Coronavirus (COVID-19)

2 minutes ago, Detournement said:

Maybe but a completely uncovered day at Ayr races is a gamble a lot of people might not be willing to take.

This is the type of argument that makes me laugh. Imagine being given that option in 2021 as as an either this or nothing choice, and people said no because they might get wet if it rains.

Everyone wants normal back, but it's pretty clear in February that it isn't going to be in 2021. Either we'll need to accept minor annoyances like "might get wet" or end up waiting even longer.

1 minute ago, Todd_is_God said:

This is the type of argument that makes me laugh. Imagine being given that option in 2021 as as an either this or nothing choice, and people said no because they might get wet if it rains.

Everyone wants normal back, but it's pretty clear in February that it isn't going to be in 2021. Either we'll need to accept minor annoyances like "might get wet" or end up waiting even longer.

I don't mind a bit of rain for hillwalking or running but f**k standing in the rain at a race course for four hours.

Most people who go to the races are there to socialise rather than to see the horses. It's completely different from football or rugby crowds.

15 minutes ago, 101 said:

You make it sound like, a) bad thing, identifying all those with the virus and b) it's something she can artificially increase.

Agreeing with you again.

Its no bad thing at all this surely? Back in September my son's childminder tested positive. I found it bizarre he wasn't entitled to a test until he displayed symptoms.

Germany’s health minister, Jens Spahn, has made a point of saying he would be happy to be injected with the “safe and effective” AstraZeneca vaccine, as authorities in the country voiced their growing concern about the German public’s reluctance to be immunised against Covid-19 with the British-Swedish pharmaceutical company’s vaccine.

According to German government agencies’ own monitoring, only 87,533 out of 736,800 delivered doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine had been administered by Tuesday 16 February.

In Berlin, where the senate has promised the public the freedom to choose between different available vaccines, local media reported that out of 30,000 doses of the vaccine delivered last week, only 990 had been administered so far.

The British-Swedish own shaky data from its early trials, as well as some misleading reporting in German media, have created a prominent debate around the AstraZeneca vaccine’s comparatively lower efficacy in Germany, where medical authorities have initially only permitted the vaccine for use among the over 65s.

The health minister of the state of Saarland, Monika Bachmann, this week criticised the reluctant uptake of the vaccine among medical staff, after more than half of those scheduled to be vaccinated failed to turn up to their appointment at a special session for 200 people working in medical care.

Scientists such as the influential virologist Christian Drosten say the scepticism about the AstraZeneca vaccine is misplaced. “We have to do everything we can now to vaccinate as quickly as possible across the board,” the Charité hospital scientist said on his podcast on Tuesday. There’s always a hair in the soup somewhere, and some people are looking at it with a magnifying glass.”

Spahn on Wednesday described the vaccine as “safe and effective”, telling the broadcaster RTL: “I would let myself be vaccinated when I get an appointment – and that expressly includes the AstraZeneca vaccine.”

The EU is doing a great job. What did they think was going to happen after they slated AZ?

9 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

Yep - I'd bite your hand off for a day at the races / football. The weather would be immaterial - couldn't care less if it snowed,rained or shined

3 minutes ago, Steven W said:

Yep - I'd bite your hand off for a day at the races / football. The weather would be immaterial - couldn't care less if it snowed,rained or shined

All 3 is regular. 

1 minute ago, Snafu said:

They won't be false positives if they are asymptomatic as they would have the virus and carrying it and spreading it to other people without realising they are doing it.

There have been false positives from people who have later been found to not have the virus, this recently happened at Amazon.

At Amazon they just sent the wrong results, the tests were fine.

An example of what I am talking about here is someone who had the virus at the peak of infections at New Year without any symptoms who has to take a test as a close contact. Because the NHS in Scotland use 40 Cycle Threshold they will find the dead virus from 8 weeks ago and brand that person positive leading to another round of isolations, testing and similar results.

3 hours ago, Caledonian1 said:

"Jackie Baillie also focuses on the Audit Scotland report saying it makes clear "a pandemic should have been anticipated"."

Aye, thats right Jackie.....I recall you going on and on about an imminent pandemic for months before anyone had heard of Covid-19...would they listen?

It was actually the number 1 anticipated major emergency in the Scottish Governments own research into likely disasters in terms of their business continuity and emergencies planning documents. 

45 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Ah, sorry, didn't realise that was him saying that. You are of course spot on.

Pretty much. You get posh folks like @Jan Vojáček (didn't realise @PWL looked down his nose at us too) living in the East whilst scum like me slum it in the West. I do feel WD would be better viewed if that horrible Clydebank mob were moved inside the Glasgow boundary, most of them pretend they're "fae Glesga" anyway. 

I think the reason we only know it works for 8 months is because that's how long we've been studying the response. I think most are expecting/hoping it will last much longer than that. It's already established that we will likely need "booster" shots for vulnerable people like we do with other viruses though, and we have the technology to tweak vaccines for any mutations. 

I'm not really sure what the big problem is with getting a vaccine to travel somewhere though. You already need proof of vaccination to get into certain countries, it might be a bit of a pain but I don't see it as a gamechanger in stopping me going somewhere I want to go.

I'm more thinking I don't want to get one and then be told 8 months later I need another to travel freely. I don't really mind getting one I'm just apprehensive of that or the idea we would need ones to say go to the football or a concert or something. 

I genuinely hadn't thought much into it and never realised the 8 months was because that's the only time they've had to monitor it 😂 makes sense considering I thought it was 5 months but that was probably a few months back when i saw that right enough. 

3 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

But Devi says we can eliminate it over the summer...

I'm convinced that in 5 years time I will have completely forgotten her name and existence. 

*Might be due to the roaring 20s style bedlam that will ensue once we're released

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

Ah, sorry, didn't realise that was him saying that. You are of course spot on.

Pretty much. You get posh folks like @Jan Vojáček (didn't realise @PWL looked down his nose at us too) living in the East whilst scum like me slum it in the West. I do feel WD would be better viewed if that horrible Clydebank mob were moved inside the Glasgow boundary, most of them pretend they're "fae Glesga" anyway. 

I think the reason we only know it works for 8 months is because that's how long we've been studying the response. I think most are expecting/hoping it will last much longer than that. It's already established that we will likely need "booster" shots for vulnerable people like we do with other viruses though, and we have the technology to tweak vaccines for any mutations. 

I'm not really sure what the big problem is with getting a vaccine to travel somewhere though. You already need proof of vaccination to get into certain countries, it might be a bit of a pain but I don't see it as a gamechanger in stopping me going somewhere I want to go.

1 hour ago, The Moonster said:

A solid solution no matter the problem, tbqhwy. 

Tbf if you had the chance to identify closer with Dumbarton, the place where happiness died or Glasgow, then you cant blame gods chosen people for the latter.

I'm convinced that in 5 years time I will have completely forgotten her name and existence. 
*Might be due to the roaring 20s style bedlam that will ensue once we're released
Wouldn't surprise me if she popped up on Celebrity Big Brother or something like that. Maybe her and Jason will go in as a double act.

On 12/02/2021 at 14:30, Distant Doonhamer said:

As others have said the hospital numbers continue to fall. 1472 today from 1499 yesterday.   Numbers have fallen by 322 in the last week.

The chat about ICU numbers increasing is a concern but needs some context. 115 today from 109 yesterday but worth remembering it was 161 as recently as 22nd January.

As Wee Bully says above the excellent Travelling Tabby site gives ICU admission numbers on a day by day basis. Updated every Wednesday to include numbers up to the previous Friday so the latest data is for up to Friday 5th February. This data suggest that up to that point ICU admission rates were probably at plateau but no evidence of an increase. The following are some of the ICU 7 day averages for ICU admissions in the period up until 5th February. 

Friday 5th Feb 10.3.            

Monday 1st February 11.4. 

Friday 29th January 11.1

Thursday 28th January 10.3

Monday 25th January 13.1.

I'm sure Jason Leitch will have access to more recent figures but if ICU admissions are on a general  increase then that's "only" in the last week. Even then that increase in admissions would be in a time period where ICU numbers have fallen slightly having been 123 on 5th February and 115 today.

Edit to add that on Friday 22nd January the 7 day average for ICU admissions was 16.3 (2weeks later it was 10.3 as above).

As I say I just don't see where this rise in ICU admissions is unless as stated before it's in the last week.

Thought I'd do some digging to see how Jason Leitch's statement re ICU admissions being on the increase has panned out.

Data Source

Latest data I could find is for16th February.

For the week to 16th February:-   85 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 12.1 admissions per day.

For week to 9th February:-  80 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 11.4 admissions per day.

For the week to 2nd February:- 84 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 12.0 admissions per day.

For the week to 26th January:- 83 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 11.9 admissions per day.

For week to 19th January:-  125 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 17.9 admissions per day.

For week to 12th January:- 114 patients admitted to ICU. This gives a 7 day average of 16.2 admissions to ICU.

Now while I can accept the last 4 weeks show a relative plateau in number of ICU admissions and even that the most recent week is a small increase on the previous week, given the real positive news in terms of vaccination roll out and overall Covid numbers in hospital it's a real stretch to be using the above data in the way it was.  

Edited by Distant Doonhamer