The Official Airdrieonians Thread - 2019/20 and beyond

7 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Ahem. *cough* 🙄

😉

apologies! If I could have picked anyone to pull anyone else up on a QOS related point......you'd have ben my first guess!

It just further reaffirms the point (from an Airdrie POV), we're just  good enough to beat 2/3 of the playable teams in our league, I dont get where the uber confidence we'd comfortably dispatch any one of 5 potential opponents, over multiple legs, with a playoff monkey on our back the size of king kong.

This isn't in any way "negative vibes" towards this team for the playoffs, its an absolute f*cking fear OF the playoffs. I hope we win them as much as the next Airdrie fan, but I just can't share any kind of confidence we will.

6 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

apologies! If I could have picked anyone to pull anyone else up on a QOS related point......you'd have ben my first guess!

It just further reaffirms the point (from an Airdrie POV), we're just  good enough to beat 2/3 of the playable teams in our league, I dont get where the uber confidence we'd comfortably dispatch any one of 5 potential opponents, over multiple legs, with a playoff monkey on our back the size of king kong.

This isn't in any way "negative vibes" towards this team for the playoffs, its an absolute f*cking fear OF the playoffs. I hope we win them as much as the next Airdrie fan, but I just can't share any kind of confidence we will.

I'm certainly not seeing anyone displaying any uber confidence in any of their posts here, though? 

If anyone has said we will definitely dispatch any potential opponent with considerable comfort, I must have missed those posts. 

1 minute ago, AndyDD said:

I'm certainly not seeing anyone displaying any uber confidence in any of their posts here, though? 

If anyone has said we will definitely dispatch any potential opponent with considerable comfort, I must have missed those posts. 

Mate, I don't have facebook, but my old man showed me some of the comments on it, akin to "we just need to turn up".  Twitter also has some absolute pie in the sky comments, every week the same folk giving us the "Aye can defo see Airdrie winning this week", Infact, I'm sure I even replied back to one commenting on the formality of beating QOS on Saturday there, reminding them we haven't beat them at all this season. (see, i did actually know @Skyline Drifter)

So while you may or may not have seen them, I have.

3 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Mate, I don't have facebook, but my old man showed me some of the comments on it, akin to "we just need to turn up".  Twitter also has some absolute pie in the sky comments, every week the same folk giving us the "Aye can defo see Airdrie winning this week", Infact, I'm sure I even replied back to one commenting on the formality of beating QOS on Saturday there, reminding them we haven't beat them at all this season. (see, i did actually know @Skyline Drifter)

So while you may or may not have seen them, I have.

Aye, that sounds like facebook. Can get a bit silly. Twitter too. Certainly haven't seen any of that kind of patter on here, though. 

Ultimately, suppose us supporters can be as cocksure or doom-mongering as we like; it won't matter. The mindset of the players and staff will be what matters. I don't think they'll walk into these games thinking they'll be a gimmie. I also don't think they'll walk into them thinking 'well Airdrie have a shite playoff record dating back to 1997 so we're definitely on to plums again here'. 

10 minutes ago, AndyDD said:

Aye, that sounds like facebook. Can get a bit silly. Twitter too. Certainly haven't seen any of that kind of patter on here, though. 

Ultimately, suppose us supporters can be as cocksure or doom-mongering as we like; it won't matter. The mindset of the players and staff will be what matters. I don't think they'll walk into these games thinking they'll be a gimmie. I also don't think they'll walk into them thinking 'well Airdrie have a shite playoff record dating back to 1997 so we're definitely on to plums again here'. 

Exactly why I do most of my fitba chat on here!!!

You're last bits absolutely right, if Gal was shitting himself because Stevie Cooper ballooned a penalty at Broadwood in 1997 I'd be furious 🤣.  Its literally only fans feelings/perception at the moment, the next person is just as entitled to feel cocksure as i am shitting it!

22 minutes ago, AndyDD said:

There's some absolute roasters of Airdrie fans on twitter right now appeared from nowhere too. Can remember one lad stated Rhys McCabe was the best manager we've ever had after the 1-1 draw with Dunfermline in August, one week later lose 6-0 to Edinburgh, safe to say that tweet was deleted.

1 minute ago, AJ77 said:

There's some absolute roasters of Airdrie fans on twitter right now appeared from nowhere too. Can remember one lad stated Rhys McCabe was the best manager we've ever had after the 1-1 draw with Dunfermline in August, one week later lose 6-0 to Edinburgh, safe to say that tweet was deleted.

Haha, we can all be prone to being incredibly fickle as football supporters, it's part and parcel to be fair. See it at all levels and I've been guilty of it myself. We all have.

Sometimes online it's tongue in cheek and self-aware. Other times... Not so much. 

16 minutes ago, ++Ammo - Airdrie++ said:

Exactly why I do most of my fitba chat on here!!!

You're last bits absolutely right, if Gal was shitting himself because Stevie Cooper ballooned a penalty at Broadwood in 1997 I'd be furious 🤣.  Its literally only fans feelings/perception at the moment, the next person is just as entitled to feel cocksure as i am shitting it!

Hahaha aye definitely, and likewise, if they thought 'well we produced an insane comeback in the semi last time so we can give away any lead we like and be fine' or 'we dicked Alloa about twice at home so we will definitely skoosh them no bother if we play them' I'd be ragin anawl!

You want them believing in their ability and their game-plan, you want them confident, but you don't want them complacent.

And aye, so long as they have their minds right, we can sit in the stand feeling the entire smorgasbord of emotions as we go through the existential terror that is Airdrie in the playoffs. 

46 minutes ago, AJ77 said:

I think a lot of the prominent fans on twitter are quite young, which maybe explains them being a bit more excitable. I find the facebook page to be a real mix of misery and high expectations/overconfidence. On the whole I think our fans on here, in this thread anyway, are a pretty reasonable bunch who are realistic about where the club are. I reckon it’s the same for most clubs having seen comments on social media in other club threads.

3 minutes ago, Mr November said:

I think a lot of the prominent fans on twitter are quite young, which maybe explains them being a bit more excitable. I find the facebook page to be a real mix of misery and high expectations/overconfidence. On the whole I think our fans on here, in this thread anyway, are a pretty reasonable bunch who are realistic about where the club are. I reckon it’s the same for most clubs having seen comments on social media in other club threads.

I came out of that facebook group years ago, such a hard listen.

Completely agree very reasonable posters on our thread! 

1 hour ago, AJ77 said:

as @Mr November said, I reckon these are "wee guys", I've also noticed a few more of the same ilk representing Us, Dunfermline and Falkirk.  You can tell by the patter and the pfp they are exactly that, wee guys.  We'll see how they're feeling about airdrie in playoffs, in 25 years time. 😂

Most of the Twitter 'banter' or back and forth is very cringe, as is some of the opinions or praise about McCabe and the players. But they're only young boys showing a bit of passion towards their team so fair play to them. It was only 10 years ago I was the same age and praising the likes of Scott Morton and Graeme Owens on social media (as Facebook memories is loathe to remind me!) so I suppose we all do the same thing at that age. The U18s getting an ultras group going along to watch them is class btw. 

I'm not optimistic at all about the upcoming play-offs but neither I am overly pessimistic. I've played every scenario for every potential game in my head and they all seem as likely the other. Could we romp through against Falkirk/Team 9th in the semi-final and do the same v Falkirk/Team 9/Alloa in the final? Absolutely. Could we get humped in the first leg v Falkirk or Cove/Arbroath/Accies and effectively be out of the running by this time next week? It wouldn't surprise me. All I know is, if we win an epic semi-final with a haddy striker scoring the winner or coming to the fore, I'm not even going to bother going to the final. 

Edited by airdrieman

13 hours ago, Mr November said:

Last year’s final was awful for that. We had a big crowd in but the stadium was silent, the full thing had a lot of nervous energy. As soon as Queen’s Park equalised it felt like it could be a struggle and by the time Murray had taken off all our good forwards it felt inevitable we weren’t going to win, you were just waiting on the second goal coming.

I felt pretty good about the play-offs a few weeks ago but the closer we get, the more I’m starting to feel the same way as you. I think it’s hard not to when since the last league win it’s been almost 20 years of disappointments. What I would say is I don’t care at all where we finish in the league as I’m equally as concerned about playing Falkirk as I am Cove or Hamilton. If this team turn up they’re more than good enough to do it, it’s just whether they’re able to do that for long enough over four games.

Completely agree. I remember the main stand being jam packed with 3000 fans, but have never seen a stand empty so quickly at the end of a game. As I walked outside into the car park and along Craigneuk Avenue the anger, disappointment and frustration was unusually evidenced by an unnatural, almost stunned and eerie hushed silence - no shouts, rants or even heated debates...it was almost surreal. I have never seen that before and I was sick to the stomach.   

We never really turned up on the Thursday night at Firhill yet there was very much a mindset of "we'll finish the job off at home on Sunday" - not boasting but confident we would be alright in the return leg. After our goal we looked on our way but their equaliser and winner, coupled with Murray's bizarre tactics (a good enough manager for us but ultimately failed to get us promoted) finished us. 

Based on our record I am not confident at all going into the play offs but agree with others on here the players are capable of doing it and we've as good a chance as anyone else in the mix.  

38 minutes ago, airdrieman said:

Most of the Twitter 'banter' or back and forth is very cringe, as is some of the opinions or praise about McCabe and the players. But they're only young boys showing a bit of passion towards their team so fair play to them. It was only 10 years ago I was the same age and praising the likes of Scott Morton and Graeme Owens on social media (as Facebook memories is loathe to remind me!) so I suppose we all do the same thing at that age. The U18s getting an ultras group going along to watch them is class btw. 

I'm not optimistic at all about the upcoming play-offs but neither I am overly pessimistic. I've played every scenario for every potential game in my head and they all seem as likely the other. Could we romp through against Falkirk/Team 9th in the semi-final and do the same v Falkirk/Team 9/Alloa in the final? Absolutely. Could we get humped in the first leg v Falkirk or Cove/Arbroath/Accies and effectively be out of the running by this time next week? It wouldn't surprise me. All I know is, if we win an epic semi-final with a haddy striker scoring the winner or coming to the fore, I'm not even going to bother going to the final. 

Yes, not decrying the guys as there seems to be an upturn in the young support which is a definite plus and a sign of good parenting!

It's nice to have a genuine discussion with like minded Airdrie fans and also discussions with fans of other teams as well. I've found the majority of Airdrie posters on here pretty reasonable in comparision to the Facebook group. I don't have twitter but I can imagine some views on there will be pretty wild too.

On the Facebook Group about the game on Saturday one guy sounded as if he needed therapy after the defeat to QOS on and was raging that we rested players then yesterday another guy put up a photo saying 'don't you know pump it up Airdrie's going up' there's no in between. It's either delusion or a graveyard of misery.

12 minutes ago, David Fernández said:

It's nice to have a genuine discussion with like minded Airdrie fans and also discussions with fans of other teams as well. I've found the majority of Airdrie posters on here pretty reasonable in comparision to the Facebook group. I don't have twitter but I can imagine some views on there will be pretty wild too.

On the Facebook Group about the game on Saturday one guy sounded as if he needed therapy after the defeat to QOS on and was raging that we rested players then yesterday another guy put up a photo saying 'don't you know pump it up Airdrie's going up' there's no in between. It's either delusion or a graveyard of misery.

Is that the guy that does the constant memes? A main factor on which why I couldn't hack that group anymore lol