Whether it's actually a red card or not isn't really the issue for me. It's whether VAR should have intervened to begin with. I don't see how that can be seen as a 'clear and obvious' error, there is undeniably a huge amount of subjectivity and guesswork about whether it was going to result in a clear chance given that the ball was bouncing, he was at an angle and that defenders would have been closing in while Maeda waited on the ball to bounce and get it under control. Decisions around clear goalscoring opportunities are different than every other decision in football because you aren't just judging based on what you have seen, you are also having to project into the future to predict what would have happened. The bar should have to be so high in situations like this to intervene.

Fans will obviously have their biases and many are clueless about the laws, but the fact there is such a range of opinions on it is surely evidence that there was nothing 'clear' about it. VAR should not be getting involved with situations like this.

9 minutes ago, Diamonds are Forever said:

Whether it's actually a red card or not isn't really the issue for me. It's whether VAR should have intervened to begin with. I don't see how that can be seen as a 'clear and obvious' error, there is undeniably a huge amount of subjectivity and guesswork about whether it was going to result in a clear chance given that the ball was bouncing, he was at an angle and that defenders would have been closing in while Maeda waited on the ball to bounce and get it under control. Decisions around clear goalscoring opportunities are different than every other decision in football because you aren't just judging based on what you have seen, you are also having to project into the future to predict what would have happened. The bar should have to be so high in situations like this to intervene.

Fans will obviously have their biases and many are clueless about the laws, but the fact there is such a range of opinions on it is surely evidence that there was nothing 'clear' about it. VAR should not be getting involved with situations like this.

Pretty much bang on for me.  If Walsh had sent him off then it would still have been the wrong decision, imo, but there is absoluty no way you can say that was definitively a mistake.  Any other ref than Collum on VAR and i don't think that gets reviewed.

Putting to one side the contentious sending off it was the small things that Celtic got in their favour.

Twice play was held up whilst a Celtic player tied his boot lace, anywhere else play would have resumed or the player booked for time wasting. 

When Odua was substituted Nick Walsh forced him to leave the pitch where he was closest to the touchline, yet Celtic players were allowed to meander to their technical area from wherever they were on the pitch.

Why O'Riley didn't receive a second yellow card, whilst it was still 0-0 is anyone's guess.

It's almost like there are two rule books, theirs, and I include their Ugly twin sister in this , and one for everyone else.

37 minutes ago, RiffRaff said:

Celtic players were allowed to meander to their technical area from wherever they were on the pitch.

It's almost like there are two rule books, theirs, and I include their Ugly twin sister in this , and one for everyone else.

This does my head in when we play Celtic in particular. The emphasis is definitely on the meandering. Normally they'll stop to undo their sock ties, roll their socks down to their boots and remove their shinpads. Slowly.

1 hour ago, RiffRaff said:

Putting to one side the contentious sending off it was the small things that Celtic got in their favour.

Twice play was held up whilst a Celtic player tied his boot lace, anywhere else play would have resumed or the player booked for time wasting. 

When Odua was substituted Nick Walsh forced him to leave the pitch where he was closest to the touchline, yet Celtic players were allowed to meander to their technical area from wherever they were on the pitch.

Why O'Riley didn't receive a second yellow card, whilst it was still 0-0 is anyone's guess.

Stopping play because Kyogo had a sore arm 😂

1 hour ago, kingjoey said:

This does my head in when we play Celtic in particular. The emphasis is definitely on the meandering. Normally they'll stop to undo their sock ties, roll their socks down to their boots and remove their shinpads. Slowly.

Meanwhile chez Jinky the celtic has been criticised alarm has activated. 

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSid6n1A3yefL_lRfFDC6e

6 hours ago, WeeMentalDavie said:

Jambo rage made even sweeter given how fond they are of child abuse songs and union jacks.

Nae luck diets.

An amazing lack of self awareness from them. 

Best take on this is that Celtic got away with time wasting and holding up play because Reo Hatate tied his shoelaces. Celtic famously like to slow play down and our opponents just want to get on with things! This in the same game Xander Clark was down for over two minutes because Starfelt jumped near him. 

You came flying out the traps and punched yourselves out within half an hour. Big Shankland and wee Barrie were done, they started to give the Champions time on the ball and from that point there was only one winner. 

38 minutes ago, GeorgiosSamaras said:

Best take on this is that Celtic got away with time wasting and holding up play because Reo Hatate tied his shoelaces. Celtic famously like to slow play down and our opponents just want to get on with things! This in the same game Xander Clark was down for over two minutes because Starfelt jumped near him. 

You came flying out the traps and punched yourselves out within half an hour. Big Shankland and wee Barrie were done, they started to give the Champions time on the ball and from that point there was only one winner

Willie Collum?

1 hour ago, GeorgiosSamaras said:

Best take on this is that Celtic got away with time wasting and holding up play because Reo Hatate tied his shoelaces.  

No, the best take on this is that Celtic were second best for the majority of the first half, but were handed a game-changing lifeline by officiating that at best was contentious. It's just one more example of something Old Firm fans seem unwilling or incapable of grasping; it isn't simply that Cochrane's sending off was harsh, but the absolute certainty that had it happened at the other end, there is no way VAR's Willie Collum would've intervened. It's the fact that match officials constantly give advantages to the two clubs that deserve it least thanks to their colossal financial advantage over the diddy teams. Check the Dons' game at Ibrox for further evidence.

Edited by Squonk

14 minutes ago, Squonk said:

No, the best take on this is that Celtic were second best for the majority of the first half, but were handed a game-changing lifeline by officiating that at best was contentious. It's just one more example of something Old Firm fans seem unwilling or incapable of grasping; it isn't simply that Cochrane's sending off was harsh, but the absolute certainty that had it happened at the other end, there is no way VAR's Willie Collum would've intervened. It's the fact that match officials constantly give advantages to the two clubs that deserve it least thanks to their colossal financial advantage over the diddy teams. Check the Dons' game at Ibrox for further evidence.

Or you could check the 1st VAR game at tynecastle to see that’s bullshit. 

5 minutes ago, Drew Brees said:

Or you could check the 1st VAR game at tynecastle to see that’s bullshit. 

You're seriously going to defend the indefensible? Using one feeble example against 100+ years of officiating blatantly benefiting the gruesome twosome? Good luck with your endeavours. 

1 hour ago, GeorgiosSamaras said:

You came flying out the traps and punched yourselves out within half an hour. Big Shankland and wee Barrie were done, they started to give the Champions time on the ball and from that point there was only one winner. 

What a pile of shite. Sure running out of steam so early had nothing to do with being down to 10 men.

The red card meant we couldn't press from the front without being exposed.

As for Shankland being done, I assume you never watched the game. He was still chasing players down in the 85th minute.

Still, can't afford to sit in against "the Champions" I suppose. 

Edited by Tony Wonder