Lowland in the Scottish Cup 2020-21

HibeeJibee

Following the abandonment of proposals to randomly draw 10 non-league teams to enter this season's competition; and its replacement with a truncated version of the usual format, allowing all clubs to enter; every LL club except Gretna 2008 has chosen to enter.

(Burtisland and Golspie - who both lack floodlights - have also withdrawn; together with Auchinleck, Girvan and Forres who have all closed down).

There will be 2 ties in Preliminary R1 on Saturday 28th November in which Musselburgh Athletic and 3 randomly-drawn clubs from the East, South,and West leagues will participate. Banks o'Dee are the only Junior entrants.

Every club in LL (except Gretna) and HL (except Forres) join at Preliminary R2 on Saturday 28th November. Except for last season's LL + HL top 2's who are byed into R1 on Boxing Day.

PR1 + PR2 are being drawn tomorrow:

First Preliminary Round - Saturday 28th November 2020 - (2 ties & 22 byes)

Second Preliminary Round - Saturday 12th December 2020 - (26 ties)
Lowland League (14)
Highland League (14)
East of Scotland League (20)*
South of Scotland League (4)*
West of Scotland League (1)*
North Juniors (1)* - Banks o'Dee
*Musselburgh and 3 other randomly-drawn clubs will play in PR1

First Round - Saturday 26th December 2020 - (20 ties)
SPFL2 (10)
+ Bonnyrigg, Kelty
+ Brora, Fraserburgh

Second Round - Saturday 9th January 2021 - (20 ties)
Championship (10)
SPFL1 (10)

Third Round - Saturday 30th January 2021 - (16 ties)
Premiership (12)

Edited by HibeeJibee

First Preliminary Round - Saturday 28th November 2020 - (2 ties & 22 byes)
East of Scotland League (1) - Musselburgh Athletic
& 3 others from East, South and West leagues plus Banks o'Dee

Second Preliminary Round - Saturday 12th December 2020 - (26 ties)
Lowland League (14) - Berwick Rangers, Bo'ness United, BSC Glasgow, Caledonian Braves, Civil Service Strollers, Cumbernauld Colts, Dalbeattie Star, East Kilbride, East Stirlingshire, Edinburgh University, Gala Fairydean Rovers, Spartans, University of Stirling, Vale of Leithen
Highland League (14) - Buckie Thistle, Clachnacuddin, Deveronvale, Formartine United, Fort William, Huntly, Inverurie Loco Works, Keith, Lossiemouth, Nairn County, Rothes, Strathspey Thistle, Turriff United, Wick Academy
East of Scotland League (19)* - Blackburn United, Broxburn Athletic, Camelon, Coldstream, Dundonald Bluebell, Dunipace, Easthouses Lily, Haddington Athletic, Hawick RAU, Hill of Beath Hawthorn, Jeanfield Swifts, Linlithgow Rose, Lothian Thistle HV, Newtongrange Star, Penicuik Athletic, Preston Athletic, Tranent, Tynecastle, Whitehill Welfare
South of Scotland League (4)* - Newton Stewart, St Cuthbert Wanderers, Threave Rovers, Wigtown & Bladnoch
West of Scotland League (1)* - Glasgow University
North Juniors (1)* - Banks o'Dee
*less 3 drawn to play in PR1

First Round - Saturday 26th December 2020 - (20 ties)
SPFL2 (10) - Albion Rovers, Annan Athletic, Brechin City, Cowdenbeath, Edinburgh City, Elgin City, Queen's Park, Stenhousemuir, Stirling Albion, Stranraer
Lowland League (2) - Bonnyrigg Rose Athletic, Kelty Hearts
Highland League (2) - Brora Rangers, Fraserburgh

Second Round - Saturday 9th January 2021 - (20 ties)
Championship (10) - Alloa Athletic, Arbroath, Ayr United, Dundee, Dunfermline Athletic, Greenock Morton, Hearts of Midlothian, Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Queen of the South, Raith Rovers
SPFL1 (10) - Airdrie, Clyde, Cove Rangers, Dumbarton, East Fife, Falkirk, Forfar Athletic, Montrose, Partick Thistle, Peterhead

Third Round - Saturday 30th January 2021 - (16 ties)
Premiership (12) - Aberdeen, Celtic, Dundee United, Hamilton Academical, Hibernian, Kilmarnock, Livingston, Motherwell, Rangers, Ross County, St Johnstone, St Mirren

Edited by HibeeJibee

2 hours ago, craigiemack said:

Probably just happy to pocket the prize money since there chances of progressing as pretty slim and save on the travel costs of a possible trip up north

If so they've been unique in taking that view as 100 out of 106 eligible clubs have entered, and the other 5 withdrawals have either shut down (3) or lack floodlights (2).

Indeed even Wigtown & Bladnoch who don't have lights are among the 100 entrants.

Nevertheless it was an option for anyone.

In some masterful bits of scheduling the league games on Saturday 12th December included Kelty v Gretna, and so with the former getting a bye and the latter scratching, it can proceed unfetterred... while those of Saturday 26th December include Kelty v Bonnyrigg, which with both getting byes will definitely be displaced.

Edited by HibeeJibee

12 hours ago, HibeeJibee said:

If so they've been unique in taking that view as 100 out of 106 eligible clubs have entered, and the other 5 withdrawals have either shut down (3) or lack floodlights (2).

Indeed even Wigtown & Bladnoch who don't have lights are among the 100 entrants.

Nevertheless it was an option for anyone.

In some masterful bits of scheduling the league games on Saturday 12th December included Kelty v Gretna, and so with the former getting a bye and the latter scratching, it can proceed unfetterred... while those of Saturday 26th December include Kelty v Bonnyrigg, which with both getting byes will definitely be displaced.

It'll be interesting if they release a statement detailing why because as you say they have taken a very unique decision

37 minutes ago, newcastle broon said:

Seen the day when I'd be excited as fcuk for the Scottish Cup draw hoping for a wee run and a day oot somewhere. Now it's a case of meh. #LetFansIn 

Different era I suppose NB.

Back then you were the only Midlothian team who could enter.

Plus teams had to win their way through to South Qualifying Cup SFs just to get in. Which you usually did.

Nowadays it's all-in plus you've Bonnyrigg, Easthouses, Newtongrange and Penicuik locally.

No club is an island.

15 minutes ago, HibeeJibee said:

Different era I suppose NB.

Back then you were the only Midlothian team who could enter.

Plus teams had to win their way through to South Qualifying Cup SFs just to get in. Which you usually did.

Nowadays it's all-in plus you've Bonnyrigg, Easthouses, Newtongrange and Penicuik locally.

No club is an island.

I think you missed my point. 

How can you look forward to a Scottish Cup draw when you canny go and watch it? 

Fans up and doon the country look forward to it as probably highlight of the season, a day oot here and a chance of glory there  🤷‍♂️

1 minute ago, newcastle broon said:

I think you missed my point. 

How can you look forward to a Scottish Cup draw when you canny go and watch it? 

Fans up and doon the country look forward to it as probably highlight of the season, a day oot here and a chance of glory there  🤷‍♂️

Ah got you thought you were talking more generally. Absolutely.

Second Preliminary Round - Saturday 12th December 2020

Banks O'Dee v Vale of Leithen
Blackburn United v Civil Service Strollers
BSC Glasgow v Haddington Athletic
Clachnacuddin v Caledonian Braves
Coldstream v Bo'ness United
Deveronvale v Camelon
Dundonald Bluebell v Easthouses Lily
Dunipace v Berwick Rangers
East Stirlingshire v Inverurie Loco Works
Edinburgh University v Tranent
Formartine United v Turriff United