Next Rangers Manager?

• Replies 784

Random guy..

The Scottish game didn't work, and you deride someone who tried to change this?

The f**k are you on about?

He tried to play a patient passing game, with two weak central defenders, a midfield that only got involved in tackles on matchday and strikers who had no idea how to use their physicality. That was never, ever going to work in any league in Britain. It was completely idiotic and arrogant to think that would ever be a success. You can talk about him as if he was some form of "saviour" if you want, but banning tomato sauce and monster munch isnt going to turn us all into Brazil.

He was out of his comfort zone, had no idea who to sign or where his opponents weaknesses were, and paid the price. His career since just proves the point he was a mediocre manager who got luck to have one of the best Directors of Football French footballs seen signing players for him when he was Lyon.

Bollox.

"If" he had been given 5 years, had the board change every team in the dead club to his philosophy, then the buggers would be a Scottish ajax.

A bit like man.ure just now, the signings don't work/ they are all van gaal can get. Pressure over the top 4 down there and the top 2 up here means no chance of 'time'.

At the moment it is all about "pressing", but football is cyclical , so when somebody figures out how to pass their way through a top notch pressing team , everyone will change to that.

I fear for Ronnie at CP for the same reasons as the board need to change the setup root and branch, and as yet, have not.

PLG was/is a decent manager.

It was the fans that hounded him out.

He was a decent manager but when he asked for backing from his board, the board chose barry ferguson. I bet rangers wished they had stayed with him now as he was going to introduce a new culture similar to ronny deila that will eventually pay off.

I agree with Random Guy. Just look how far we went once Smith came in and chased the duds signed by PLG. 18 Months later we were in. European final

Proves my point......

4 wins out of 14 games to get to a losing final....

Money grabbing club killing Walter 'parked the bus'.

PLG would have changed that given time.

Nowadays, not just the buns will not give 'time'.

He was a decent manager but when he asked for backing from his board, the board chose barry ferguson. I bet rangers wished they had stayed with him now as he was going to introduce a new culture similar to ronny deila that will eventually pay off.

I am disappointed to see the Celtic yoof teams still playing the same way , so no, I don't think the Board has backed Delia.

Jeezy Peeps! You are hard work...

what has being on P&B at the time have to do with what I am pretty sure your opinion of PLG vs Bazza was?

Nobody on here approaches talking 1% of the pish you (deliberately) do

"pure show me proof n awww rat" Would have been your next post.

Bollox.

"If" he had been given 5 years, had the board change every team in the dead club to his philosophy, then the buggers would be a Scottish ajax.

A bit like man.ure just now, the signings don't work/ they are all van gaal can get. Pressure over the top 4 down there and the top 2 up here means no chance of 'time'.

At the moment it is all about "pressing", but football is cyclical , so when somebody figures out how to pass their way through a top notch pressing team , everyone will change to that.

I fear for Ronnie at CP for the same reasons as the board need to change the setup root and branch, and as yet, have not.

PLG was/is a decent manager.

It was the fans that hounded him out.

Scottish Ajax :lol: Aye signing a 30 year old French dud as a goalkeeper and instantly replacing your in form, home grown young goalkeeper is exactly what Ajax would do right enough.

Football is cyclical yes, but only because people figure out a tactic to defeat the style thats currently "trendy". Le Guen came into Scottish football with a style of play that was already outdated and all the weakenesses his style had were exploitable by the style of play most Scottish sides played. He pretty much done the opposite of what you're trying to suggest. If anything the style in this country would have stagnated if he'd been in charge as hard tackling, punt it to the big man, tactics utterly destroyed his sides.

He had them sitting miles off the top of league, they'd spent a fortune on duds, he'd alientated the squad and he'd just got Rangers knocked out the cup by lower league opposition while playing at home, possibly for the first time in their history. His start to that season was the worst of any Old Firm manger in twenty years.

I've no idea why you've got such a hard on for him, probably because he's foreign and its been bred into us to believe they're somehow better, but he was a shite manager who had no idea what he was doing. He was rightfully sacked and wouldn't have improved Scottish football at all.

He was trying to change the culture at ibrox same as ronny is trying to do. Professional footballers should not be having burger and chips for lunch. It is no wonder Scotland has not been to a tournament since 98 if this is the way our professionals act.

Look at the premiership. English players used to be the same until the clubs all changed their culture and became more European.

I agree with Random Guy. Just look how far we went once Smith came in and chased the duds signed by PLG. 18 Months later we were in. European final

Cause that's a reasonable comparison when you look at the lack of budget PLG worked under and the ridiculous spending spree under "Walter".

Nearly 30m smith spent on players in his second spell.

He was trying to change the culture at ibrox same as ronny is trying to do. Professional footballers should not be having burger and chips for lunch. It is no wonder Scotland has not been to a tournament since 98 if this is the way our professionals act.

Look at the premiership. English players used to be the same until the clubs all changed their culture and became more European.

Stop talking shite, having tomato sauce on top of your pasta doesn't make you a shite footballer. His "culture" changing is the least important part of this anyway, it was results on the pitch that got him the sack, nothing else. Turning the fan base on himself with his argument with Ferguson helped push the sacking forward, but its not the main reason he got punted.

Barry Ferguson started squaring up to Clyde fans after they lost the other week (presumably the absurd rage of Clyde fans on here is infectious), could you imagine him vs. 30k at Ibrox if they were losing regularly? Hilarious.

Speaking of Barry Ferguson and shite Rangers related hilarity, his bi-weekly moan about "eating monster munch isnae bad for you le guen was a clown" pish in the Record is cringeworthy. Le Guen was hopeless when he was at Rangers and although he didn't help himself a lot of the time (playing whatshisname over McGregor, refusing to sign Steven Pressley when he was on a free transfer and his starting centre-halves were Karl Svensson and Brahim Hemdani), there's no doubt there was wholly too much scrutiny and alarmist reaction typical of the entitled throughout his time at Rangers - much like Ronny Deila faced at Celtic to start, which has lessened and could hopefully lead to actual progress as far as changing the overall mindset and approach of the biggest team in Scotland. Any attempt to modernise Scottish football (at various levels) can't be a bad thing.

The Sevconians want a club legend, a Rangers man, someone who knows what it means to wear the jersey. Managing ability comes a little bit further down the list.

Got to be Gazza then. If the club don't pay him the odd week he'll not even realise;)

Everyone a winner.

Stop talking shite, having tomato sauce on top of your pasta doesn't make you a shite footballer. His "culture" changing is the least important part of this anyway, it was results on the pitch that got him the sack, nothing else. Turning the fan base on himself with his argument with Ferguson helped push the sacking forward, but its not the main reason he got punted.

It takes time to change a culture. You can't expect results overnight. Look at us, ronny could have been sacked but we gave him time and is now getting the results.

The Sevconians want a club legend, a Rangers man, someone who knows what it means to wear the jersey. Managing ability comes a little bit further down the list.

Got to be Gazza then. If the club don't pay him the odd week he'll not even realise;)

Everyone a winner.

A few dozen bottles of vodka a week would cost a damn sight less than what Sally is getting and he could sit asleep with his arms crossed instead of standing up. As for tactics, who gives a monkey's? :lol:

He's a riot too. Can pretend to play an imaginary flute AND pull on make believe wellie boots. Also acted like a thug under pressure.

Is there a box he doesn't tick?