Beith Bumpkins v Greenock Galacticos - Scottish Cup, 26th November 2016

vikingTON

Can I just say that this "not winning things" is one of the most outrageously misleading of all points made in this area.

Top junior clubs may win things all the time - indeed the "big fish in a small pond" argument favoured by some relies on it - but the general experience of "winning things" in Junior football is little different to senior football, or the SPFL elements of it.

There are 60-odd clubs in the East and West juniors respectively... There are 4 and 5 league titles to be won respectively and 3 and 4 cups (plus a league winners supercup in west).

Most clubs in the Juniors have as little prospect of winning the Junior Cup or even their regional cup, as the clubs outwith the Premiership have of winning the Scottish Cup or League Cup. Indeed lets look at the list of winners of the Junior Cup and respective Superleagues in the last decade - there is comparable dominance here as down the SPFL levels or within cups:

Junior Cup
2006-07 ... Linlithgow Rose
2007-08 ... Bathgate Thistle
2008-09 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2009-10 ... Linlithgow Rose
2010-11 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2011-12 ... Shotts Bon Accord
2012-13 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2013-14 ... Hurlford Utd
2014-15 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2015-16 ... Beith
Total - 7 clubs
Last half-decade - 4 clubs
Best 2 clubs - 6 titles from 10

West Superleague
2006-07 ... Pollok
2007-08 ... Pollok
2008-09 ... Irvine Meadow
2009-10 ... Beith
2010-11 ... Irvine Meadow
2011-12 ... Irvine Meadow
2012-13 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2013-14 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2014-15 ... Auchinleck Talbot
2015-16 ... Auchinleck Talbot
Total - 4 clubs
Last half-decade - 2 clubs
Best 2 clubs - 7 titles from 10

East Superleague
2006-07 ... Linlithgow Rose
2007-08 ... Lochee Utd
2008-09 ... Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic
2009-10 ... Bo'ness Utd
2010-11 ... Bo'ness Utd
2011-12 ... Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic
2012-13 ... Linlithgow Rose
2013-14 ... Bo'ness Utd
2014-15 ... Kelty Hearts
2015-16 ... Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic
Total - 5 clubs
Last half-decade - 4 clubs
Best 2 clubs - 6 titles from 10

North Superleague
2006-07 ... Culter
2007-08 ... Banks o'Dee
2008-09 ... Banks o'Dee
2009-10 ... Sunnybank
2010-11 ... Culter
2011-12 ... Hermes
2012-13 ... Culter
2013-14 ... Culter
2014-15 ... Hermes
2015-16 ... Banks o'Dee
Total - 4 clubs
Last half-decade - 3 clubs
Best 2 clubs - 7 titles from 10

OVERALL (across 3 regions + cup)
Total - 16 clubs
(without cup: 13 clubs)
Last half-decade - 12 clubs (without cup: 9 clubs)
Best 6 clubs - 25 titles from 40 (without cup: 20 titles from 30)

Are you using the same thinking about Hibs mate? Now you have had you hoodoo exorcised [emoji106][emoji8]

• Replies 765
6 minutes ago, Talbot Bing said:

Are you using the same thinking about Hibs mate? Now you have had you hoodoo exorcised emoji106.pngemoji8.png

What the figures show is that, across a system operating 3 separate regions and 1 shared cup, two-third of titles have been dominated by 6 clubs... In SPFL the league has of course been dominated by 2 clubs but 11 different clubs have won SC or LC.

What chance does a Junior district club have of winning a cup and how different is it to an SPFL1 / SPFL2 club?

There is money in licensing, that is correct: open to all clubs, including the 2 Juniors which have got licensed incidentally. SFA don't pay surplus dividends any more, and there hasn't been a winter payment of any substance this decade.

It is not a substantial sum in comparison to gate income, SPFL prizemoney, etc.

There is money in licensing, that is correct: open to all clubs, including the 2 Juniors which have got licensed incidentally. SFA don't pay surplus dividends any more, and there hasn't been a winter payment of any substance this decade.

It is not a substantial sum in comparison to gate income, SPFL prizemoney, etc.

Yes we know that but its still a fair amount which helps sustain. Aswell as membership of their league.

Which will probably get less if and it's a strong possibility Stirling Albion finish bottom and loss a Playoff.

Would LL be good for the binos? I think it could be a scenario of pride before the fall.

What do I know though ????

You're talking as if the SFA are writing clubs cheques for high 10s or 100s of thousands of £. They're not. If it creeps into 5 figures it's not by much and it's a small component of even Berwick's turnover.

EDIT: To be precise - in 2015 the payments totalled about £500,000 split across about 80 licensed clubs, and higher bands of licensing get more... Even if you include other payments for fair play and so on totalling £305,000 then divide by 80 - disregarding the different bands - it works out at only a sliver over £10k each:

http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11095/10115567/the-scottish-fa-distributed-10m-to-clubs-throughout-2015

You're talking as if the SFA are writing clubs cheques for high 10s or 100s of thousands of £. They're not. If it creeps into 5 figures it's not by much and it's a small component of even Berwick's turnover.

I agree my friend but what am getting at it's still a few bucks more than any juniors team is getting.

This will get less if they are relegated then that big gap they think they have between themselves and us might not be so big.

It's perception of how people see their own team from Barcelona to their own team.

f**k sake it's got that desperate for these fucking mouth breathers that they're gloating about a senior teams record defeat to.... Another senior team. But hey well done on only losing 2-1 in your biggest game of the season couple years back.

Silly boy before engaging your minnow idiot brain and text finger read previous comments from your fellow desperados. Jeez!!

Utter utter dumbo clown [emoji24]

54 minutes ago, Talbot Bing said:

Itzdrk emoji38.pngemoji38.png

C'mon your obviously no doing any homework before you remark. Cmon man had more respect for youemoji45.png

None needed.  Where does the money come from?

If you really don't know where the money comes from then you have lost the last bit of respect I had for you. Please do your homework before remarking. Ffs why argue a point if you're clueless [emoji36] jeezo!!!

Junior fans used to bang on about how they're just as good as clubs in bottom two tiers of SPFL... that turned out to be rot, so...

Then they move onto claiming their fanbase is bigger; of course the huge variances in their attendances and peanuts entry fee means that too turned out to be pish. 

So now they're left with "aye but yoose all survive on handoots!!"... which of course is pish as well. 

Just remember folks:

BSC GLASGOW 2 AUCHINLECK TALBOT 0

:lol::lol: 

Junior fans used to bang on about how they're just as good as clubs in bottom two tiers of SPFL... that turned out to be rot, so...

Then they move onto claiming their fanbase is bigger; of course the huge variances in their attendances and peanuts entry fee means that too turned out to be pish. 

So now they're left with "aye but yoose all survive on handoots!!"... which of course is pish as well. 

Just remember folks:

BSC GLASGOW 2 AUCHINLECK TALBOT 0

:lol::lol: 

I asked the questions about yer finances which no one has answered strangely enough ????

But don't worry my old son You'll be playing the like of BSC next season in the LL [emoji8]

PS. We beat BSC my friend.

Not only are Binos fans biting they also don't have a clue what they are talking about ho ho[emoji16]