The Hamilton Accies Championship Thread

Lack of goals is the obvious issue. We offered nothing going forward yesterday and have struggled to score against an organised defence in other games.

Scoring five against a part time team on a friday night is not how our attack should be judged.

Not saying signing more forwards will solve everything but Rankin needs to use his other options.

On 08/10/2023 at 15:43, Beckford said:

Lack of goals is the obvious issue. We offered nothing going forward yesterday and have struggled to score against an organised defence in other games.

Scoring five against a part time team on a friday night is not how our attack should be judged.

Not saying signing more forwards will solve everything but Rankin needs to use his other options.

We play one up top with two behind. Where are all these strikers going to be other than on a very attack-heavy bench? Maybe other options could include a change of formation. But then you can see why he'd be loathe to change anything.

Yeah the option to change formation has to be looked at on a game by game basis (or even mid game). 

Looks like its going to be fine margins between first and second in this league. In a lot of games so far, the lack of ability to take our chances and put the game to bed early has almost caught us out.  A couple of dropped points here and there when we should have won comfortably, could easily have seen falkirk clear at the top.

Hard to be critical or negative when this season has been so much better than the previous few, but thats the reality of this league. Ask Falkirk fans how it can be if you dont get out at the first time of asking. We create plenty of chances in most games, a clinical goal scorer is the missing link between a good team and a successful team.

13 hours ago, Ian Mcleod said:

Falkirk have had a couple of scares though as well they've had late goals against QOTS and Montrose. 

Can’t wait to win with another last minute goal in our visit to NDP…….predict the same scoreline as support size on the day - 2 x 1 to boys in blue. Forecast an attendance of 2700with 900 home fans & 1800 away. COYB.

8 hours ago, Kircer bairn said:

Can’t wait to win with another last minute goal in our visit to NDP…….predict the same scoreline as support size on the day - 2 x 1 to boys in blue. Forecast an attendance of 2700with 900 home fans & 1800 away. COYB.

Wow …

On 08/10/2023 at 14:06, ShaggerG said:

Armenia?

Believe it or no guys I stayed the Hamilton Halls when I was at Glasgow Tech in 1980.

My first car was a wee  yellow escort which I couldnae get started 1 night - my saviour was a wee guy in the halls from Armenia ! I hadn't a Fucken clue where Armenia was but I'll never forget it- near Russia & Iran,always said I would go.

Decent win again today really good in the first half. Nice to see Mumbongo getting his first goal today. Our 4th goal was probably the worst goal I've ever seen the EK Goalkeeper won't be having a good night. Main thing today was getting into the next round of the cup and doing it comfortably and we done that. It was the sort of game we would of lost in past seasons. Onto  next week now hopefully get another couple of goals.

EK are clearly a decent team and probably similar level to some of the teams we've played in the league this season so to put 5 past team was nice to see. Fair play to EK, they tried to play their game and play it out from the back but ultimately that was their downfall and a bit naive to try that against a better side. 

Eventhough he never got a goal, I thought McGlynn showed today he should get a start in the league. He played a big part in a few of the goals and is always a threat. 

We were so naive against you yesterday and we put ourselves under so much unnecessary pressure.

I thought we gave a good account of ourselves and the scoreline makes it look like a doing but it was anything but.

Accies were a strong, physical team and your players were rapid.

Good luck going forward 

Accies are charging everybody a fiver for the Molde home leg. That's the same nonsense the old regime came out with. They had those amazing ST prices of £150 & £180 in the Premier but didn't have a seperate price for concessions. So the waged and well off got a great deal but the pensioners and others barely saved anything. Surely common sense dictates that if it's one price for all, make it a quid or two quid at most. Ironic that the old regime threw open the doors for the Basel game and possibly the Midtjylland game too.

John Rankin confirms that David Arshakyan will not be signing for us. Can't say I'm too disappointed it would of felt a bit unnecessary if we had signed him. I would much rather let Mumbongo and Mcglynn get up to full fitness and hope O'Hara comes good. Rather than taking another punt on someone. Maybe also worth waiting till January as well before making more signings when there's more options available hopefully the club are looking at the Irish market.