League set up 2015

Naw, one is a public park and the other two nae much better.

We've got a nice wee cover now to keep the rain off, ground is perfect for Junior fitba. We should forget about licences and pyramids and travelling tae the borders playing in front of twa men and a dug in a park.

You been to Coldstream lately.....

It's not that long ago yous had nowt.

I'm sure your committee would just love to give up years and years of tradition of playing in the big Scottish and forget about licensing.

What's your crowds now like ? 3 men and a dug ?

Aye one game in the big Scottish a year where we get papped oot away to Turriff, Lothian or Inveroorie shouldnae haud us back from where we should be playing, tradition disnae get the toon buzzin tae watch us every week. I cannae even remember the last hame game we had in the big Scottish, any statto oot there ken?

Play games every week against mair local teams, and take yer chances in the junior cup and the other local cups these are decent games, I watch a fair number of junior games a season good standard and decent crowds and I wish Shippy could be involved. Theres nae future in eos fitba. Just ma opinion and it looks like Easthooses agree.

Edited by non_sequitur

Aye can we leave all this junior stuff on its own forum please.

Says "Lowlandleaguer" in the East of Scotland forum :huh:

I thought the guy was talking the pros/cons of his team in the East of Scotland, although it's more con than pro.......

Edited by Burnie_man

Anyone willing to benchmark the best to worst grounds in new set up ? Suppose Spartans the best

That's a good idea if only just to see what people who go to the games think of the surroundings. A mark of up to 5 stars like Trip Advisor with as you say Spartans having the best for EOS level at 5 stars.

Does Spartans EOS play on the park that has those first team facilities? What happens if their first team are at home on the same day? I think that is one of the EOS requirements, having first pick of the pitch you use.

Spartans EoS sometimes play on the Friday evening and very occasionally Saturday lunch time if there is a clash.

Who has first pick of Saughton - Lothian or Tynecastle ?

Spartans EOS normally play at home on the weekends Spartans are away. Until now the occasional clash has seen the EOS team play a Friday night.

If there is such a requirement, it clearly isn't policed to the letter (quite sensibly)... Berwick Rangers EOS never had first call on Shielfield. Lothian THV and Tynecastle can't both have first call groundsharing Saughton. Stirling don't have first call on Gannochy, to the extent that the first team still register it as their ground for the South Challenge and EOS Qualifying cups. Some other clubs don't have first call at certain times of year, or days of the week, due to other sports or events e.g. athletics, cricket, gridiron (before - at Meadowbank), local festivals.

Groundsharing also happens in SPFL, LL, SOSL.

Not really worth its own thread - but news today that 2 EOSL games are included in next season's LL groundhop in advance of an EOSL groundhop in 2017.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Groundhop-UK/428437583921947

Scottish Lowland Football League announces Groundhop Weekend fixtures

The Scottish Sun Lowland Football League and GroundhopUK are delighted to announce the host clubs and fixtures for the second Groundhop to take place in Scotland. The games will take place over the weekend of 11 – 13 March 2016.

The weekend features matches at six venues in the Lowland Football League, including two games at grounds that have hosted Scottish League football - reigning Champions Edinburgh... City at Meadowbank Stadium, and Gretna 2008 at Raydale Park.

In an exciting development, the schedule also includes two matches from the East of Scotland League, which will serve as a “taster” for a full series of groundhop games in the East of Scotland League in 2017.

The games are:

Friday 11th March 2016
Gretna 2008 v Dalbeattie Star (7:45pm)

Saturday 12th March 2016
Civil Service Strollers v Leith Athletic (11am)
Craigroyston v Tynecastle (2pm)

Spartans v University of Stirling (5pm)
Edinburgh City v East Kilbride (8pm)

Sunday 13th March 2016
Edinburgh University v Selkirk (12:15pm)
Whitehill Welfare v Gala Fairydean Rovers (3:15pm)
Preston Athletic v Threave Rovers (6:15pm)