Round of 16 thread

JS_FFC

Just now, Boo Khaki said:

They seem to churn oot wee, snappy wide forwards/inside forward types like there is no tomorrow, but precious little else.

Funny how certain nations produce the same thing over and over. With us, it seems to be diminutive central midfield players.

and left-backs.

Belotti was their hope but never quite reached the necessary standard as a #9.

Just now, Mark Connolly said:

We were in that qualifying group with Italy and Switzerland the last time the Swiss beat them in a competitive game

Was that the one when our game against the Swiss was played at Pittodrie?

10 minutes ago, Boo Khaki said:

Yes, but you can be shite and still not be scandalously lackadaisical like this lot were for the first hour of this match. Italian press will utterly murder them tomorrow.

Absolutely aye. I’m not watching the game tbf so wasn’t aware of the performance but not surprised the Swiss are beating them.

Just now, Mark Connolly said:

Correct.

The away game was the one where Gough got sent off for catching the ball

Funny how time plays tricks on the mind. I could have sworn that took place in a match v's Norway for some reason.

38 minutes ago, PSJ.84 said:

Already excited for an Italian defender to just hit one from 40 yards, and for it to go miles over. 

Chiesa’s effort there suffices. 

Terrible display from Italy. I kept thinking after every match "They're bound to improve" but they didn't, and are deservedly out.

3 minutes ago, PauloPerth said:

I thought it was Portugal !

The major incident in the Portugal away game was McCoist breaking his leg

Just now, AyrshireTon said:

And I thought the game ended 2-2 from 2-0 down, but turns out we lost 3-1.

That was in the previous Euro qualifiers - we faced them in the 92 qualifiers, 94 qualifiers, and the 96 groups