off the press

With two tiers failing to get support it isn't much of a surprise to see an attempt to get a single league going.

Same accusations from before must be repeated tho, self-preservation trying to prevent teams leaving the juniors for LL, north region teams being left out in the cold etc.

Some new questions as well.

An utterly mental application process , should be as simple as forming a league with ground requirements and then it being open to best performing sides that meet those the year previous.

Its incredible that a side could win their super league + junior cup, and play out of a decent ground(for this level anyway) and get told no because they are too far away, or that someone's rival has been included instead despite poor performance and facilities.

Edit- and reduction in games(presuming 2 x playing) for east teams can't be popular. Nor is 22 game seasons particularly credible IMO.

Jesus wept thats a pitiful idea.

Sorry Tayport but you are too far away from Irvine so you cant come in.

Sorry Petershill but Musselburgh bring an average of 5 fans more to an away game than you, so you cant come in.

WTF is the point of looking at away attendances when you are now asking clubs to travel what would be in most cases longer distances?

Whoever came up with that should be removed at the first available opportunity and any club that expresses an interest should be ashamed of themselves.

Fucking hell I didn't even notice the fan base part of the criteria, big teams only please, except that's not even really measurable given virtually nobody releases crowd figures and their isn't any segregation so estimates of away support have even higher error %

It's all just going to be arguments and hearsay isn't it? Cannie let y in only their committee turned up to sectional league cup match 3 years ago.

we should x in cos they bought 500 to our bit. naw it was only 200. 500/200 500/200 ...

Z get 400 EVERY week so they should be let in

Lies when we visited nobody was there.

That's not a credible criteria at all.

It beggars belief to be honest, there's so many flaws as others have pointed out that frankly it's unworkable, it's all about self-preservation.

It's no different from the East restructure proposals that were churned out a couple of years back, they all started with the un-negotiable 12 team Superleague, that was not up for discussion so the rest of it was unworkable pish, not until 4x16 was tabled did we get real meanignful change.

22 league games to decide a League Champion is laughable.

they are like a dug wi a bone on this yin

what clubs are actually pushing for this that the SJFA feel they have to keep bringing a rehashed plan to the table every few months?

If teams want to play in a comp to span half the country then away and join the LL, I jave already said that the reason i go to Lithgy, Boness, Nitten etc is a canni be fvcked goin to Aberdeen, Inverness or should a now say Dumbarton, Dumfries with a senior team. The locality of junior fitba really suits alot of folk who cant afford to give up a full day to follow a team, if something like this happens and Bonnyrigg are in I would be very selective of away days