Coronavirus (COVID-19)

31 minutes ago, Jeff Venom said:

I live nearby and saw it. Was pretty bizarre, it ferries vehicles across the Thames. It's been blowing its horn every week at 8pm but last night night started doing donuts.

The name of the vessel? "Dame Vera Lynn" emoji847.png

Beat me to it but I thought it was the "Dame Vera Fucking Lynn"

(I know, someone would pay good money etc.)

21 minutes ago, s_dog said:

It's still in general the more elderly and those with existing health conditions that die, but it has been reported that it's middle aged men (between 50-70) that are most likely to be in intensive care (https://www.icnarc.org/About/Latest-News/2020/04/10/Report-On-3883-Patients-Critically-Ill-With-Covid-19 ). This may be down to the fact that more of the elderly are already in hospitals or care homes and don't even get moved to ICU, don't think anyone knows why its more men than women though. The figures given don't include Scotland, but it's likely to be the same here. 

Edit: was going to link to the BBC report on these figures but if you can be bothered to look through them, the actual figures themselves give you a clearer picture. It's funny the way the media chooses to portray things. Take the recent Office of National Statistics figures (for Eng & Wales). The same set of figures has been headlined quite differently.

Same set of ONS figures, two different angles from the media.

BBC: Nine in 10 dying have existing illness. "In 91% of cases the individuals had other health problems. The most common was heart disease, followed by dementia and respiratory illness."

The Guardian: Headlines on more men than women dying & it also mentions this 91%, but different focus - "For the first time in England and Wales, the figures also show that most people who had coronavirus at the time of their death died because of the disease rather than with it being a contributory condition. Of the 3,912 registered deaths involving coronavirus in March, Covid-19 was found to be the underlying cause of death in 86%."

Nothing would surprise you with this Government (UK). No wait.... it would be more of a surprise if they didn't do something like this.

It'll be hailed as  'VC' day.                                     Except it won't be.

1 hour ago, Marshmallo said:

This is the new "poppy day".

not surprised - the pier to pier distance that the thing travels is no more than about 400m so any excuse to brighten up the passage of what's not exactly the most thrilling job on the high seas must seem like a good idea for captain and crew !

wonder if they observe all the same protocols that - for instance - they have to stick to on a cross channel ferry, or if there's just a disinterested bloke in a big comfy chair in that top 'conning tower' bit with pretty much a single stop/go button in front of him who just waits for a gap in the river-traffic and goes for it ?

quite like the idea of the full, protracted "raise the gangplank - secure all hatches - cast off forrard, cast off aft - full steam ahead - three degrees to starboard...." kinda thing, for a frantic twenty second journey, then immediately the same again on reaching the opposite side....

33 minutes ago, s_dog said:

It's still in general the more elderly and those with existing health conditions that die, but it has been reported that it's middle aged men (between 50-70) that are most likely to be in intensive care (https://www.icnarc.org/About/Latest-News/2020/04/10/Report-On-3883-Patients-Critically-Ill-With-Covid-19 ). This may be down to the fact that more of the elderly are already in hospitals or care homes and don't even get moved to ICU, don't think anyone knows why its more men than women though. The figures given don't include Scotland, but it's likely to be the same here. 

Edit: was going to link to the BBC report on these figures but if you can be bothered to look through them, the actual figures themselves give you a clearer picture. It's funny the way the media chooses to portray things. Take the recent Office of National Statistics figures (for Eng & Wales). The same set of figures has been headlined quite differently.

Same set of ONS figures, two different angles from the media.

BBC: Nine in 10 dying have existing illness. "In 91% of cases the individuals had other health problems. The most common was heart disease, followed by dementia and respiratory illness."

The Guardian: Headlines on more men than women dying & it also mentions this 91%, but different focus - "For the first time in England and Wales, the figures also show that most people who had coronavirus at the time of their death died because of the disease rather than with it being a contributory condition. Of the 3,912 registered deaths involving coronavirus in March, Covid-19 was found to be the underlying cause of death in 86%."

Nothing would surprise you with this Government (UK). No wait.... it would be more of a surprise if they didn't do something like this.

I do look at all the stats, would love to see demographics and outcomes for those on ventilators etc, appears to quite a lot of deaths from outwith ICU and ventilator use. 

The level of emotional repression on this forum is weird. 

Any public displays of empathy, warmth or fear are jumped on with sneering, mocking, contempt and aggressive hostility. 

I know Scottish people have a reputation like many north west Europeans for being stoic or outright emotionally retrograde, but its on another level here given its the 2020s. For example any time a celebrity or famous person dies the forum is chock full of people mocking people expressing public grief, belittling it and going on about Diana syndrome. There is zero tolerance for any expressing of grief  beyond immediate family members. 

Then there is the inevitable mocking and sneering when there is a public tragedy or terrorist outrage. Again any signs of showing solidarity with the victims is attacked, the threads fill up with mocking "I went to empty the bins it could have been me" type posts. Normal humans (i.e. not you lot) will express their anxieties to each other at something as random as a bus crash to fatal terrorist attack; this will include expressing worries that it could have been them or their feelings of empathy with the victims. The emotional cripples here seem to live with the terror someone will expect them to reciprocate and emotionally bond with them. I guess its in part your insecure masculinity. 

Charity events: someone random gets in the news raising money. Its like they are digging up your grandmothers graves! As soon as there is a public outpouring of emotions for someone doing something the bullies are out and trying too belittle anyone support it is, well its a very sad window into your broken souls. (See the old boy whos walk raised money)

And now the clap for carers. Again any display of public emotion and you all explode into belittle, sneering, bullying and hate. 

Which brings me to the only emotions you ever allow yourselves to express, hate, anger, desire for violence, vengeance. Where you do express something resembling sympathy for someone, its usually simply as a pretext for anger and hate. So for example you will say something about the homeless then use that as a jump off point for how much you want to hurt\murder or just hate tories\Scottish Labour\English "gammons" or what ever. 

As a group hurtling towards your 50s at a fair rate of knots, you are for the most part, emotionally still about 13 years old. 

:rolleyes:

Edited by dorlomin

8 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

Any public displays of empathy, warmth or fear are jumped on with sneering, mocking, contempt and aggressive hostility. 

I know Scottish people have a reputation like many north west Europeans for being stoic or outright emotionally retrograde, but its on another level here given its the 2020s. For example any time a celebrity or famous person dies the forum is chock full of people mocking people expressing public grief, belittling it and going on about Diana syndrome. There is zero tolerance for any expressing of grief  beyond immediate family members. 

Then there is the inevitable mocking and sneering when there is a public tragedy or terrorist outrage. Again any signs of showing solidarity with the victims is attacked, the threads fill up with mocking "I went to empty the bins it could have been me" type posts. Normal humans (i.e. not you lot) will express their anxieties to each other at something as random as a bus crash to fatal terrorist attack; this will include expressing worries that it could have been them or their feelings of empathy with the victims. The emotional cripples here seem to live with the terror someone will expect them to reciprocate and emotionally bond with them. I guess its in part your insecure masculinity. 

Charity events: someone random gets in the news raising money. Its like they are digging up your grandmothers graves! As soon as there is a public outpouring of emotions for someone doing something the bullies are out and trying too belittle anyone support it is, well its a very sad window into your broken souls. (See the old boy whos walk raised money)

And now the clap for carers. Again any display of public emotion and you all explode into belittle, sneering, bullying and hate. 

Which brings me to the only emotions you ever allow yourselves to express, hate, anger, desire for violence, vengeance. Where you do express something resembling sympathy for someone, its usually simply as a pretext for anger and hate. So for example you will say something about the homeless then use that as a jump off point for how much you want to hurt\murder or just hate tories\Scottish Labour\English "gammons" or what ever. 

As a group hurtling towards your 50s at a fair rate of knots, you are for the most part, emotionally still about 13 years old. 

Load of shite. Leave the touchy feely stuff to the Yanks and the continentals. Stiff upper lip chaps. 

7 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

Says the guy with the most cringeworthy (and inaccurate) signature on P&B.  :rolleyes:

11 minutes ago, ayrmad said:

I do look at all the stats, would love to see demographics and outcomes for those on ventilators etc, appears to quite a lot of deaths from outwith ICU and ventilator use. 

Those stats I linked to are just for intensive care, and doesn't go into any further details on the numbers, but do have the stats on outcomes from patients that have been admitted to ICU with Covid (chances of coming out alive are roughly 50/50 (compared to 78/22 if you are in with non-covid pneumonia), survival chances of those that require basic respiratory support (oxygen, CPAP etc) is roughly 80/20 but those that require invasive ventilation its only 34/66.  

Edited by s_dog

I'd argue that faux grieving for a dead celebrity shows the  emotional maturity of a 13 year old far more than some dark humour over it.

Likewise the 'could have been me' stuff. That's just attention seeking nonsense.

Don't see what's wrong with empathy for victims though, and has there really been sneering at that? 

I believe with things like Clap for Carers it started with good intentions but we can see how easily that can be hijacked. I think that's more a reflection of our shit society than any sort of repressed emotion. Not questioning things is, again, more like a 13 year old than blindly accepting things. In an ideal world we'd accept these things in good spirit, but we don't live in such a world here, and the deep cynicism has been well earned.

I also reckon loads of folk on here play a character that isn't really representative of who they really are, at least not when it comes to certain issues. Also, as this is a public forum, some folk might not be comfortable with expressing themselves too much on here. It is supposed to be a bit a fun.

Also, take a look at the depression thread. Plenty of folk opening up there.

Edited by DA Baracus

1 minute ago, DA Baracus said:

I'd argue that faux grieving for a dead celebrity shows the  emotional maturity of a 13 year old far more than some dark humour over it.

Likewise the 'could have been me' stuff. That's just attention seeking nonsense.

Don't see what's wrong with empathy for victims though, and has there really been sneering at that? 

I think with things like Clap for Carers it started with good intentions but we can see how easily that can be hijacked. I think that's more a reflection of our shit society than any sort of repressed emotion. Not questioning things is, again, more like a 13 year old than blindly accepting things. In an ideal world we'd accept these things in good spirit, but we don't live in such a world here, and the deep cynicism has been well earned I think.

I also think loads of folk on here play a character that isn't really representative of who they really are, at least not when it comes to certain issues.

This is an important point that we shouldn’t overlook.

In real life I am not the warm cuddly character that you see on here, I’m far more abrasive and unpleasant.

7 minutes ago, DA Baracus said:

I believe with things like Clap for Carers it started with good intentions but we can see how easily that can be hijacked. I think that's more a reflection of our shit society than any sort of repressed emotion. Not questioning things is, again, more like a 13 year old than blindly accepting things. In an ideal world we'd accept these things in good spirit, but we don't live in such a world here, and the deep cynicism has been well earned.

I also reckon loads of folk on here play a character that isn't really representative of who they really are, at least not when it comes to certain issues. Also, as this is a public forum, some folk might not be comfortable with expressing themselves too much on here. It is supposed to be a bit a fun.

Also, take a look at the depression thread. Plenty of folk opening up there.

Would agree with a fair chunk of that, folk appear to grieve more for celebrities than I've done for all the close family members that have popped their clogs in recent years, FTR I think I'm a wee bit too much to the detached end of it but I really don't see the point in wallowing if you can avoid it. 

As bad as it sounds, all those deaths have left us with a lot less people to worry about with regards to health, shopping, bills etc, must be really difficult for those with frail or elderly relatives during this shit. 

4 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Priti Patel will explain, she seemed to have it all in hand a couple of weeks ago.

In the meantime. Temporary work is available in rural areas with near full employment. Even under Universal Credit rules you wouldn't be expected to commute from Glasgow to Auchternaewhere daily, or be forced to move.

The brexit loving farmers have belatedly realised that the berries won't pick them fucking selves.

There was some Angus bumpkin on the news yesterday complaining about that wummin Sturgeon’s lockdown for ruining their vital, erm, daffodil crop. Truly someone with a finger on the pulse of the country’s priorities.

2 hours ago, ayrmad said:

I've been told that the QE in Glasgow is full of middle aged men struggling, not exactly the auld yins and folk at deaths door already. 

91% of deaths according to the ONS figures yesterday involved people who had one or more underlying health condition and IIRC nearly one quarter of deaths were in the 80-85 age category alone.  The death rate from heart disease and other chronic illnesses has also slumped accordingly. 

Fit and healthy people are highly unlikely to be affected badly -unless of course they’re having to cut masks from bin bags to use in a hospital or care setting due to this incompetent government.

29 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

8287F6A5-9C20-456F-A288-B9ACE9104D17.gif

15 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

...other stuff....

P&B is a counterpoint to the MSM portrayal of the world, where EVERTHING is worthy, positive, happy-clappy and ne'er a bad word can be said about a single thing

as long as you have the common sense to realise that the actuality is somewhere in the middle ground between the two extremes, there's absolutely no harm in experiencing  both with the additional perspective that taking on board the other side of the 'argument' can give you...

1 minute ago, virginton said:

There was some Angus bumpkin on the news yesterday complaining about that wummin Sturgeon’s lockdown for ruining their vital, erm, daffodil crop. Truly someone with a finger on the pulse of the country’s priorities.

91% of deaths according to the ONS figures yesterday involved people who had one or more underlying health condition and IIRC nearly one quarter of deaths were in the 80-85 age category alone.  The death rate from heart disease and other chronic illnesses has also slumped accordingly. 

Fit and healthy people are highly unlikely to be affected badly -unless of course they’re having to cut masks from bin bags to use in a hospital or care setting due to this incompetent government.

I don't know where you get the 'unlikely to be badly affected' from, previously healthy people losing 3 or 4 stone in as many weeks is badly affected in my book, having an underlying condition doesn't mean you're going to pop your clogs in the next few months, if it did we'd hardly notice it on graphs when this 1st phase is over.