Wildcard Weekend

lichtie23

1 minute ago, G51 said:

OL aren't that hard to draft that you can't hit on a single one in five drafts. There are loads of teams with good OL out there.

I dunno, if I'm a Seahawks fan and I'm watching this, I might be thinking it's the end of the road for Carroll. Seahawks have looked badly coached for half this year.

I think most coaches that have done well but fallen short of expectations(specifically if they make the playoffs) will get a bit of a pass due to the covid situation affecting availability as well as losing home ‘advantage’ with no fans - Hawks would be a big one for that. Similar to how not many football managers have been punted by this stage(no noisy booing crowd/easier to be an ostrich).

Does ramp up pressure next year though.

1 minute ago, South Lanarkshire Jag said:

I think most coaches that have done well but fallen short of expectations(specifically if they make the playoffs) will get a bit of a pass due to the covid situation affecting availability as well as losing home ‘advantage’ with no fans - Hawks would be a big one for that. Similar to how not many football managers have been punted by this stage(no noisy booing crowd/easier to be an ostrich).

Does ramp up pressure next year though.

Maybe. But the 2020 Seahawks look a lot like the 2019 Browns to me - a team with obvious talent that gets them so far, but clear deficiencies and a coaching team that makes the game harder, not easier for the players.

Sad No Way GIF by Heavy Steppers

Well that was a pretty poor effort and first home playoff loss under Pete. Will there be calls for his head? Probably but he’ll ge5 another year. There needs a bit of a shake-up in the coaching staff. Some new ideas. It’s all been a bit conservative on offence. The defence has come good up until today. 

4 minutes ago, G51 said:

OL aren't that hard to draft that you can't hit on a single one in five drafts. There are loads of teams with good OL out there.

I dunno, if I'm a Seahawks fan and I'm watching this, I might be thinking it's the end of the road for Carroll. Seahawks have looked badly coached for half this year.

Damien Lewis has turned out to be a pretty decent guard. But unfortunately where the Seahawks fall in the draft, good OLine men aren't there. 

It isn't just a Seahawks issue, pretty much every time struggle with their OLine. 

Don't disagree about the coaching, Carroll is far too conservative, and he's definitely influenced Schottenheimer since Wilsons turnover run. The issue is players like Carroll, and so does the ownership

3 minutes ago, G51 said:

Maybe. But the 2020 Seahawks look a lot like the 2019 Browns to me - a team with obvious talent that gets them so far, but clear deficiencies and a coaching team that makes the game harder, not easier for the players.

Behave, we still made the playoffs with double digit wins and another championship. The Browns were dogshite last season. Seattle’s poor seasons would be seen as successful for franchises like the Browns. It’s sll about levels. It’s been unappealing but still better than what 75% of the league can look back on this season.

1 minute ago, gc_smfc said:

Damien Lewis has turned out to be a pretty decent guard. But unfortunately where the Seahawks fall in the draft, good OLine men aren't there. 

It isn't just a Seahawks issue, pretty much every time struggle with their OLine. 

Don't disagree about the coaching, Carroll is far too conservative, and he's definitely influenced Schottenheimer since Wilsons turnover run. The issue is players like Carroll, and so does the ownership

I don't really agree with that, the Patriots, Saints and Packers all regularly pick in the same range the Seahawks too, and they all have good to great lines. Even if you can't draft them, just sign good ones in free agency! You can still get good linemen there!

1 minute ago, jagfox BLM said:

Behave, we still made the playoffs with double digit wins and another championship. The Browns were dogshite last season. Seattle’s poor seasons would be seen as successful for franchises like the Browns. It’s sll about levels. It’s been unappealing but still better than what 75% of the league can look back on this season.

Sure, the Seahawks won a mediocre division in a terrible conference. That doesn't really change what I'm saying though - they're being held back by the coaching staff and teams are keying in on their weak points, despite loads of great players on the roster. That's why they remind me of last years Browns.

12 minutes ago, G51 said:

You’ll have seen more of the Seahawks than me but I think Seahawks have been decent and bar a stupid pick six(which was outstanding defensive play) this would be set up for Wilson to go and run down the field to win the game.

The Rams have the #1 D I think and I guess the old saying is true again - Offense wins games. Defence wins Championships(which is why I don’t think the Packers will reach the SB)

edit: I guess we’ll get a good look at the o-line comparison at Lambeau next week.

Edited by South Lanarkshire Jag

Just now, G51 said:

Sure, the Seahawks won a mediocre division in a terrible conference. That doesn't really change what I'm saying though - they're being held back by the coaching staff and teams are keying in on their weak points, despite loads of great players on the roster. That's why they remind me of last years Browns.

Mediocre? It’s the best division in the NFL. Seattle have changed this season from all guns blazing pass offence with a ropey punchless defence to a toothless offence but vastly improved defence. 

Diddy teams like the Browns would be lucky to score against the Rams playing to this level of defence. 

It feels like a poor season but I’ll repeat it would feel like a success to the majority of franchises in the league. 

Its hard to see any change of head coach as Pete keeps winning and the owners and club are behind him.

Just now, South Lanarkshire Jag said:

You’ll have seen more of the Seahawks than me but I think Seahawks have been decent and bar a stupid pick six(which was outstanding defensive play) this would be set up for Wilson to go and run down the field to win the game.

The Rams have the #1 D I think and I guess the old saying is true again - Offense wins games. Defence wins Championships(which is why I don’t think the Packers will reach the SB)

The problem with having the #1 D is that it's largely a product of the offense that you face - as long as your defense is somewhat above average, it doesn't really matter how good it is (unless it's an outrageously good one like the 2015 Broncos or the 2017 Jaguars - which the 2020 Rams definitely aren't).

I always enjoy it when a playoff game finishes just in time to catch the kick off of the next one - missing out all the build up pish.

That last game seemed to drag too...

2 minutes ago, G51 said:

The problem with having the #1 D is that it's largely a product of the offense that you face - as long as your defense is somewhat above average, it doesn't really matter how good it is (unless it's an outrageously good one like the 2015 Broncos or the 2017 Jaguars - which the 2020 Rams definitely aren't).

That’s true. Just had a look at the Rams regular season schedule - they lost to the Jets, lost out in a shoot out v Bills and had other high scoring opposition score points.

It sets it up for a good match up next week and we’ll see how A-Rod manages to dice it up.

Just now, Antiochas III said:

Tampa have to settle for a FG on their first drive.  They lead 3-0

What has the Washington O been like this season? Will the drives be adding points pretty regularly as that is the only way I see them keeping up with Tampa.

Brady might not be able to punch it in every time but they’ll rack up FG’s which soon add up if you are punting a lot.

Just now, jagfox BLM said:

Mediocre? It’s the best division in the NFL. Seattle have changed this season from all guns blazing pass offence with a ropey punchless defence to a toothless offence but vastly improved defence. 

Diddy teams like the Browns would be lucky to score against the Rams playing to this level of defence. 

It feels like a poor season but I’ll repeat it would feel like a success to the majority of franchises in the league. 

Its hard to see any change of head coach as Pete keeps winning and the owners and club are behind him.

The best division in the NFL? The AFC North sent three teams to the playoffs this year! And the two best teams in the AFC weren't even in that division!

Lets look at the NFC West - the Rams have a good defence but are starting some guy who works in financial services at quarterback, the Seahawks have some great players and some absolutely terrible ones and are badly coached, the Cardinals have a bad head coach and a below-average offense, and San Francisco have about 300 players on Injured Reserve.

I'm not even sure it's the best division in the NFC - the NFC South has two credible Super Bowl contenders, the West doesn't have any.

1 minute ago, South Lanarkshire Jag said:

I thought the end of the Bills game dragged more with all the challenges of catches 😂

Aye, back to back ones for Davis. There was a few in the Seattle game that were just for delaying the game I reckon.

What has the Washington O been like this season? Will the drives be adding points pretty regularly as that is the only way I see them keeping up with Tampa.

Brady might not be able to punch it in every time but they’ll rack up FG’s which soon add up if you are punting a lot.

No.  Must stay lower than 24.  If we are still in it at HT we have a slim chance.