Southport stabbings

1 hour ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Knife crime is a massive issue in this country, particularly amongst teenage people. Granted this is the first incident of this type in a long time,  but with the chronic underfunding of mental health services, social services and the rise in knife crime its a repeatable situation and not one we should be dismissive about. 

Always the victim, not you personally as I don't know you, but the attitude. Blame everything else but the person committing the crime, very little confirmed information at the moment but already the excuses for this are already being peddled out. 

1 hour ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

Knife crime is a massive issue in this country, particularly amongst teenage people. Granted this is the first incident of this type in a long time,  but with the chronic underfunding of mental health services, social services and the rise in knife crime its a repeatable situation and not one we should be dismissive about. 

This is not a typical knife crime. None of the things that can be done about knife crime would make an incident like this less likely. This wasn't a ned in the street, it was a targeted attack.

We've no idea if mental health or social services played a part yet, we'll need to wait and see. 

4 minutes ago, GordonS said:

We've no idea if mental health or social services played a part yet, we'll need to wait and see. 

No we don't. It's an arsehole.

23 minutes ago, Plumpy said:

Always the victim, not you personally as I don't know you, but the attitude. Blame everything else but the person committing the crime, very little confirmed information at the moment but already the excuses for this are already being peddled out. 

The individual bears the responsibility but the cuts lower the ability to stop it. 

6 minutes ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

The individual bears the responsibility but the cuts lower the ability to stop it. 

What cuts exactly has raised the ability for individuals to knife kids to death. Really not trying to have a go, you might have some more info than me that can explain this. 

Is it really such a leap to suggest that someone who stabs children to death may not be in the best of mental health?

Is it not perhaps a better explanation than 'they're an arsehole'?

As a general rule, if Bigmouth Strikes Again is upvoting your posts, you need to re-educate yourself on those matters.

4 minutes ago, Plumpy said:

What cuts exactly has raised the ability for individuals to knife kids to death. Really not trying to have a go, you might have some more info than me that can explain this. 

Im generalising and accept that perhaps there is a chance this is a completely isolated incident with someone who has never come to attention of services etc, but id be willing to take an educated guess that this person will have been on someones radar, but what is happening is that cpn’s, psychiatrists, in particular adolescent services are overwhelmed, social workers have impossible work loads, this means things get missed or not the full attention required.  

7 minutes ago, Barry Ferguson's Hat said:

Is it really such a leap to suggest that someone who stabs children to death may not be in the best of mental health?

No. You can look to make excuses for them if you like, but they're undeniably an arsehole.

Edited by Todd_is_God

3 minutes ago, Barry Ferguson's Hat said:

As a general rule, if Bigmouth Strikes Again is upvoting your posts, you need to re-educate yourself on those matters.

No, certainly not. This case is in it's early stages, to get in there quickly blaming 3rd parties with no substantial evidence seems like someone promoting their own politics rather than wait on actual evidence.

1 minute ago, Todd_is_God said:

No. You can look to make excuses for them if you like, but they're an arsehole.

1 minute ago, Todd_is_God said:

Defending stabby arseholes is such a weird and edgy take.

No ones defending him ffs. What people are saying is if things were funded and resourced properly opportunities to stop these things would be available. No one saying the person who did this is innocent, not even remotely! 

1 minute ago, Sheas_cake said:

I see folk are already circulating some fake pish about an immigrant on a watch list. 

This is going to end up being some 17 year loner with a massive mental health disorder, an obsession over Taylor Swift and about 5000 hours down various youTube rabbit holes. 

Yeah ok, what's the mental heath issues ? Nothing on MSM so what info have you have ?

6 minutes ago, Todd_is_God said:

No. You can look to make excuses for them if you like, but they're an arsehole.

Think there's maybe a compromise, he's a deranged arsehole.

Shocking thing to happen, dropping/taking your kid to a dance class you don't expect a maniac with a knife to come along and take their life, horrendous.

Just now, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

No ones defending him ffs. What people are saying is if things were funded and resourced properly opportunities to stop these things would be available. No one saying the person who did this is innocent, not even remotely! 

Making excuses then. Put words in front of it if it makes you feel better, but baulking at calling them an arsehole is delusional. 

1 minute ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Think there's maybe a compromise, he's a deranged arsehole.

Yeah OK that's fair.

Just now, Sheas_cake said:

I dunno. I'm assuming a guy who stabs a bunch of wee kids is not likely to be playing with a full deck of cards. 

I was in the process of typing something similar.

There are posters on here who appear to have limited capacity to understand that issues might have a complexity beyond someone being an ‘arsehole’.

1 minute ago, Inanimate Carbon Rod said:

No, what people are saying is two kids have been murdered and you blaming funding and resources. Again what is the cuts that caused this atrocity ?

1 minute ago, Cheese said:

Stabbing multiple children is in fact the sign of an incredibly healthy brain.

Where do you draw the line when it comes to acts of violence, though? At what point does an arsehole become not an arsehole, but instead merely someone with mental health issues? If you apply that logic universally then the suggestion here appears to be that with infinite money to spend you would have a completely non-violent society.