Work colleagues

Had a couple at my school recently, wedding gift for one teacher, baby shower gift for another. Not normally my things to contribute to, but the school and both teachers involved have been hugely supportive so I contributed this time.

1 hour ago, FK1Bairn said:

Depends on the person, how long they've been there and the job they do. 

In my current place I regularly avoid these. I was really angry one day a few months back to get an email looking for money for a collection to buy a leaving present for the head of the department. She's nice enough judging by how she spoke any time I've seen her in a Teams meeting though i have personally never met her or spoke on the phone with her but what can you buy somebody on £100k+ that they can't buy themselves?

I went off sick two weeks later 

I’ve had this too at the end of last year. One of the department directors in his early 50s on 80 large a year was retiring and a PayPal account set up to contribute money towards a leaving gift. Get fucked, the cunt drives a 22 plate Merc. He can buy whatever he wants himself. 

Edit - He was one of these people who’s always trying to change processes/how the team works, when the way we did stuff was perfectly fine the way it was. 80 large a year to piss everyone off. Enjoy the golf course with your PayPal bought gift from my mug colleagues m8. 

Edited by TheScarf

1 hour ago, Raidernation said:

Had a couple at my school recently, wedding gift for one teacher, baby shower gift for another. Not normally my things to contribute to, but the school and both teachers involved have been hugely supportive so I contributed this time.

You're going to have some explaining to do if you don't contribute to the next one...

1 hour ago, TheScarf said:

I’ve had this too at the end of last year. One of the department directors in his early 50s on 80 large a year was retiring and a PayPal account set up to contribute money towards a leaving gift. Get fucked, the c**t drives a 22 plate Merc. He can buy whatever he wants himself. 

Edit - He was one of these people who’s always trying to change processes/how the team works, when the way we did stuff was perfectly fine the way it was. 80 large a year to piss everyone off. Enjoy the golf course with your PayPal bought gift from my mug colleagues m8. 

They bought him a tee?

On 30/06/2023 at 14:55, thistledo said:

Leaving gifts / events are weird, I'm never arsed about that sort of stuff, I'd usually just like to walk out the door and that's it. I once worked for a big distillery, where I got on with people, but I'm fully aware I was a c**t to people at times when they were pushing their luck, but when it came to leaving they handed me two bags of alcohol, a hefty Amazon voucher and they all stood there waiting on me to say a few words! I was stunned, it was weird as f**k and in the moment I made a bit of a cheeky comment that was clearly meant as a joke, but no one laughed and just looked awkward, some people even shuffled away at that point. I think I was escorted out the door after that. 

Best leaving present was handing in my notice at a job that didn't resemble what was discussed.  Lasted 6 weeks, on the day I handed my notice in I was marched off the premises and given a months pay in lieu of notice, started another job the next day.

16 minutes ago, UsedToGoToCentralPark said:

Best leaving present was handing in my notice at a job that didn't resemble what was discussed.  Lasted 6 weeks, on the day I handed my notice in I was marched off the premises and given a months pay in lieu of notice, started another job the next day.

You got your jotters at Aberdeen Jim

Edited by Cosmic Joe

On 01/07/2023 at 18:26, parsforlife said:

for leaving cards is it acceptable to write cheerio cunto?   Seems like the best response a lot of the time

To demonstrate how little thought I am giving it I'll usually write something applicable to a different type of card. 'Happy Birthday!', 'Get Well Soon' or 'Congratulations on your marriage'.

My old work was good for these things. It was rare that folk left so mostly there was a gift. I benefitted from a significant volume of good quality whisky, and cards were expected to be filled with no holds barred abuse. 

2 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

My manager is an idiot, a coward and I remain convinced he's a plant from a competitor trying to get us shut down.

Never attribute to malice that which can be easily explained by stupidity.

9 hours ago, Miguel Sanchez said:

My manager is an idiot, a coward and I remain convinced he's a plant from a competitor trying to get us shut down.

^^^ was caught reading P&B on a work computer and received a formal warning. 

Few things worse than a piss poor manager. I've never had one (as yet) but I sympathise with people like you who have. 

On 26/05/2023 at 12:14, TheScarf said:

I feel like I might need to grass my direct colleague in to my boss very soon.

I've worked with him for 2 and a half years and he's a fat, lazy c**t.  He's rude to other members of staff intentionally so that they avoid him and come to me for help, meaning I have more work to do while he can sit at home doing f**k all, fingering his arse.

He's worked here longer than me but we're on the same paygrade (which he's at the top of so gets 2 grand a year more than me) but it's public sector so he knows the chances of him getting sacked for his performance is virtually zero.

He also strolls in (when we're both in the office) whenever he wants and always leaves early.  Just a total gimp of a man.

Edit - I should add, our boss is physically 200 miles away so has no sight of this.

Said colleague of mine, the day after i typed this, was off for 5 weeks with Covid.

He messaged me yesterday incandescent that his absence, along with his 3 week absence in February with gout 🤢, has triggered a meeting with HR about his attendance.

'I'm getting punished for being ill' was his exact words to me.

Well no m8, these attendance/sickness quotas are there for a reason. If they didn't exist, folk like you would take 2/3 weeks off 'sick' all the time and you'd never be in work.  You're paid to come in to work and do your job.  Companies can't employ people who are too sick to work, you utter fud.

1 minute ago, TheScarf said:

Said colleague of mine, the day after i typed this, was off for 5 weeks with Covid.

He messaged me yesterday incandescent that his absence, along with his 3 week absence in February with gout 🤢, has triggered a meeting with HR about his attendance.

'I'm getting punished for being ill' was his exact words to me.

Well no m8, these attendance/sickness quotas are there for a reason. If they didn't exist, folk like you would take 2/3 weeks off 'sick' all the time and you'd never be in work.  You're paid to come in to work and do your job.  Companies can't employ people who are too sick to work, you utter fud.

It'll be an occupational health meeting. I'd hardly say it is a punishment - I had one similar when I came back to work in 2009, after being off for 14 weeks with a virus that attacked my chest.

Just now, scottsdad said:

It'll be an occupational health meeting. I'd hardly say it is a punishment - I had one similar when I came back to work in 2009, after being off for 14 weeks with a virus that attacked my chest.

Aye it's a 'Health and Wellbeing' meeting they call it. But companies need a trigger point, which is what he's upset about.

20 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

Aye it's a 'Health and Wellbeing' meeting they call it. But companies need a trigger point, which is what he's upset about.

He's upset because he's at it and he thinks they are onto him. If it's a decent company it'll be exactly what you say and just them checking that he's ok and whether he needs any further support etc.