Just now, Hoose Rice said:

Agree.  Ross team bored but they done better and it doesn't get more boring than it does today with the launch the ball up top and hope for the best. 

We don't, no but that doesn't mean we won't moving forward mate.  Do get what you are saying though. 

I'm torn on Lennon. He's available now and I bet we'd get him if we wanted him. He's box office but he's toxic. 

We need (and always need) a manager who played or coached at a higher level than Hibs. Getting them in is another matter.

Just now, Tommy Tappin said:

I'm torn on Lennon. He's available now and I bet we'd get him if we wanted him. He's box office but he's toxic. 

We need (and always need) a manager who played or coached at a higher level than Hibs. Getting them in is another matter.

Totally agree on Lennon and the next manager.   Lennon and Stubbs even Mowbray and JGP good examples of that they have the type of mentality we need.  A Lennon mentality but not so much of a bammer would be ideal especially if they have some tactical awareness too.  JDT could have been that guy but we will never know but it does show there's interest out there. 

4 minutes ago, Hoose Rice said:

Totally agree on Lennon and the next manager.   Lennon and Stubbs even Mowbray and JGP good examples of that they have the type of mentality we need.  A Lennon mentality but not so much of a bammer would be ideal especially if they have some tactical awareness too.  JDT could have been that guy but we will never know but it does show there's interest out there. 

Yep, JDT was the only exciting link from last time for me. I wasn't sold on the Roy Keane chat. 

I don't care if Johnson is wee or English or a slaver, I care about his win record first and his quality of football 2nd. Andorra and today are making me question both. I fully accept it's early days.

Kensall said that we'd budgeted for ALL loanees to come back this season AND we'd see late activity in the window this summer. Given we've brought 3/5 back and replaced Myko with Vente, I wonder if we'll see CJ Egan Riley make a re-appearance once he's recovered?

Edited by Tommy Tappin

Just now, Tommy Tappin said:

Yep, JDT was the only exciting link from last time for me. I wasn't sold on the Roy Keane chat. 

I don't care if Johnson is wee or English or a slaver, I care about his win record first and his quality of football 2nd. Andorra and today are making me question both. I fully accept it's early days.

Kensall said that we'd budgeted for ALL loanees to come back this season AND we'd say late activity in the window this summer. Given we've brought 3/5 back and replaced Myko with Vente, I wonder if we'll see CJ Egan Riley make a re-appearance once he's recovered?

Today and Andorra on the back of last season makes the two results completely unsurprising tbh.  Imagine we lost in Andorra under Lenny? :lol: 

Is CJ not completely goosed?  Fancy a good few on loan towards the end of the window too but it's anyone's guess how good they will be or where they will play etc.  We need full backs though big time and an actual footballing midfielder.    Boyle returning from injury being asked to play RWB is a complete joke like when Millers on the bench.  Johnson thinks hes smart as f**k but it just shows him for what he is.  Not sure the medical team or the player himself will be happy at that either.  

1 minute ago, Hoose Rice said:

Today and Andorra on the back of last season makes the two results completely unsurprising tbh.  Imagine we lost in Andorra under Lenny? :lol: 

Is CJ not completely goosed?  Fancy a good few on loan towards the end of the window too but it's anyone's guess how good they will be or where they will play etc.  We need full backs though big time and an actual footballing midfielder.    Boyle returning from injury being asked to play RWB is a complete joke like when Millers on the bench.  Johnson thinks hes smart as f**k but it just shows him for what he is.  Not sure the medical team or the player himself will be happy at that either.  

I remember Boyle saying that as a player, you were in no hurry to get to the dressing room if you'd lost under Lenny.

According to this, CJ is well on his way back: https://www.burnleyfootballclub.com/content/egan-riley-determined-to-come-back-stronger

This morning I had scribbled down: Boruc, Miller, Fish, Hanlon, Obita, Jeggo, Newell, Levitt, Boyle, Doidge, Youan. So yeah, the line up was a surprise and Boyle to wing back was done out of fear for how easily/quickly we were losing possession in the midfield.

Happy days!

For me I reckon the fullbacks are alright if we go with Obita and Miller, not sure why they're not playing. Would think that Megwa, Macintyre, Stevenson and Cadden could provide enough cover by Egan Riley would be a good shout as he could also do a job in the middle.

Speaking of which I reckon the big shitting point is defensive midfield, I reckon we're alright elsewhere in the middle but I don't fancy relying purely on Jimmy Jeggo for a season. That said I'd prefer he played than we try going without a destroyer again, it doesn't work.

So aye, if CJ is capable of playing then that'd be a decent idea. 

Slightly concerned that Levitt has a case of the Stevie Mallan's about him. Talented player but hard to really nail down a spot for him. If he's an attacking midfielder fair enough, but if he was brought in to be deep lying then he'll need help. Always a shite situation when playing one player means you automatically have to play another. Would rather have just brought in big fucking Terry Taylor who seemingly can bulldoze and spray, but that dream is over sadly. 

Edited by Chefki Kuqi

2 minutes ago, Chefki Kuqi said:

For me I reckon the fullbacks are alright if we go with Obita and Miller, not sure why they're not playing. Would think that Megwa, Macintyre, Stevenson and Cadden could provide enough cover by Egan Riley would be a good shout as he could also do a job in the middle.

Speaking of which I reckon the big shitting point is defensive midfield, I reckon we're alright elsewhere in the middle but I don't fancy relying purely on Jimmy Jeggo for a season. That said I'd prefer he played than we try going without a destroyer again, it doesn't work.

Slightly concerned that Levitt has a case of the Stevie Mallan's about him. Talented player but hard to really nail down a spot for him. If he's an attacking midfielder fair enough, but if he was brought in to be deep lying then he'll need help. Always a shite situation when playing one player means you automatically have to play another. Would rather have just brought in big fucking Terry Taylor who seemingly can bulldoze and spray, but that dream is over sadly. 

If Levitt is a deep lying playmaker, Doidge is a left back. For me he's the closest thing to Scott Allan. 

Jeggo is limited but I'd rather have him than JDH. That guy is a proper water carrier and nothing else. 

In having this chat tonight, the same thing keeps occurring to me. We don't have enough quality, simple as that. Tons of alright players but nobody in midfield to be scared of. 

5 hours ago, Crùbag said:

Wee Lee's interview rubbing the salt in, eh?

I'd be raging to have a slaver like that laughing at making the choices that led to going 2-0 down.

“We need to be able to cope with playing Thursday and Sunday for the next few weeks. It was a waste of opportunity today not only for a point but at the start of the game for three points.

“We need to go again, we have to turn around and learn our lessons – it’s as simple as that.

Just f**k off Lee. 

8 hours ago, Tommy Tappin said:

If Levitt is a deep lying playmaker, Doidge is a left back. For me he's the closest thing to Scott Allan. 

Levitt is absolutely not a deep lying playmaker. Playing him there is a waste of a shirt. He needs to be much further forward than that.

9 hours ago, Chefki Kuqi said:

8 hours ago, Tommy Tappin said:

Jeggo is limited but I'd rather have him than JDH. That guy is a proper water carrier and nothing else. 

DM, or something like it, is absolutely the biggest issue outstanding. Was listening to the Terrace this morning and they were talking about us needing an out and out DM, but we already have that in Jeggo (who should be playing in the meantime for me).

What we need is an 8 whose primary qualities are combative to play in the double pivot with Newall - someone like Beni or Devlin at Hearts, or indeed either of O'Hara and Bacchus. That first choice pairing has to be the priority in building a midfield as it offers consistency and solidity. You then select Levitt, Campbell or Jeggo around them depending on whether you want a playmaker, a dynamic 10 or out and out holding midfielder, depending on how you set up or changes you want to make in the match. Doyle-Hayes is the (not very good) alternative for those pivot positions in the case of rotation or injury.

If we go out and sign Jeggo or Bartley mark 2 we're doubling up too much imo. I actually think we're he to come back that's a role CJ could perform very well, but I'd rather someone a bit more experienced and specialised in that position. ETA @Chefki Kuqi your Terry Taylor fella looked perfect for that sadly. 

Other than that wide forward cover and, now, a right back (again, potentially CJ) seem absolute necessities 

Edited by GHF-23

10 minutes ago, MenstrieSaint said:

Reckon Hibs will be keeping an eye on Scott Brown or Gary Cadwell for the new managers job .

Surprised that this has been the first mention of Brown - doing a decent job at Fleetwood, it seems like.

Quick look at Hibs.net is absolutely jarring reading.

Folk clamouring for Lennon and McInnes, jeezo.

Neil Lennon had an exceptional 6-8 month period from January 2018-August 2018.

Is everyone forgetting us limping to the championship title despite no competition with what felt like us drawing every week, an average at best start to the following season, improvement after January recruits (Allan, MacLaren, Kamberi etc) then an utterly dismal campaign where we were sitting 8th when he was punted.

And as for McInnes, if you thought Jack Ross’ football was boring and 2/3 of his seasons being absolute failure then I hope you enjoyed that because McInnes would be the same. I have mates that support Aberdeen that completely stopped going due to being bored to tears under him.

Hearts & Aberdeens job vacancies came up and they were linked with exciting names like Chris Wilder, Marti Cifuentes & others who don’t have the history of failure in this country and our fans want those two clowns in, we truly get what we deserve.