JamieStevenson

Just watched the season premiere. Good or bad? I have no idea whatsoever right now. Sitting through it thinking "what the hell am I watching?"

Unlike most of the other TV shows based on comics I have no prior knowledge of this one at all. Where is John Constantine supposed to be from? Newcastle? There was a hint of Geordie at the start but all I'm hearing now is a Welsh accent, I can't get past it.

Think I'll stick with it though, the visuals are fantastic.

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

John Constantine - born in Liverpool, brought up in Northhampton, lived the majority of his life in London and Matt Ryan the actor who plays him is Welsh, so I suppose the accent will be a bit fucked up!!! :geek

I enjoyed it, but how a DC/Vertigo character is going to blend into the Nolan-verse, I'm not sure and believe it or not this, somehow is connected to the same Universe as Batman, Arrow, The Flash etc as it is under the remit of Christopher Nolan (as all Cinematic characterisations of DC characters are) and also Constantine is actually written by David S. Goyer the screenwriter of all three of Nolan's Batman films, so the pedigree is there as are the effects and stylisation of the show, it's all very good so far, I've definitely seen enough to keep me going with it!!!

But I do feel that the only thing that could go against this show is the basic premise that Constantine is a c**t, a humanist with man's best interests at heart, but a cynical c**t all the same, now this makes for an interesting character on the written page and fans will already be liking what they're seeing but I'm thinking that your average TV viewer might not be prepared to invest the time into giving such a show with such an obvious anti-hero a chance, hope I'm wrong though!!!