2016 Scottish Cup Final - Hibernian FC v Rangers

Bambino7

The headline is misleading − from the text you can see that he's suggesting that singing 'The Billy Boys' is preferrable to getting involved in unrest on the pitch ... and he's right !

I agree.

The headline is misleading, genuinely so.

It implies that the guy states that the singing of such songs is legitimate, when the reality is that he simply doesn't.

However, the problem is that he offsets any criticism of sectarianism, by comparing it to something else. That's not how that club should be behaving.

It's what he does, along with challenging people to "square goes"

If you can quote a single post where I have actually done this I'll donate £50 to a charity of your choice.

Might be best to wait until your tears clear to use the search function though

#BrokenBennett

Edited by jupe1407

He definitely condemned it on STV news. That doesn't mean he didn't negate that by then trying to defend the actions directly after.

We've had a senior SFA official/high profile journalists claiming that hibs were merely over exuberant/Sining songs is worse than attacking people.

He does not defend the singing, he clearly condemns it but points out where others are talking pish.

Quite a good blog on how Rangers and their pals in the media managed to deflect blame away from Hibs by their insane rants.

http://twohundredpercent.net/2016-scottish-cup-moral/

That's a really excellent piece - the best thing I've read on it.

It recognises that Rangers were more sinned against than sinning here and that aspects of some Hibs' fans' behaviour were deplorable and utterly indefensible.

What it also does though is aim for perspective and address the absolute deceit and malevolence behind the official Rangers statements.

The idea that they briefly had the moral high ground but instantly surrendered it, frames what happened perfectly.

We've had a senior SFA official/high profile journalists claiming that hibs were merely over exuberant/Sining songs is worse than attacking people.

He does not defend the singing, he clearly condemns it but points out where others are talking pish.

Nearly a week later Bennetts head is still MIA.

That's a really excellent piece - the best thing I've read on it.

It recognises that Rangers were more sinned against than sinning here and that aspects of some Hibs' fans' behaviour were deplorable and utterly indefensible.

What it also does though is aim for perspective and address the absolute deceit and malevolence behind the official Rangers statements.

The idea that they briefly had the moral high ground but instantly surrendered it, frames what happened perfectly.

Within minutes Rangers were getting blamed and hibs were over exuberant, Cosgrove, English and spiers went into overdrive.

Scottish fitba fans were telling everyone that pitch invasions always happen and it was all sevcos fault.

A blog by Celtic fans is gospel according to the yokel

Within minutes Rangers were getting blamed and hibs were over exuberant, Cosgrove, English and spiers went into overdrive.

Scottish fitba fans were telling everyone that pitch invasions always happen and it was all sevcos fault.

Is that really the best you can do Bennett, when confronted by a well written article that is full of acknowledgments regarding where blame lies?

Have you even read it, or would you rather just run with the "yokel" thing anyway?

What did Tom English specifically say, within minutes, that you regard as Rangers blaming "overdrive"?

You previously posted about it, stop acting like a tit and you may get somewhere.

Is that really the best you can do Bennett, when confronted by a well written article that is full of acknowledgments regarding where blame lies?

Have you even read it, or would you rather just run with the "yokel" thing anyway?

Replying twice to the same post lol, the blog is just another anti sevco borefest.?

Calm doon and accept that it's biased.