The wonders of austerity

Confidemus

• Replies 533

Repeating the problem over and over again does not make indy become the answer.

So what's the answer in the event of a No vote?

Because Westminster aren't interested. The ONLY chance we have at change is in an iScotland.

If you had someone living in your house that was an absolute arsehole and you could get rid of them, with EVERY chance of being successful and happy with that person being removed, why wouldn't you take that opportunity?

So what's the answer in the event of a No vote?

Because Westminster aren't interested. The ONLY chance we have at change is in an iScotland.

If you had someone living in your house that was an absolute arsehole and you could get rid of them, with EVERY chance of being successful and happy with that person being removed, why wouldn't you take that opportunity?

No. He thinks we should repeat the same problem over and over again.

No voters - Are you proud of this?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-states-revenge/#more-58439

The state’s revenge

We were in quite a cheerful mood last night. The “indy cyclist” Mark Coburn had just achieved the goal on his latest fundraiser for various Yes groups, which meant that any extra money raised between now and the end of the project next Friday would go to the Maryhill Food Bank run by Julie Webster, which we featured last weekend.

juliewebster.jpg

And then we read a story from yesterday’s Scottish Sun.

We’ve added the emphasis there. But we hope we’re not alone in being concerned at the idea that Job Centre staff are now being told to sanction people for trying to help others, and particularly when that person is running a foodbank and making political comments in public about the system that has made foodbanks necessary.

The Sun doesn’t seem to have asked the DWP for a comment, so we don’t know if they deny that the sanction was applied because Julie Webster “stuck her nose in” in defence of a frail old man. But we’re pretty sure that if she wasn’t inclined to stick her nose in, the people of Maryhill would be even worse off than they already are.

You can contribute to Mark Coburn’s appeal here – every penny donated now goes to the foodbank – or contact the foodbank direct here.

No voters - Are you proud of this?

http://wingsoverscotland.com/the-states-revenge/#more-58439

The state’s revenge

We were in quite a cheerful mood last night. The “indy cyclist” Mark Coburn had just achieved the goal on his latest fundraiser for various Yes groups, which meant that any extra money raised between now and the end of the project next Friday would go to the Maryhill Food Bank run by Julie Webster, which we featured last weekend.

juliewebster.jpg

And then we read a story from yesterday’s Scottish Sun.

We’ve added the emphasis there. But we hope we’re not alone in being concerned at the idea that Job Centre staff are now being told to sanction people for trying to help others, and particularly when that person is running a foodbank and making political comments in public about the system that has made foodbanks necessary.

The Sun doesn’t seem to have asked the DWP for a comment, so we don’t know if they deny that the sanction was applied because Julie Webster “stuck her nose in” in defence of a frail old man. But we’re pretty sure that if she wasn’t inclined to stick her nose in, the people of Maryhill would be even worse off than they already are.

You can contribute to Mark Coburn’s appeal here – every penny donated now goes to the foodbank – or contact the foodbank direct here.

Or maybe repeating the problem over and over again is the answer. Building a rail link to the airport and buying back royal mail will help the food bank problem as well. Free prescriptions for the rich and school budget cuts will help as well.

So you are saying HS1, HS2 and HS3 will help?

Maintaining nukes will help?

Plunging the UK into billions more debt to fund new nukes will help?

Give us some solutions because the present system does not give them. This is why there is an independence debate in the first place. There is a growing number os Scots who are not satisfied with the current political system. You tell me how the present system is better than trying to solve things ourselves, instead of waiting for the handouts from London.

Cutting the Defence budget by £2,000 million pounds every year will certainly help!

Means-testing prescriptions is of course a moronic thing to do, with the cost of implementation outweighing any savings.

You'll be all over the MSM if you keep that NO bashing up.

So you are saying HS1, HS2 and HS3 will help?

Maintaining nukes will help?

Plunging the UK into billions more debt to fund new nukes will help?

Give us some solutions because the present system does not give them. This is why there is an independence debate in the first place. There is a growing number os Scots who are not satisfied with the current political system. You tell me how the present system is better than trying to solve things ourselves, instead of waiting for the handouts from London.

Well solving things ourselves is just a sound bite - its the nature, cost and impact of the solutions that is the key. The point re HS etc is well made and actually reinforces my point that governments will always be drawn to big ticket items and the SG has proven no different and I don't see how that will change post a yes vote. In terms of debt then the Sg is planning to increase public spending albeit with the usual political spin of 'investment' but in the real world it will still be spending money we don't have.

Not sure there is a growing number, time will tell but history shows most Scots over many, many years are happy with the current system.

Cutting the Defence budget by £2,000 million pounds every year will certainly help!

Means-testing prescriptions is of course a moronic thing to do, with the cost of implementation outweighing any savings.

We didn't need to implement it; it was already in existence. Are you actually saying that the SG's move to free prescriptions saved us money ?

If all else fails, whataboutery and deflection is your friend.

In 2012 that sod prince charlie made £18 million from the Duchy of Cornwall and he didn't pay tax.

In July 2013 the taxman said wait a minute, that is a commercial enterprise and you should be paying tax,

That so-and-so had the audacity tae send his lackey tae meet a bunch of MP's tae explain why he shouldnae pay tax.

THAT was the same week that the government started to claw back benefits frae the poor.

Is that whit you people who will vote NO support ?

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2013/feb/15/tax-exemptions-prince-charles-estate-duchy

Whit aboot a referendum oan keeping or no keeping that extremely wealthy family.

In this referendum I'm voting YES.

Gues which way I'll swing oan that referendum ?

Have you ever read this? And we STILL want the establishment with the super rich and their multiple tax breaks invented just to suit them? FFS WAKE UP!!!

http://www.monbiot.com/2014/04/28/the-shooting-party/

It's articles like these that make me angry that people still want to be ruled by Westminster.

Do No voters GENUINELY believe we can do no better on our own?

Cutting corporation tax has been identified as one of the initial priorities of Indy movement so I don't see the redistribution of wealth and the elimination of all breaks to the rich as being their agenda , let alone the almost class war this article suggests - are all gun licenses issued to the super rich .

At a time of food banks the super rich have seen no increase in their property tax, get free prescriptions, free bus rides just cos of their age, and will see the advantage of sending their kids to private schools increase even more as school budgets are cut and kids have had to pay for music tuition.

Cutting corporation tax has been identified as one of the initial priorities of Indy movement so I don't see the redistribution of wealth and the elimination of all breaks to the rich as being their agenda , let alone the almost class war this article suggests - are all gun licenses issued to the super rich .

At a time of food banks the super rich have seen no increase in their property tax, get free prescriptions, free bus rides just cos of their age, and will see the advantage of sending their kids to private schools increase even more as school budgets are cut and kids have had to pay for music tuition.

Whataboutery and deflection - the bread and butter of the No voter.

You just keep putting your fingers in your ears and shouting "la la la", Tubbs, then you won't feel the weight of your No vote.

In 2012 that sod prince charlie made £18 million from the Duchy of Cornwall and he didn't pay tax.

In July 2013 the taxman said wait a minute, that is a commercial enterprise and you should be paying tax,

That so-and-so had the audacity tae send his lackey tae meet a bunch of MP's tae explain why he shouldnae pay tax.

THAT was the same week that the government started to claw back benefits frae the poor.

Is that whit you people who will vote NO support ?

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2013/feb/15/tax-exemptions-prince-charles-estate-duchy

This isn't scaremongering.

This happened last year.

Can anyone convince me that this is a good thing.