Oliver Burke

Contra

1 hour ago, forameus said:

:lol: That is just glorious 

Aw for fu...there we go, back to normal :rolleyes:

Unlike some, at least i have a 'normal'. Winning games like that are the means, not the end....and in themselves, prove very little. I've seen Scotland labour to 2-0 wins over San Marino while Belgium rattle ten past them....but i'd take that Scotland side to easily brush off the current one despite one resounding triumph. Four points from next month, and i may share in the optimism a bit more, but i just can't shake the feeling that the wobble in Malta rather crudely proves Strachan's belief (or public lack of it) in the team to get a result playing a similar manner. If so, we'll be back to square one in Bratislava, against a perfectly beatable opponent. Again. 

6 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Unlike some, at least i have a 'normal'. Winning games like that are the means, not the end....and in themselves, prove very little. I've seen Scotland labour to 2-0 wins over San Marino while Belgium rattle ten past them....but i'd take that Scotland side to easily brush off the current one despite one resounding triumph. Four points from next month, and i may share in the optimism a bit more, but i just can't shake the feeling that the wobble in Malta rather crudely proves Strachan's belief (or public lack of it) in the team to get a result playing a similar manner. If so, we'll be back to square one in Bratislava, against a perfectly beatable opponent. Again. 

So you've seen Scotland struggle against weak teams, so now we win and win comfortably - at least in scoreline - we're not allowed to be in any way positive about it.  How dare Strachan say anything like that, what an awful person.

24 minutes ago, forameus said:

So you've seen Scotland struggle against weak teams, so now we win and win comfortably - at least in scoreline - we're not allowed to be in any way positive about it.  How dare Strachan say anything like that, what an awful person.

I'm no fan of Strachan. Infact, I think he's a bit of a twat... BUT I totally agree with you here. Was a very good win away from home against a team I honestly thought would have made it nervy for us.

But knowing Strachan, he'll f**k about with the team again come Lithuania and we'll come out with a draw and hopes will be shattered.

Edited by Underpants Gnome

I'm no fan of Strachan. Infact, I think he's a bit of a twat... BUT I totally agree with you here. Was a very good win away from home against a team I honestly thought would have made it nervy for us.

But knowing Strachan, he'll f**k about with the team again come Lithuania and we'll come out with a draw and hopes will be shattered.

If we don't beat Lithuania at home then Strachan needs to walk...

3 hours ago, forameus said:

Pish. Rap the pity party, it's boring. You know exactly what i'm talking about, i'll credit you with the brains to work it out, but for those who cannot, i'll divulge.

Struggling to break down SM, Faroes etc wasn't the crime of the century; Broon simply had the team playing a specific way, in order to get the best out of our limited players as often as possible. Be it Sweden, Austria, Finland, Czech Republic or Croatia, we were never an expansive team. Press in own half, deep line, hit on break. Point was, it worked, until he fannied about with it in Monaco and played a 2-5-3 and got our pants pulled down. I'd be much more comfortable if we mastered a style of play against significant opponents, instead of guaging a virtual walkover as a new dawn in Scottish dominance. It was one result which proved nothing, except that the players look eager to put the 2016 dissapointment behind them, while the fucking manager still prattles on about it.

I know fine well our players aren't good enough to expect to rock up even in Vilnius expecting victory, let alone Bratislava or Wembley, but letting them loose against Malta and judging on that is laughable. I'd be happier going into these games not certain we'll concede, for a start. 

8 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Pish. Rap the pity party, it's boring. You know exactly what i'm talking about, i'll credit you with the brains to work it out, but for those who cannot, i'll divulge.

Struggling to break down SM, Faroes etc wasn't the crime of the century; Broon simply had the team playing a specific way, in order to get the best out of our limited players as often as possible. Be it Sweden, Austria, Finland, Czech Republic or Croatia, we were never an expansive team. Press in own half, deep line, hit on break. Point was, it worked, until he fannied about with it in Monaco and played a 2-5-3 and got our pants pulled down. I'd be much more comfortable if we mastered a style of play against significant opponents, instead of guaging a virtual walkover as a new dawn in Scottish dominance. It was one result which proved nothing, except that the players look eager to put the 2016 dissapointment behind them, while the fucking manager still prattles on about it.

I know fine well our players aren't good enough to expect to rock up even in Vilnius expecting victory, let alone Bratislava or Wembley, but letting them loose against Malta and judging on that is laughable. I'd be happier going into these games not certain we'll concede, for a start. 

:lol: Pity party?  You're the one saying that after a win we should be all doom and gloom because it's only Malta.

What else do we have to judge on?  Our last game before that (that mattered) is rapidly approaching a year ago.  Even the friendlies this year are largely irrelevant, either through the main starters being changed, or us on some cruise of despair while we get pumped by much better teams. 

Although none of that really matters for the point you brought up.  I don't really care what happened previously.  You're talking about not judging because of one very recent result by wheeling out anecdotes about Craig Brown.  We've had one match in the current qualifying, and for the most part we looked pretty good.  He was talking positively about that match.  And why shouldn't he?  What do you really want him to do?  Sit with his head bowed in every media conference, answering every question about how well Snodgrass played, or how much of a prospect Burke looks with a solemn "Aye, but we didn't qualify for the Summer tournament, guys.  I'm pure scunnered by that"? 

4 hours ago, forameus said:

:lol: Pity party?  You're the one saying that after a win we should be all doom and gloom because it's only Malta.

What else do we have to judge on?  Our last game before that (that mattered) is rapidly approaching a year ago.  Even the friendlies this year are largely irrelevant, either through the main starters being changed, or us on some cruise of despair while we get pumped by much better teams. 

Although none of that really matters for the point you brought up.  I don't really care what happened previously.  You're talking about not judging because of one very recent result by wheeling out anecdotes about Craig Brown.  We've had one match in the current qualifying, and for the most part we looked pretty good.  He was talking positively about that match.  And why shouldn't he?  What do you really want him to do?  Sit with his head bowed in every media conference, answering every question about how well Snodgrass played, or how much of a prospect Burke looks with a solemn "Aye, but we didn't qualify for the Summer tournament, guys.  I'm pure scunnered by that"? 

I don't believe he is/was that scunnered, if the truth be told. The myth surrounding his mediocre talent pool assured him of a solid reputation among the disciples whether we went to the finals or not. However, he doesn't half sound surprised at how his own team played in Malta; that's quite worrying, that he didn't already know, and set them out with such instructions. 

He did his job at half-time, keeping the heads screwed on and not panicking, however instead of turning this straight forward routine match into anything else (talk of Bannan 'under pressure', an example) i wouldn't have had a problem with them being sent out for the second half with a rocket up their arse for falling to fucking pieces around and after their goal, to show it won't be good enough in future. He's chosen his style of management, which doesn't cater for that; our campaign will either live or die by that. If he somehow man-manages this bunch to Russia, then there won't be anyone happier than me, i can assure you. But it needs feet on the ground, hard realism, and sometimes harsh words to get it done. Not fawning over a training session. 

1 hour ago, the snudge said:

Some run for the assist

Eh? Not seen the highlights yet - I thought they scored their goal before he came on?

ETA: Ah, I see: " Leipzig went on the attack in the closing stages, with Oliver Burke inches away from scoring his first Bundesliga goal at the near post. "

P.S. See the Dynamo Dresden fans threw a severed cow's head onto the pitch in protest when they played Leipzig recently? F*cksake - chill :lol:

Edited by Gordopolis

What is the problem with that? There's already been a discussion on this thread, basically outlining why its such a deal for many German fans. Are we that conditioned into shutting the f**k up, and letting everyone away with murder these days, that a dainty wee protest creates consternation? Correctness, denied censorship, f**k that. Hats off to the Dresdeners. 

3 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

What is the problem with that? There's already been a discussion on this thread, basically outlining why its such a deal for many German fans. Are we that conditioned into shutting the f**k up, and letting everyone away with murder these days, that a dainty wee protest creates consternation? Correctness, denied censorship, f**k that. Hats off to the Dresdeners. 

Do you get absolutely raging at nothing so regularly for some medical condition or just for a laugh?

The problem with it is probably the whole throwing a dead animals head onto a pitch.  That's just a smidgen too far in most people's eyes.

Some people. Exactly the point. Others felt strongly enough about it, to make their point, and successfully too by all accounts. 

Since when has replying to faux outrage posts been automatically considered any sort of medical or mental issue? The poster obviously doesn't care about the reasons why some nutjob/principled citizen (as you choose) chose to carry a bloody, snotty, maggot infested gulliver around all day, and probably just wants to enjoy his fitba in peace, free from such actions. Thank f**k there's plenty others who dont just bend over and take any old shite given to them, even if the method's questionable.

I could take offence at your attempts at diagnosis, but the general acceptance that the utterance of the alternative viewpoint as symptoms of an illness are far more of a deal to get bothered by. After all, you think it's acceptable to laugh and point at anyone with any sort of expectation, or attempt to grapple with the abstract when it comes to analysing your teams, so f**k knows what you're actually like in the real world dealing with real problems. 

I'll address the actual point, aside from your flying off the handle, by saying pretty much one thing.  There's a nice big middle ground to be had between "just bending over and taking any old shite given to them" and throwing a fucking cow's head onto a pitch.  The latter should not be applauded for "sticking it to the man", as I can think of many, many other ways they could have protested without going that far.  

As Gordopolis said, although I'd hate to set you off for a third time...

6 hours ago, Gordopolis said:

F*cksake - chill :lol:

Edited by forameus

6 hours ago, Gordopolis said:

Eh? Not seen the highlights yet - I thought they scored their goal before he came on?

ETA: Ah, I see: " Leipzig went on the attack in the closing stages, with Oliver Burke inches away from scoring his first Bundesliga goal at the near post. "

P.S. See the Dynamo Dresden fans threw a severed cow's head onto the pitch in protest when they played Leipzig recently? F*cksake - chill :lol:

Heids gone.

6 minutes ago, Officer Barbrady said:

Using other people's banter for a nice change. Not. Ever an original thought?

Heids gone part 2.