Raith Rovers v falkirk

4 minutes ago, da_no_1 said:

Yes, yes we did. Well spotted.

Clearly I was taking the pure pish out my own shambles of a club and you didn't quite get it.

I really must make myself clearer.

I just assumed you where being brave. My condolences to you and your loved ones at this difficult time. 

I get a sense of frustration with McGlynn at our growing injury situation, it’s like we get one player back and another drops. The Callumn Morrison one is strange as medical specialists haven’t got to the bottom of it. As mentioned if MacIver is going to be out for a while, we can’t rely on McKenna and Shanley as cover.

Very tight game with hardly any clear cut chances. Think we edged it and deserved the win purely because of Dylan Easton. The first half he was superb. When the ball was bouncing around in our box at the end feared another Hamilton, but thankfully we showed a bit more steel. Was pleased to see McGlynn get a good reception from the South Stand at the start of the game after all the talk of booing. 

On Falkirk’s run, for anyone outside the Old Firm to put together that sort of run whether it’s in L1 or L2 or wherever is an achievement that deserves credit.  Glad that we ended it and hopefully it can kick start our season. 

8 hours ago, 18BAIRN76 said:

Not meaning to pick on this post in particular, but seen this sentiment expressed a few times. If it’s not such an amazing achievement, why has no other club in Scotland done it, outside Celtic or Rangers? There’s numerous examples over a large number of seasons of ‘bigger’ clubs playing at levels arguably below where they should be playing, so there has been plenty of opportunities for someone to do it. By all means, rip the pish out of us for losing if you want to, fair enough. But any club in Scotland - outwith the arsecheeks - playing 43 league games in a row without losing a single one is an incredible achievement and to argue otherwise is silly. 

It’s really not, it’s league one and for a club like Falkirk (as big a club as Kilmarnock we’ve been told recently) I don’t really think it’s a great achievement. It’s a good one but not incredible in my opinion.

6 minutes ago, Sortmeout said:

It’s really not, it’s league one and for a club like Falkirk (as big a club as Kilmarnock we’ve been told recently) I don’t really think it’s a great achievement. It’s a good one but not incredible in my opinion.

You are talking shite looking for bites mate. Its a magnificent achievement and no amount of this glib nonsense will change that. 

7 hours ago, pantene proV said:

Not in the Championship its not m9

Well done to Falkirk for the 0-0 draw and extending their unbeaten run.

It certainly is. They've proven they can score against far better teams than the championship over the last couple of seasons. Might not get as many but when you take players that scored 66 goals out the side it's always going to be an uphill battle.

2 minutes ago, Shodwall cat said:

It certainly is. They've proven they can score against far better teams than the championship over the last couple of seasons. Might not get as many but when you take players that scored 66 goals out the side it's always going to be an uphill battle.

Someone who thinks losing those players is no issue is just someone that doesn't really watch or understand football tbh. 

1 hour ago, Jilted John said:

Looked as though he was biting his tongue and wanted to rant about something. Similar to the ‘can ye count?’ Interview he did when with us. 

He was understandably pissed off that his team gave away a point by pissing about with the ball first half in what should've otherwise been a comfortable away draw. 

9 hours ago, Sortmeout said:

It was mainly league one it’s not some sort of amazing achievement.

Of course it wasn’t that’s why no one outside the OF have ever done it. 

9 hours ago, stevoraith said:

Agreed. The ball over the top between Stevenson an Hanlon for Agyeman to chase was obviously a tactic they set out to use but I don’t think it caused us any bother- can’t think of a time he managed to get a cross in or make it into the box in a dangerous way. 
Agyeman does look a handful but I thought we dealt with him well. 
Do Falkirk always use him wide? Seems like he’d do well noising up defenders in the box. 

Pollock didn’t get much change out of the no. 20 though (Adams?). Thought he looked a good player. 

Tait was pretty anonymous which was great to see. Spencer still a class act and I actually thought Ethan Ross was ok- I’d take him back to sit on the bench and run at tired defences for the last 15mins. 

From the Rovers team Easton was great until he began to tire, Hamilton has been the player we thought we were getting when we signed him in the last two games and Hanlon was outstanding at the back. 

Overall I’m not sure we deserved to win the game but it wasn’t exactly robbery. Not a single shot on target for either team (except for the penalty obviously) was not what I expected before the game. 

It’s exactly what we needed, grinding out a result against a team high on confidence.  Hopefully this result combined with finally getting some important bodies back from injury will kick-start the season. 

Agyeman blows hot and cold same with Ross a bit.  Why they don't start when Morrison and miller are both fit but both are very decent  impact subs.  They simply don't have the same consistency and final product as Morrison and miller.  

18 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

You are talking shite looking for bites mate. Its a magnificent achievement and no amount of this glib nonsense will change that. 

Definitely don’t agree. We don’t need to have the same opinion.

ETA - didn’t Sevco go through league one unbeaten? If so can you direct me to any posts you made talking about their magnificent achievement when they did it? 

Edited by Sortmeout

7 minutes ago, BPM said:

Of course it wasn’t that’s why no one outside the OF have ever done it. 

3 minutes ago, Sortmeout said:

Definitely don’t agree. We don’t need to have the same opinion.

ETA - didn’t Sevco go through league one unbeaten? If so can you direct me to any posts you made talking about their magnificent achievement when they did it? 

Rangers were paying Premiership level players thousands of pounds a week in League one. Please, at least do me the courtesy of not pretending you think its the same thing

Just now, Bairnardo said:

Rangers were paying Premiership level players thousands of pounds a week in League one. Please, at least do me the courtesy of not pretending you think its the same thing

Seems like you have just changed the goalposts.

This is by no means sour grapes as I’ve made my feelings clear on the game already but that ref really was dreadful for playing on and not going back to book players. Hamilton should have been in the book at least twice for fouls he committed where the ref played on. Also don’t get me started on the tackle the boy did on Adams.