The James McClean Sponsored Poppy Thread

4 hours ago, Ned Nederlander said:

Absolutely definitely made from a recovered shell case that - no chance some wee guy in Sneck is making them out of pilfered brass. 

How very dare you !! 😮 That poppy was made from the casing of his great-grandad's watch which he kept hidden in his arse whilst a guest of them Nazi SS boyos at Stalag Luft Steak n' Kidney Pie.............................

pulp-fiction-christopher-walken.gif.fbb3ab8dae457b1a4c3cbe8d4f2a705a.gif

6 minutes ago, eindhovendee said:

My team, with its Military loving US owners, have nudged into the lead in the SPFL uber Poppy stakes with this programme cover for the weekend.

Screenshot_20231109_164316_Facebook.thumb.jpg.a626a99339e1f0832e65e1b1b1ca0737.jpg

TBF it's at least a memorial to the working class guys from Dundee sent to slaughter at Loos and other battles, rather than anything overtly flag shagging. 

Dundonians who were just like us eg they probably wondered if they would ever see Dundee win the Scottish cup again too.

2 hours ago, Florentine_Pogen said:

How very dare you !! 😮 That poppy was made from the casing of his great-grandad's watch which he kept hidden in his arse whilst a guest of them Nazi SS boyos at Stalag Luft Steak n' Kidney Pie.............................

pulp-fiction-christopher-walken.gif.fbb3ab8dae457b1a4c3cbe8d4f2a705a.gif

Shows what you know, that's the first place we looked.

25 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

Dundonians who were just like us eg they probably wondered if they would ever see Dundee win the Scottish cup again too.

They wouldn't have been wondering, they were still celebrating.

24 minutes ago, invergowrie arab said:

TBF it's at least a memorial to the working class guys from Dundee sent to slaughter at Loos and other battles, rather than anything overtly flag shagging. 

My Grandfather's brother played for Dundee Hibs during the war. He tried to be excused conscription on account of having elderly parents needing provided for as all his siblings were conscripted. Got knocked back by the tribunal. 

Grim times. 

3 minutes ago, Cosmic Joe said:

My Grandfather's brother played for Dundee Hibs during the war. He tried to be excused conscription on account of having elderly parents needing provided for as all his siblings were conscripted. Got knocked back by the tribunal. 

Grim times. 

Dees.

2 hours ago, BMunro said:

EXhGAxOX0AAMLxZ?format=jpg&name=large

You need to see the context of these photos (read below)   Was Donaldson a Nazi sympathiser? I doubt he was a political Nazi but probably seen them as the enemy of my enemy is my friend. Mind you The former king Edward III was seen as sympathetic to the Nazi cause and actually visited with Hitler, Goebbels and Himmler. The government at the time knew he was OFTW. Viscount Caldecote, a member of Churchill's cabinet, warned him that the Duke "is well-known to be pro-Nazi and he may become a center of intrigue." 

In July 1933, he told former Kaiser Wilhelm II’s grandson, Prince Louis Ferdinand, that it was 'no business of ours to interfere in Germany’s internal affairs either re Jews or re anything else.' 'Dictators are very popular these days,' Edward had added. 'We might want one in England before long.'

It's known that at least seven substantial Hitler Youth groups, each of about twenty young men, took cycling holidays in Britain in the 1930s. These were generally the older members of the Hitler Youth: in their late teens or early twenties.

Their itineraries were usually built round visits to the great English historic sites - Oxford, Cambridge, London. Though one party was touring Scotland and another finished in Wales.

In July 1937, 22 young German university students, who were members of the South Bavarian troop of the Hitler Youth, toured Lincolnshire and were entertained by Spalding Rotary Club who fed them a 'sausage and mashed potato supper'. Apparently they charmed the local people with their good manners.

Some of the Hitler Youth groups met or shared camps with British Boy Scout groups. The most striking was the Tamworth Scout troop - for whom this was a return visit. They had already been guests of the Hitler Youth in Hamburg earlier in the summer, thanks to their very pro-German Scoutmaster.

They had stayed at a Hitler Youth camp and even taken part in a torchlight rally. One of the boys, Les Fardon, told Radio 4's Document Programme some years ago: "It was like a Roman legion," he said. "You had these long banners and you were marching to tune... it was very stirring"

Another of his fellow Scouts remembered it as being a very exciting trip, and he recalled how even the British boys fell into doing the "Heil Hitler" salute. "They liked you to do it," he added. Both boys made friends with some of the Germans.

When the Hitler Youth came to visit them in England, it proved controversial, and prompted intense debate in the pages of the local paper, the Birmingham Post. The head of MI5 asked to see the letters sent to the newspaper.

The most pro-German was R. Charles Lines who wrote about the farewell supper for the Hitler Youth: "Many remarks passed to me by Tamworth residents showed very plainly what a wonderful impression these boys have made during their stay. There is no doubt that Tamworth has thoroughly enjoyed entertaining them and I know how splendidly local people have risen to the occasion"
In 1938 Lord Baden-Powell, the founder of the Boy Scout movement, had a warm meeting with two Hitler Youth leaders, Hartmann Lautenbacher and Jochen Beneman, as well as the then German Ambassador Joachim von Ribbentrop - later Hitler's foreign minister.

Baden-Powell wrote to von Ribbentrop: 'I want to offer my grateful thanks for your kindness in receiving me yesterday and giving me the opportunity of meeting Mr Beneman and Mr Hartmann Lautenbacher.

'More especially, I am grateful for the kind conversation you accorded me which opened my eyes to the feeling of your country towards Britain, which I may say, reciprocates exactly the feeling which I have for Germany.'

'True peace between the two nations will depend on the youth being brought up on friendly terms together in forgetfulness of past differences.'

Baden-Powell was invited to visit Hitler in Berlin. However, no meeting took place because war broke out the following year.

2 hours ago, BMunro said:

6 hours ago, dirty dingus said:

You need to see the context of these photos (read below)   Was Donaldson a Nazi sympathiser? I doubt he was a political Nazi but probably seen them as the enemy of my enemy is my friend. Mind you The former king Edward III was seen as sympathetic to the Nazi cause and actually visited with Hitler, Goebbels and Himmler. The government at the time knew he was OFTW. Viscount Caldecote, a member of Churchill's cabinet, warned him that the Duke "is well-known to be pro-Nazi and he may become a center of intrigue." 

In July 1933, he told former Kaiser Wilhelm II’s grandson, Prince Louis Ferdinand, that it was 'no business of ours to interfere in Germany’s internal affairs either re Jews or re anything else.' 'Dictators are very popular these days,' Edward had added. 'We might want one in England before long.'

It's known that at least seven substantial Hitler Youth groups, each of about twenty young men, took cycling holidays in Britain in the 1930s. These were generally the older members of the Hitler Youth: in their late teens or early twenties.

Their itineraries were usually built round visits to the great English historic sites - Oxford, Cambridge, London. Though one party was touring Scotland and another finished in Wales.

In July 1937, 22 young German university students, who were members of the South Bavarian troop of the Hitler Youth, toured Lincolnshire and were entertained by Spalding Rotary Club who fed them a 'sausage and mashed potato supper'. Apparently they charmed the local people with their good manners.

Some of the Hitler Youth groups met or shared camps with British Boy Scout groups. The most striking was the Tamworth Scout troop - for whom this was a return visit. They had already been guests of the Hitler Youth in Hamburg earlier in the summer, thanks to their very pro-German Scoutmaster.

They had stayed at a Hitler Youth camp and even taken part in a torchlight rally. One of the boys, Les Fardon, told Radio 4's Document Programme some years ago: "It was like a Roman legion," he said. "You had these long banners and you were marching to tune... it was very stirring"

Another of his fellow Scouts remembered it as being a very exciting trip, and he recalled how even the British boys fell into doing the "Heil Hitler" salute. "They liked you to do it," he added. Both boys made friends with some of the Germans.

When the Hitler Youth came to visit them in England, it proved controversial, and prompted intense debate in the pages of the local paper, the Birmingham Post. The head of MI5 asked to see the letters sent to the newspaper.

The most pro-German was R. Charles Lines who wrote about the farewell supper for the Hitler Youth: "Many remarks passed to me by Tamworth residents showed very plainly what a wonderful impression these boys have made during their stay. There is no doubt that Tamworth has thoroughly enjoyed entertaining them and I know how splendidly local people have risen to the occasion"
In 1938 Lord Baden-Powell, the founder of the Boy Scout movement, had a warm meeting with two Hitler Youth leaders, Hartmann Lautenbacher and Jochen Beneman, as well as the then German Ambassador Joachim von Ribbentrop - later Hitler's foreign minister.

Baden-Powell wrote to von Ribbentrop: 'I want to offer my grateful thanks for your kindness in receiving me yesterday and giving me the opportunity of meeting Mr Beneman and Mr Hartmann Lautenbacher.

'More especially, I am grateful for the kind conversation you accorded me which opened my eyes to the feeling of your country towards Britain, which I may say, reciprocates exactly the feeling which I have for Germany.'

'True peace between the two nations will depend on the youth being brought up on friendly terms together in forgetfulness of past differences.'

Baden-Powell was invited to visit Hitler in Berlin. However, no meeting took place because war broke out the following year.

I was in the Waffen BBs.

Obviously not a particularly new observation but I walked past a poppy stall this morning and then noticed barely anyone I passed was wearing one. Definitely seems a lot more people just don't bother with it at all. Is this due to the quickly ramping up insanity every year and turning into an ersatz armed forces support season turning people off, or are folk just not bothered anymore? I think of my dad who used to always wear a poppy, despite being an atheist always went to remembrance services when I was growing up, and I don't think he's worn one since he moved back to the UK 3 years ago 

18 minutes ago, GHF-23 said:

Obviously not a particularly new observation but I walked past a poppy stall this morning and then noticed barely anyone I passed was wearing one. Definitely seems a lot more people just don't bother with it at all. Is this due to the quickly ramping up insanity every year and turning into an ersatz armed forces support season turning people off, or are folk just not bothered anymore? I think of my dad who used to always wear a poppy, despite being an atheist always went to remembrance services when I was growing up, and I don't think he's worn one since he moved back to the UK 3 years ago 

I think cultures just change over time.

People are increasingly spending more time in front of screens and don’t even carry cash to buy the poppies in the first place.

I also think there’s an element of taking our security and safety for granted.  In our busy lives, it doesn’t even occur to people to stop and think of the sacrifices those before us made.

I very much doubt it’s because people are being turned off by OTT displays.  People in general aren’t really bothered by that, although you’d be forgiven for thinking differently given the posts on here.

Probably a multitude of reasons.

Firstly the new poppies are rubbish and fall apart in minutes. 

The direct link to WW1 has gone and even WW2 is down to tiny numbers. I appreciate the Poppy is for all conflicts but they are primarily linked to those two events. My kids are older teenagers and even the like of The Troubles or Iraq barely register with them. 

There will also be a lot like me who happily tapped a £5 donation to Poppy Scotland but don't want anything to do with Remember Fest. 

1 hour ago, GHF-23 said:

Hopefully less and less folk aren't bothered. It's a load of pish that needs binned. All of it.

1 hour ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

People are increasingly spending more time in front of screens and don’t even carry cash to buy the poppies in the first place.

I also think there’s an element of taking our security and safety for granted.  In our busy lives, it doesn’t even occur to people to stop and think of the sacrifices those before us made.

I very much doubt it’s because people are being turned off by OTT displays.  People in general aren’t really bothered by that, although you’d be forgiven for thinking differently given the posts on here.

It's completely possible to remember and be grateful for those who had no choice while not buying in to the present-day weaponised performance of wearing a cut out piece of red card. 

1 hour ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

I think there's something to what you say, especially purely practical reasons such as people not carrying cash. I'm not sure how "spending more time in front of screens" would relate to a lack of interest, given that most people will be using the likes of Facebook, or for instance watching television or reading newspaper websites where wearing a poppy has become ubiquitous and not wearing one a news story. 

I think your second and third paragraphs are quite revealing. There shouldn't really be any association between the commemoration of war dead - which my recollection from my youth was primarily associated with the futility of World War I - with 'our security and safety'. Even taking World War 2 that is commemorating those who defeated fascism rather than specifically our national security. Certainly there are no wars fought by the UK I can think of since where this has been a primary believable justification for the war. The dying out of the generation who directly experienced those wars has certainly contributed to this. As much as I don't think they are directly to blame I think it's been a real institutional failure by the Poppy Appeal and BL in allowing their campaigns to be politicised in the way it has - both by outside forces and, as we've seen on recent pages, people proudly being disingenuous about their service and celebrating a murderer selling poppies. 

With all due respect I think your own viewpoint, as a born-again Christian Orange March and Coronation enjoyer, isn't likely to be anymore revelatory or representative than the generally left of centre views of a Scottish Football Forum