Brexit slowly becoming a Farce.

John Lambies Doos

3 hours ago, Bishop Briggs said:

There is no data in the article to support the £84 billion figure.

Business confidence has bounced back - http://www.telegraph.co.uk/business/2016/10/06/business-confidence-bounces-back-as-firms-voice-optimism-on-brit/.

Consumer confidence is at an all time high - http://blogs.spectator.co.uk/2016/10/brexit-bounce-continues-uk-consumer-confidence-hits-five-year-high/

This isn’t to say there won’t be more turbulence. The above people were wrong – but most economic predictions are.

Northern Ireland is experiencing a consumer boom from the Republic - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-37764732. That will bring in lots of VAT.

That line was the best one.

29 minutes ago, JamieThomas said:

Well if there's two publications I'd certainly trust to take to task any problems borne of right wing lunacy, it's the Telegraph and the Spectator.

I've got a feeling everything's going to be allllllright, lads.

The old "shoot the messenger" fallacies again. Have you even read the articles? Or are you resorting to pathetic and tired cliches?

Daily Telegraph - "Business confidence rose to 112.4 in September, up from 105 in July and just shy of June's reading of 112.6, according to an index compiled by YouGov and the Centre for Economics and Business Research (CEBR). Any number below 100 represents a negative outlook, 100 is neutral, while a figure above 100 is considered positive."

The Spectator - "As things turn out the Deloitte Consumer tracker has hit an all-time high. It has only been running for five years, so the real story could be even more impressive. And while George Osborne was talking about half a million jobs going as a result of the Brexit vote, the Deloitte survey found a strong increase in confidence of job security, up from -10 per cent to -4 per cent." 

30 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

Daily Telegraph - "Business confidence rose to 112.4 in September, up from 105 in July and just shy of June's reading of 112.6, according to an index compiled by YouGov and the Centre for Economics and Business Research (CEBR). Any number below 100 represents a negative outlook, 100 is neutral, while a figure above 100 is considered positive."

Down since June then. :whistle

1 hour ago, Joey Jo Jo Junior Shabadoo said:

Down since June then. :whistle

A  0.2 difference is not statistically significant, i.e. well within the margin of error

33 minutes ago, WILLIEA said:

TBF Reading and interpreting figures isn't his strong point!;)

See above. Do you understand how such indexes are calculated? Or are you just trolling again?

Edited by Bishop Briggs

17 hours ago, Redstarstranraer said:

I've already indicated to you that the idea Scotland is 'politically immature' is meaningless drivel in and of itself.  Even if you don't think you're comparing Scottish politics to any other nation it is entirely valid to point out that the politics of every other nation on Earth feature division and entrenched interests: i.e. using that as an argument against Scotland and only Scotland being independent is an asinine gambit.  Saying Scots aren't 'mature enough' to govern an independent state also insinuates whether you appreciate it or not that those states which are independent have reached the required level of maturity and indeed also that you think the UK government is suitably mature. You don't seem able to understand the implications of your own posts.

And you're not 'just saying how it is' that's your opinion.  Claiming that the Scottish government hasn't reached an arbitrary level of 'maturity' you yourself have decided is required before Scotland can manage its own affairs is hardly proffering some sort of objective fact.

The constant bleating that you're only offering observations not giving opinions isn't fooling anyone in any case.

There's absolutely zero evidence or justification for that claim as you well know.  

What a lot of 'delusionist' pish.  The SNP government has actually faced probably the most intensive scrutiny and criticism from the press of any Scottish government since devolution.  There is plenty of criticism of it out there in civil society as well in general.  You're criticising it right now and I doubt that a door in Hawick is about to be broken down by the SNP Thought Police in the wee small hours of this morning.  The efforts of Britnats to portray themselves as somehow being lone brave voices daring to stand up against an ever more oppressive SNP government whilst everyone else turns a blind eye out of fear or smug anti-English fervour is just pathetic. 

Actually 'an arrogant, right of centre, stagnant, divisive, 'delusionist' Govt.' would actually be a not bad representation of Theresa May's administration although to be fair to them I'm pretty sure much like the Scottish government they can be criticised.

Democratic Dictatorship

Just like democratically unacceptable from the kid-on socialist wee burney. 

Edited by hehawhehaw

9 minutes ago, WILLIEA said:

You have to be a bit soft in the head to suggest that an influx of consumers from Eire seeking cheap deals in NI is a good sign for the economy.

It's good for the Northern Ireland economy and VAT receipts. You have to be soft in the head not to see that. It's typical that the Remoaners, like you, are continually talking down the economy.

Going back to business confidence - http://www.retailgazette.co.uk/blog/2016/10/businesses-recover-to-pre-brexit-confidence-levels

"New data has indicated that UK business confidence returned to pre-EU referendum levels during September, driven by a surge in optimism for both the national economy and organisations’ own future prospects.

According to the latest YouGov/Centre for Economics and Business Research (Cebr) UK Economic Index, business confidence rose to 112.4 last month, putting it at around the levels it was before the June referendum. In June it was at 112.6 and in May it stood at 112.5."

So business confidence is virtually the same as in May and June. Those who want a strong economy will be pleased. The Remoaners are angry.

Edited by Bishop Briggs

6 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

It's good for the Northern Ireland economy and VAT receipts.

Not if you take a long term view and project ahead it's not.

After , say a 5 year period when a cost/benefit analysis is done on Brexit the true scale of the idiocy will be only too apparent.

2 minutes ago, WILLIEA said:

Not if you take a long term view and project ahead it's not.

After , say a 5 year period when a cost/benefit analysis is done on Brexit the true scale of the idiocy will be only too apparent.

The EU is incapable of signing trade deals with the likes of Canada and the US. Post-Brexit, Britain (or an independent Scotland) will be able to sign free trade deals with those countries and others, e.g. India and Australia. The Single Market, a heavily-regulated customs union, has over 12,750 tariffs. Free trade deals will lower the costs of imports from those countries. The EU/EEA is heading towards nationalistic protectionism and we will be better off out of it.

35 minutes ago, Bishop Briggs said:

The EU is incapable of signing trade deals with the likes of Canada and the US. Post-Brexit, Britain (or an independent Scotland) will be able to sign free trade deals with those countries and others, e.g. India and Australia. The Single Market, a heavily-regulated customs union, has over 12,750 tariffs. Free trade deals will lower the costs of imports from those countries. The EU/EEA is heading towards nationalistic protectionism and we will be better off out of it.

The CETA treaty negotiations have been going on since 2004. How much effort, human and financial commitment do you think countries and blocs will be willing to put in just to speed up negotiations with the UK on its own? Switzerland has taken 40 years just to get their deal with the EU. Norway's deal was quick because they signed up to the single market in full, with freedom of movement but without agriculture and fisheries, and no voice at the table. The fishermen want to get back in. Brexit will bring us nothing but huge numbers of jobs for negotiators, admin staff and people to train them up, if there's enough Brits still living who know how to do it. We're not allowed to recruit foreigners anymore.

P.S. As mjw points out below, nobody will want to waste time negotiating with us until our relationship with the EU is established. So how many trained and experienced trade negotiators would we need to conduct multiple and complex negotiations with former trade partners around the world, simultaneously? And how long would companies stuck in limbo wait before pulling out? Much easier just to slip quietly back in with a murmured apology for farting at the dinner table.

Edited by welshbairn

9 hours ago, JamieThomas said:

The problem with carpet bombing diarrhoea is that anything salient also gets smothered in shite.

Perhaps my post was too long for your attention span . I'll keep it more concise in future, maybe use textspeak to shorten it further.....Probably the truth is that you could see exactly where I was scoring good points and simply had no answer for that........that's the usual reason for silly posts like yours.

Australia has ruled out negotiating free-trade deals with Theresa May's government until Britain has formally completed its departure from the European Union.

Steven Ciobo, Australia's trade minister, said on Tuesday that he had received advice telling him entering formal talks with Britain before Brexit is complete would be illegal, The Times reports.

Australia, aye?

18 hours ago, Redstarstranraer said:

I've already indicated to you that the idea Scotland is 'politically immature' is meaningless drivel .

Not Scotland....The SNP, as proven with their emphasise on indyref2, undermining Brexit , the pathetic plea to the EU by that Scottish MEP  , the way it takes every criticism as a personal attack and  it's constant anti-English sniping.

The constant bleating that you're only offering observations not giving opinions isn't fooling anyone in any case. 

Well that claim of mine  wouldn't make any sense to the politically immature

You're criticising it right now and I doubt that a door in Hawick is about to be broken down by the SNP Thought Police in the wee small hours of this morning. 

But would anyone be surprised if it did happen? Nationalist movements have previous for that sort of behaviour.

Actually 'an arrogant, right of centre, stagnant, divisive, 'delusionist' Govt.' would actually be a not bad representation of Theresa May's administration although to be fair to them I'm pretty sure much like the Scottish government they can be criticised.

I'm more than happy to criticise any Gov't but at the moment it's the SNP led Holyrood Gov't that is letting me down the most.

Democratic Dictatorship :lol:

Obviously a satirical statement that went right over your head...

8 minutes ago, mjw said:

Australia has ruled out negotiating free-trade deals with Theresa May's government until Britain has formally completed its departure from the European Union.

Steven Ciobo, Australia's trade minister, said on Tuesday that he had received advice telling him entering formal talks with Britain before Brexit is complete would be illegal, The Times reports.

Australia, aye?

Old news, You must have missed that before.......No problem for the UK. Can't go doing illegal now, can we ?

It wasn't old news when the brexit expert mentioned Australia in his post further up.
You'll have missed that though.

33 minutes ago, mjw said:

Australia, aye?

Tell us something new. We had similar statements from the Norwegians.

Under EU law, Britain is not allowed to sign free trade with any country until it leaves the EU. It will not be able to negotiate free trade deals if it remains within the Single Market.

To put it simply for the Remoaners, members of the EU/EEA cannot sign free trade deals with anyone. They have given control over trade and tariffs to the Eurocrats in Brussels.

Edited by Bishop Briggs

36 minutes ago, welshbairn said:

The CETA treaty negotiations have been going on since 2004. How much effort, human and financial commitment do you think countries and blocs will be willing to put in just to speed up negotiations with the UK on its own? Switzerland has taken 40 years just to get their deal with the EU. Norway's deal was quick because they signed up to the single market in full, with freedom of movement but without agriculture and fisheries, and no voice at the table. The fishermen want to get back in. Brexit will bring us nothing but huge numbers of jobs for negotiators, admin staff and people to train them up, if there's enough Brits still living who know how to do it. We're not allowed to recruit foreigners anymore.

P.S. As mjw points out below, nobody will want to waste time negotiating with us until our relationship with the EU is established. So how many trained and experienced trade negotiators would we need to conduct multiple and complex negotiations with former trade partners around the world, simultaneously? And how long would companies stuck in limbo wait before pulling out? Much easier just to slip quietly back in with a murmured apology for farting at the dinner table.

Britain is totally compliant with EU law and has the benefit of its existing trading arrangements with the EU. They can be replicated in a simple trade agreement, i.e. no tariffs and service passports, that maintains the status quo.

2 minutes ago, mjw said:

BUT WE VOTED OUT,GET ON WITH IT!

emoji767.png An angry Brexiteer on QT.

Totally irrelevant. It's better to spend more time on preparing for the negotiations. The two year negotiation period, post article 50, is a maximum. Negotiations, provided the two sides are sensible, could be completed more quickly. Britain is totally compliant with EU law. All that is needed is a free trade agreement with no tariffs and service passports. Under WTO rules, the EU would pay more in tariffs to the UK than vice versa.