General Politics Thread

Granny Danger

4 minutes ago, DeeTillEhDeh said:

That may be true but in terms of monetary policy and financial regulation Labour are up there with the Tories.

Depends on how far you go back. Old Labour wouldn't have let the City get away with the pish New Labour turned a blind eye to.

Because protesting at the kind of abuse she was reading out is "playing a card", aye.

I don't deny she's faced racist and sexist abuse but have seen first hand her abuse the issue of racism and sexism when she was losing the argument.

In my student politics days it was a favourites ploy to undermine candidates by playing the racist/sexist/homophobe card.

On 26/06/2017 at 09:57, Baxter Parp said:

CKoac1KWoAA9f9d.jpg

Prof. Mark Blyth gets it.

On 26/06/2017 at 11:21, Baxter Parp said:

Pish.  Forgive me if I trust the opinion of a political economist who's actually written a book on austerity over some pea-brained internet no-mark.

On 26/06/2017 at 13:21, Baxter Parp said:

It was all the bankers fault, the Labour government wasn't overspending.

Those are the first three posts that you made in this conversation.  Not a single mention of the comparative performance of Labour and the Tories.  You even went as far as to absolve the tories by stating that "it was all the bankers fault".  

6 hours ago, Baxter Parp said:

"Labour not as bad fiscally as the Tories" was the whole thrust of my post and it's obviously correct since you acknowledge it here.

So Labour did overspend, just not as much as the Tories?

Immediately install him as 'President-Liberator' for life after independence.

He's on record as saying 'Guardian of Scotland' in the style of Wallace would be his preference.

That didn't exactly work out well for Wallace. I'm thinking more along the lines of the benign rule of Czechoslovakia's lifetime President T. G. Masaryk, as well as many banana republics that would have only benefited from having their local warlord replaced with one of the most effective leaders in Scottish history.  

Edited by vikingTON

17 hours ago, strichener said:

Those are the first three posts that you made in this conversation.  Not a single mention of the comparative performance of Labour and the Tories.  You even went as far as to absolve the tories by stating that "it was all the bankers fault".  

So Labour did overspend, just not as much as the Tories?

Good job missing out half the conversation, chum.  The financial crisis was the fault of the bankers and the Tories have made the subsequent years worse through their economic incompetence.  Labour were not overspending..

2 hours ago, Baxter Parp said:

Good job missing out half the conversation, chum.  The financial crisis was the fault of the bankers and the Tories have made the subsequent years worse through their economic incompetence.  Labour were not overspending..

Feel free to post the missing half that backs up your claim that you were always comparing Labour spending to the Tories...

I won't hold my breath.

On 13/07/2017 at 10:42, Baxter Parp said:

"Labour not as bad fiscally as the Tories" was the whole thrust of my post and it's obviously correct since you acknowledge it here.

2 hours ago, Baxter Parp said:

I didn't say I was always comparing Labour to the Tories, beanbrain.

So a synopsis of the conversation is;

Baxter: Austerity is terrible

Baxter: It was the bankers fault

Baxter: Labour didn't overspend

Baxter: It really was the bankers fault, labour didn't overspend

Baxter: They didn't :bairn

Strichener: They really did - £175bln

Baxter: Well that isn't as bad as the Tories, which was my main point.

Strichener: Whataboutery

Baxter: No, that was the whole point of the posts.

Strichener: Really, doesn't look like it.

Baxter: :( Ignore my previous posts, I didn't say I was comparing Labour and the Tories (Oh and BTW Let's ignore the overspending bit)

Baxter: [emoji20] Ignore my previous posts, I didn't say I was comparing Labour and the Tories (Oh and BTW Let's ignore the overspending bit)

These last posts have been comedy gold.

Baxter: [emoji20] Ignore my previous posts, I didn't say I was comparing Labour and the Tories (Oh and BTW Let's ignore the overspending bit)

What is it about right-wingers and habitual lying? This is Trump level revisionism.