The Almighty Hibernian FC’s European Tour 2021/22

Les Cabbage

2 hours ago, Baldie1980 said:

they are absolutely no diddies,really good team,but if hibs play at there best they can do it

I'd want 6/4 to even think about backing Hibs in a "To Qualify" market. Rijeka may need to perpetuate Negative Balkan Football Stereotypes* for Hibs to win this.

*See Serbia v. Scotland

Edited by FortescueFotheringhamSmyth
typo

13 hours ago, SDG2 said:
13 hours ago, Zing. said:
We have been absolutely dreadful. Hard to tell if they are just playing safe and aren’t arsed or have been more than matched by these part time hammer throwers. 

This mob are the worst team ive ever seen us play against and we look all over the place at the back against them. We need a defender asap. McGregor should start on Sunday.

That's an absurd exaggeration, unless you've never seen most part-time Scottish teams or you missed the games against the Faroese mob in 2018. The goalkeeper was dreadful in his decision making, going walkabouts for the pen in the first leg and the first goal in the second leg, but their outfield play was competent.  If you go through their results over the last 10 years or so, as they are in Europe each year, they haven't really been humped at home since about 2010.

That all said, Hibs will have to improve significantly to beat Rijeka.

Edited by JamesM82

These were part time diddies, whatever anyone says.

We seemed to - again - take our eye off the ball for a bit before they scored and the defending was pish for it..........again. It was almost like they thought "f**k it, we are already thru".

Good to see Ross make instant subbies to change it.

I will be interested to see how we get on against Motherwell at the weekend before deciding if our European adventure is over for this year.

4 minutes ago, JamesM82 said:

The live stream from yesterday is still up. All the goals were between 38:45 and 44:50.

Thank you brother.

2 hours ago, JamesM82 said:

That's an absurd exaggeration, unless you've never seen most part-time Scottish teams or you missed the games against the Faroese mob in 2018.

I disagree on that score. That Faroese mob managed to put five goals past us between the two legs, perhaps aided by Lenny's free-scoring free-conceding philosophy at the time.

On the other hand, their simulation skills were lacking, compared to these Andorran chancers. I do remember some blonde-haired c**t deciding, apropos nothing much, to drop to the ground in the penalty box and wriggle about clutching his face, to everyone's bemusement, and leaving the match officials decidedly unfooled.

14 hours ago, Buckets said:

Surprised to see Union Jacks flown by Hibs fans tbh. 

That's the flag of the CCS - the Craigentinny Conservative Society - Hibernian Football Club's Rangers-fans-without-the-bus-fare contingent. A grand bunch of lads, and if you ever chance upon a group of them, you can instantly endear yourself to them by offering them a masonic handshake and regaling them with stories of your favourite moments at Ibrox and expressing your distaste for the unwashed F***** menace. You'll fit right in.

Edited by Aim Here

1 hour ago, Lyle Lanley said:

4700 minimum for next thursday :lol:

Emphasised the important word there... it's just Hibs assuming that they will get at least the same as last week, and getting those booked up, while asking for more.

Midway through 1st half. Rijeka just equalised. 1-1. 

Looks warm. Not much running around. Dinamo scored early in a game of head tennis in the Rijeka box. Dinamo looked to be playing about a 2-3-5 to Rijeka's 5-4-1😮.  Dinamo gave the ball away at the back to the big Rijeka #9 and somehow got away with it. 20 seconds later stood off the chirpy little Ghanaian guy supporting the #9 and let him have a free hit from 18 yards to level.

Both teams look poor... but Balkan sides usually do in half-paced games early doors. I'd imagine Zagreb would cane Hibs. Sluggish though Rijeka look, they'll be better at a higher tempo... as we'll most likely see as the game goes on.

Aye, Lofarl😱.

HT: Dinamo Zagreb 2, HNK Rijeka 3😮

What the feck am I watching here😳?

Dinamo seem to have moderated the in-house rule that demanded 8 players have to be forward of the man in possession until they get past the centre circle... but it's still feckin' 7... and it's always 5 when they get to the final 3rd. Too many sloppy passes to do that!

Dinamo went 2-1 up, then just gave the ball away to the little Ghanaian, Abass, in space, 30 yards out. Two paces, some strike from the edge of the D, but a free hit. Sloppy Dinamo  giveaway again for the 3rd - a wee bit unlucky with the break of the ball, but the Swiss (!?) #18, Drmic swivelled 20 yards out and top bin with a left footer on the turn. Dinamo goalie no chance with any of the three goals.

Rijeka narrowed the possession stats to 40:60 with a more competitive 2nd quarter. 8-1 on corners to Dinamo - and the Rijeka one was in the last minute.

Rijeka look worryingly good  technically... but I suppose they could start giving the ball away in their own final third  as often as Dinamo.

No "Balkan stuff" yet - though the Rijeka #13 Lepinjica got away with a lovely studs-to-instep lunge.

Can't see Rijeka going 45 minutes without conceding again.

Edited by FortescueFotheringhamSmyth
typo