Jan Vojáček Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Given I was pretty much at totally the wrong end of the ground, what's the views from those around it on the penalty? It looked like Quitongo made a challenge from a dodgy angle, but the way Cosgrove went down (as he did quite a few times during the game) looked theatrical. Announce trial by Sportscene imo. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Bob Mahelp Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 6 minutes ago, PWL said: On footballing terms I don't disagree but given the state of our club at moment, a draw would have been a brilliant result for us. That's true. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cedrick1 Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 My take is it was a penalty .... but was offside( hedges). almost feels like my pre match prediction of an easy win would have been easier to take . if any Aberdeen fan is remotely satisfied with that display . Dear oh dear . as a Scotland fan please keep McKenna away from any future squads. He is awful 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bring Back Paddy Flannery Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Given I was pretty much at totally the wrong end of the ground, what's the views from those around it on the penalty? It looked like Quitongo made a challenge from a dodgy angle, but the way Cosgrove went down (as he did quite a few times during the game) looked theatrical. Announce trial by Sportscene imo.The replay I saw was from miles out so it was hard to judge but it did look a stonewaller. Sportscene will clear it up. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
O'Kelly Isley III Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Let's be honest here, Dumbarton offered absolutely nothing aside from a 10 man defence. You played with 2 lines of 5 in front of the keeper. Aberdeen were rusty and lacking sharpness and invention, but Dumbarton deserved absolutely zilch from the game. I wasn't there today so I can't comment on the game, but what I can say is that my club is currently on the bones of its arse money-wise and player-wise. Hardly surprising then that we didn't bring our trademark expansive, flowing football to Pittodrie today.Aye, we probably did deserve zilch but at least my fears that an Aberdeen side which had recently been toning up in Dubai and was unleashing the midfield dynamo that is Dylan McGeoch would blow us away. Now, can we please have our cheque ? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bring Back Paddy Flannery Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Let's be honest here, Dumbarton offered absolutely nothing aside from a 10 man defence. You played with 2 lines of 5 in front of the keeper. Aberdeen were rusty and lacking sharpness and invention, but Dumbarton deserved absolutely zilch from the game. Aberdeen weren't rusty or lacking sharpness, they were absolutely fucking honking. 5 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FifeSons Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Gutting. Deserved the replay. Aberdeen were atrocious. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dons_1988 Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 I mean, that wasn’t great but not sure the relentless negativity is warranted. Created enough chances to win comfortably against a side camped in their own box. Mcgeough and ojo look like they’ll work well together. Biggest disappointment for me was McLennan and Anderson not taking their opportunity. Both poor. ETA enjoyed the red shed, felt like an away day at times. Hopefully do it again. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bogheadboy Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 1 hour ago, Bob Mahelp said: Let's be honest here, Dumbarton offered absolutely nothing aside from a 10 man defence. You played with 2 lines of 5 in front of the keeper. Aberdeen were rusty and lacking sharpness and invention, but Dumbarton deserved absolutely zilch from the game. Did you expect a mid table League 1 side to come out and play any other way? 6 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingjoey Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 3 hours ago, EdTheDuck said: Which of the happy clappers will tell us, straight faced, that all that matters in the cup is winning? Me. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reina Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 4 hours ago, Jan Vojáček said: What's yer big banner that pee'd the stewards all about lads? Not sure why the stewards were so against it? 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jan Vojáček Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 4 minutes ago, Reina said: Not sure why the stewards were so against it? Hardline teetotallers imo. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingjoey Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 3 hours ago, FraserDFC said: Robbed. We defended so well and deserved the replay. Would it have been a penalty if it happened up the other end? I very much doubt it. Every man worked themselves into the ground today. Thought Rico had a brilliant game, gutted for him conceding the penalty as personally I don’t feel there was enough contact for Cosgrove to go down, mind you he did spend the majority of the game on his arse. If I were an Aberdeen fan would be very concerned if we needed a penalty to beat a mid table league 1 team ravaged by injury at home. Good to see PJ back in the side from injury, worked his socks off up top himself. Overall a good day out though, just a shame we had to lose it so late, that’s fitba’ but. Some new signings soon plz mr Duffy. I’ll dispute a couple of your points. You did defend reasonably well, but we had at least four free headers which all went well over the bar and all of them should have been goals, so not great defending there. Given that the challenge on Cosgrove for the penalty was a foul, then, yes, it would have been a penalty at the other end. But well done to the Dumbarton fans who made the journey to Aberdeen. There were more of you there than at least half of the clubs that visit in the Premiership. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FifeSons Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 I really don’t understand why they don’t allow any alcohol to be sold inside Scottish grounds. In England everywhere does it. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reina Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 I thought McLennan in particular was pish today. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
G-MAN Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 Let's be honest here, Dumbarton offered absolutely nothing aside from a 10 man defence. You played with 2 lines of 5 in front of the keeper. Aberdeen were rusty and lacking sharpness and invention, but Dumbarton deserved absolutely zilch from the game. If that was us rusty, it’s taking us 18 months to get up to speed. That was just the same McInnes, pass, pass, pass, going nowhere shite we see every week. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingjoey Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 I’m disappointed in the stick that Bruce Anderson is getting on here. I thought that he was really unlucky today. He got himself in some great positions but in general the ball just didn’t fall for him. He had a number of shots, which is one of the complaints normally levelled against the team, and could have done better with a couple of them but I felt that he was unlucky on a few occasions. Dons fans have been wanting Anderson to get a start, and he gets three starts in row, one goal, and people want him to be loaned out again. Really? I want him to get a really decent run in the team and I’m convinced that he’ll get us goals. Although I was in the Main Stand today as a one off, I thought that the Merkland Stand initiative worked really well. My son was there and said that it was a great atmosphere. Need to do that again. 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingjoey Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 9 minutes ago, FifeSons said: I really don’t understand why they don’t allow any alcohol to be sold inside Scottish grounds. In England everywhere does it. Have you seen Celtic and Rangers fans in action? 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coprolite Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 19 minutes ago, FifeSons said: I really don’t understand why they don’t allow any alcohol to be sold inside Scottish grounds. In England everywhere does it. Because Weegies can't behave like civilised people 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
squeezeboxson Posted January 18, 2020 Share Posted January 18, 2020 7 minutes ago, coprolite said: Because Weegies can't behave like civilised people keep fishing... 0 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...