Billy Gilmour

Kuro

Just now, Grant228 said:

Why not? He was gash, he must have an incredible agent.

I've never seen him play, but its not possible he was 'gash'.  I don't think he'll make it at Liverpool, but he obviously must have stood out for his age, that's how he ended up there.

So I know when fans say things like dinna even ken why Liverpool signed him the boys pure shite like they're just not a good judge of a player.  

Just now, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

I've never seen him play, but its not possible he was 'gash'.  I don't think he'll make it at Liverpool, but he obviously must have stood out for his age, that's how he ended up there.

So I know when fans say things like dinna even ken why Liverpool signed him the boys pure shite like they're just not a good judge of a player.  

He was gash at first team level, he might have looked great at u18s, but there was very little to suggest he was anything special. He might go on to have a solid career somewhere, best of luck to him. 

Big teams will often stockpile youngsters on the offchance they might become a player, 200,000 is pennies for Liverpool. 

I remember Livingston knocking back interest for Mathew Knox when he burst on the scene, last seen playing for Brechin. 

If, as expected Gallacher gets released from Liverpool how does that make anyone who says he's shite a bad judge of player? Like no football team has ever signed a footballer who's not good enough? 

4 minutes ago, Grant228 said:

He was gash at first team level, he might have looked great at u18s, but there was very little to suggest he was anything special. He might go on to have a solid career somewhere, best of luck to him. 

Big teams will often stockpile youngsters on the offchance they might become a player, 200,000 is pennies for Liverpool. 

I remember Livingston knocking back interest for Mathew Knox when he burst on the scene, last seen playing for Brechin. 

If, as expected Gallacher gets released from Liverpool how does that make anyone who says he's shite a bad judge of player? Like no football team has ever signed a footballer who's not good enough? 

That's my point.  To you there wasn't.  I have you or Liverpool FC to choose from when deciding who to believe. I hope you're not offended when I come down on the side of the reigning European and World Champions.

When they sign a player at 18 they are looking at the player he might be in five years, they don't expect and 18 year from Falkirk to be pushing Andy Robertson. Inevitably a lot of players don't fulfill their potential, but he must stand out in the first place for us to be even talking about him now.  So its just not possible he was 'gash' or shite.

I don't think a lot of fans understand too in some respects it almost doesn't matter how you're playing, if you're actually playing first team football at 17/18 that's really good.

If you're saying he struggled a bit marking a 34 year old Lee Mculloch at a corner aged 17 aye no bother so would a 17 year old Roberto Carlos. 

Teams like Liverpool are looking past all that and can see things 90% of fans can't as they aren't interested in if Falkirk beat Alloa they're looking at his technical level, decision making, emotional maturity etc not if a 33 year old ex international just beat him ten minutes ago.

The stick I've heard Aaron Hickey take this year is laughable, he's the perfect example of what I'm talking about. If you're judging him simply as what sort of a LB he is right now against men he has huge deficiencies and is miles away from where he needs to be.  And if you're a Hearts fan you would be cause what do you care what sort of player he'll be at 21 you only care if you beat St Mirren on Friday. 

But if you're Man City or whatever they don't give a shit if he can handle Ryan Kent next week, they're looking at his attributes and deciding what kind of player they think he could be at 21.  And the fact that he's even playing first team football so young means he's miles ahead of the vast majority of his peers.

Gallacher is a really interesting one,  we were desperate to get him in the side as we were hearing that Barcelona etc were after him. When he was made our no1 LB he was very poor and cost us a load of goals. Teams were targeting him a couple of weeks into the season and only the ineptitude of Alex Harris stopped him from being the worst player in the team.

That said he was only 18 and Liverpool probably were only looking at his potential from the u18/reserve games as Pep says. Stephen Kingsley was poor at first for us but quickly developed into a quality LB and has made a decent career for himself with Swansea/Hull. Gallacher probably only started 15 games so it's possible he would have kicked on in the same way with experience, just didn't see anything at all that would suggest a team like Liverpool would want him. Hope it works out though as I'm sure there's a sell on clause!

1 hour ago, ilostmyself said:

Gallacher is a really interesting one,  we were desperate to get him in the side as we were hearing that Barcelona etc were after him. When he was made our no1 LB he was very poor and cost us a load of goals. Teams were targeting him a couple of weeks into the season and only the ineptitude of Alex Harris stopped him from being the worst player in the team.

That said he was only 18 and Liverpool probably were only looking at his potential from the u18/reserve games as Pep says. Stephen Kingsley was poor at first for us but quickly developed into a quality LB and has made a decent career for himself with Swansea/Hull. Gallacher probably only started 15 games so it's possible he would have kicked on in the same way with experience, just didn't see anything at all that would suggest a team like Liverpool would want him. Hope it works out though as I'm sure there's a sell on clause!

Do Falkirk have a youth academy now? 

I remember being gutted a few years ago when I read the chairman had binned their whole youth system as it had produced guys like Kingsley and Fulton.  It seemed like an incredibly short-sighted decision.

I also remember when Michael O'Neill took over at Brechin he binned the whole youth system saying a club like that shouldn't have a youth system they should be giving a second chance to players who didn't make it at the top level.

I see it completely the opposite way, to me a club like Brechin should be all about the youth system. Its very difficult to produce players good enough for Barcelona but relatively easy to churn out players good enough for Brechin. 

Over time it almost guarantees you turn a profit too, crazy decision imo but he obviously didn't plan to be there long so what does he care about investing in the long term development of the club.

4 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Do Falkirk have a youth academy now? 

I remember being gutted a few years ago when I read the chairman had binned their whole youth system as it had produced guys like Kingsley and Fulton.  It seemed like an incredibly short-sighted decision.

Nah. They decided the money would be better spent on the first team so used to sign a load of ringers and dross from down south who failed.
So they used the money they had leftover to pay off Hartley.
Then to hire Ray McKinnon.
Then to pay off the players Hartley signed.
Then to pay the players McKinnon wanted.
Then to pay the fine to the SFA for poaching McKinnon.
Then paid Morton money as compo for McKinnon.
Then more money for more players to get them out of League One.
Then had to pay off McKinnon for sacking him.
Then paying off McKinnon's signings.

Been a great laugh

4 minutes ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

I also remember when Michael O'Neill took over at Brechin he binned the whole youth system saying a club like that shouldn't have a youth system they should be giving a second chance to players who didn't make it at the top level.

I see it completely the opposite way, to me a club like Brechin should be all about the youth system. Its very difficult to produce players good enough for Barcelona but relatively easy to churn out players good enough for Brechin. 

Over time it almost guarantees you turn a profit too, crazy decision imo but he obviously didn't plan to be there long so what does he care about investing in the long term development of the club.

For starters, part time clubs like Brechin now get zero funding from the governing body, so any youth system is coming fully out of your first team budget. If you've any ambitions of winning or getting out of a lower league then your first team needs the money more. If you can put forward a realistic funding programme for part time clubs then we're all ears.

"Relatively easy to churn out players for Brechin" is also a fairly stupid take.  The best players in that area will go to Dundee or Aberdeen, and Brechin are fighting amongst all the other Angus clubs for boys signatures. If it was easy to produce League 1 and 2 players at part time clubs everyone would be doing it - the fact they aren't says it all. I'd say a majority of signings at this level are players dropping from full-time clubs.

If you could provide some evidence of part time clubs "turning a profit" due to youth player sales that would be great. 

47 minutes ago, AsimButtHitsASix said:

Nah. They decided the money would be better spent on the first team so used to sign a load of ringers and dross from down south who failed.
So they used the money they had leftover to pay off Hartley.
Then to hire Ray McKinnon.
Then to pay off the players Hartley signed.
Then to pay the players McKinnon wanted.
Then to pay the fine to the SFA for poaching McKinnon.
Then paid Morton money as compo for McKinnon.
Then more money for more players to get them out of League One.
Then had to pay off McKinnon for sacking him.
Then paying off McKinnon's signings.

Been a great laugh

That's a shame, it had been quite productive and is the most sensible way to run a club at that level.  Falkirk shouldn't be a League One club and could be producing half their first team whilst turning a tidy profit on an ongoing basis.

44 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

For starters, part time clubs like Brechin now get zero funding from the governing body, so any youth system is coming fully out of your first team budget. If you've any ambitions of winning or getting out of a lower league then your first team needs the money more. If you can put forward a realistic funding programme for part time clubs then we're all ears.

"Relatively easy to churn out players for Brechin" is also a fairly stupid take.  The best players in that area will go to Dundee or Aberdeen, and Brechin are fighting amongst all the other Angus clubs for boys signatures. If it was easy to produce League 1 and 2 players at part time clubs everyone would be doing it - the fact they aren't says it all. I'd say a majority of signings at this level are players dropping from full-time clubs.

If you could provide some evidence of part time clubs "turning a profit" due to youth player sales that would be great. 

I was actually at Brechin for two years as a kid.  Its exceptionally easy to produce players for their level, absolute dawdle.  They have since restarted their youth system, which they did immediately after O'Neill left, so you might want to question them about their funding model. 

Just now, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

I was actually at Brechin for two years as a kid.  Its exceptionally easy to produce players for their level, absolute dawdle.  They have since restarted their youth system, which they did immediately after O'Neill left, so you might want to question them about their funding model. 

It's an absolute dawdle for Brechin is it? That's why they're bottom of the League 2 table following successive relegations. Could you tell me how many of their current squad are products of this youth system?

If they can find funding for it then great, but suggesting it's crazy for a part time club to bin their youth team (as you did) is nonsense. It makes sense for a number of reasons.

Just now, The Moonster said:

It's an absolute dawdle for Brechin is it? That's why they're bottom of the League 2 table following successive relegations. Could you tell me how many of their current squad are products of this youth system?

If they can find funding for it then great, but suggesting it's crazy for a part time club to bin their youth team (as you did) is nonsense. It makes sense for a number of reasons.

Their league position is of no relevance to the difficulty of producing players, infact if anything it strengthens the argument.  I have no idea.

Funnily enough almost all of them do run a youth system, but maybe they just haven't discussed it with you and realised they're wrong yet.

1 minute ago, Carnoustie Young Guvnor said:

Their league position is of no relevance to the difficulty of producing players, infact if anything it strengthens the argument.  I have no idea.

Funnily enough almost all of them do run a youth system, but maybe they just haven't discussed it with you and realised they're wrong yet.

Aye, it's not like their league position is directly affected by the quality of player they have. If they could piss out players at League 1 and 2 level they wouldn't be shite and skint. 

All those teams running youth set ups and barely any players making the grade. It's almost as if it's not a complete dawdle to produce them. Maybe you could do a wee tour round the clubs and show them how easy it is.

2 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Aye, it's not like their league position is directly affected by the quality of player they have. If they could piss out players at League 1 and 2 level they wouldn't be shite and skint. 

All those teams running youth set ups and barely any players making the grade. It's almost as if it's not a complete dawdle to produce them. Maybe you could do a wee tour round the clubs and show them how easy it is.

Aye that's the point, the lower down the leagues they are the easier it is to produce players for the first team. Right now they're a good junior side, if you're suggesting its difficult to produce players of that level you're dreaming.

Its normal for only 5% at most to make the grade, its not like training to be a teacher there's a huge attrition rate for myriad reasons.  I can't be bothered getting into a pointless argument cause you're a fandan.