Official P&b Cycling Thread

Thanks. I would be using it once or twice weekly, going about 10 - 15 miles each time. It's purely for leisure as I live too far away from work to cycle.

It would mainly be cycle paths/roads but I would like the chance to do a bit of off roading.

Edited by energyzone

Thanks. I would be using it once or twice weekly, going about 10 - 15 miles each time. It's purely for leisure as I live too far away from work to cycle.

It would mainly be cycle paths/roads but I would like the chance to do a bit of off roading.

On general principles Id avoid Agros as they have not a clue about bikes. The Halfords one looks ok, read a couple of reviews online and people do say it has broad knobbly mountain bikish tyres so is likely to be a bit more effort to keep going on the road but the ride should be a small bit smoother. So its up to you if you want to look for another hybrid with 700cc wheels, they will be less effort but a bit bumpier. The tyres should be fine for a bit of light offroading.

Make sure you buy a bike the right size and insist they they set it up correctly for your size.

The saddle and pedal arrangement however is most important as amazingly this will make it easier to ride and will prevent knee problems and even saddle sore !!.

The Highway code states that a cyclist rider must be able to touch the floor with their balls of their feet and this is often the best place to start although a cyclist rule of being close to full leg extent when at the bottom of the pedal stroke is a better guide as this will allow your upper leg muscles to fully extend and make it easier to ride your cycle.

This will however often mean the rider is struggling to touch the floor so it will depend on your riding experence as to where you personally end up adjusting your saddle .

Our size guide is a miniumum cycle size requirement and will generally need a adjusting according to your personal preferences.

The height at the front will also have a major effect on your cycling experence the majortiy of cycles have either a adjustable stem or can be raised or lowered .

For more information on size setup of your cycle follow our assembly guide -here

Adults

Most Adults cycles are manufactured worldwide to the same ISO standards and do not tend to vary greatly in terms of geometry from manufacter to manufacter . The general rule is one wheel size several frame sizes.

The wheelsize however can vary from 20" wheels such as folding cycles and BMX through to 28" wheels such as Hybrid, Sports Hybrid, Racer, and Road Bikes.

The frames can vary from 14" through to 23" and the size of the bike you need obviously depending on your size. On all cycles you will find some further adjustment is required in terms of saddle height and handlebar position. We have come up with this rough inside leg guide -

Frame Size Inside leg Guide (minimum size) Person Size Ft

• 22" - 23" - 32"+ 6ft +
  • 20" - 29" 5ft 10
  • 18" - 27" 5ft 6
  • 16" - 25" 5ft 4
  • 14" - 23.5" 5ft 2

http://www.bikeoutle...s/The_size.html

A badly sized bike can be a real pain.

Edited by dorlomin

All set for the Skye Mor on Saturday, with the forecast suggesting temperatures reaching 24C :o

I'd better arrange for a crash team to be on standby!

The route for this ride looks breathtaking, so my intention is not to kill myself but enjoy the day. Undulating is probably the best way to describe the route, though in such temperatures, the hills will be a challenge (though a sea breeze should bring some relief).

I've lost some fitness having had the Small Man Flu (worse than regular as it is more concentrated :ph34r: ), in the past couple of weeks. I did consider dropping to the 65 mile route but I'll most likely regret this afterwards, so will stick with the original plan and tackle the full 95. The conditions look spot-on (if a tad hot), and the scenery will be spectacular. No worrying about average mph or times on the day. This is one to savour 8)

All set for the Skye Mor on Saturday, with the forecast suggesting temperatures reaching 24C :o

I'd better arrange for a crash team to be on standby!

The route for this ride looks breathtaking, so my intention is not to kill myself but enjoy the day. Undulating is probably the best way to describe the route, though in such temperatures, the hills will be a challenge (though a sea breeze should bring some relief).

I've lost some fitness having had the Small Man Flu (worse than regular as it is more concentrated :ph34r: ), in the past couple of weeks. I did consider dropping to the 65 mile route but I'll most likely regret this afterwards, so will stick with the original plan and tackle the full 95. The conditions look spot-on (if a tad hot), and the scenery will be spectacular. No worrying about average mph or times on the day. This is one to savour 8)

Best of luck Sir.........

I've just had a wee look at the website for this and "undulating" is one description for sure...........:P

It mentions that you need to reach a specific point by a certain time of day or you will be put on the shorter route. You need to average 10mph to make sure you make this....

Enjoy, whatever......;)

Best of luck Sir.........

I've just had a wee look at the website for this and "undulating" is one description for sure...........:P

It mentions that you need to reach a specific point by a certain time of day or you will be put on the shorter route. You need to average 10mph to make sure you make this....

Enjoy, whatever......;)

Cheers b-l

The route is longer but probably less challenging (climbs-wise) than the recent Scottish Bike Show 65 mile sportive which included the Duke's Pass and a few other choice ascents, and definitely looks a bit less onerous than the Glasgow 100 I did last year. 3000 metres climbing in total apparently. Sounds a lot, but spread over 95 miles, it should be okay. The max height gained is 190 metres or so, whereas some of the others have bigger and sharper climbs.

I won't be underestimating it, though. I want to enjoy the day so will be taking it easy - averaging around 15 mph will do me fine. The heat will put paid to any ambitions I might have had to better that (not that I'm bothered, TBH, this is one to enjoy the scenery!). Keeping hydrated will be the key!

Well, that was quite something!

With the thermometers topping out at around 29 celcius, that was one hell of a ride. Addding in the 4 mile cycle from the B&B to the start at Portree high School, it was pretty much 100 all in, and did it feel like it!

The first 40 miles or so were spectacular as we hugged the northern coastline of the island. Breath-taking scenery, and more than a few breath-taking climbs (and descents!) thrown in, but every mile worth the effort just to be there in such sensational conditions. We then turned back towards Portree where the Beag riders finished up, while the Mor hardcore (geddit?) headed down to Dunvegin and onwards in the increasing middle of the day heat.

The leg from Uig back towards Portree had been a battle against a pretty strong headwind, but this didn't come close to preparing me for the road to Dunvegin, and then, tougher still, the ride through to Sligachan. By this time, (80 miles or thereabouts), it was becoming harder with every turn of the cranks to appreciate the sight of the Cuillin looming ahead. Keeping the head up was a challenge in itself, and with a few more tough climbs - including a 'bastard' as so aptly termed by a guy who honked up it at my back - we weren't benefitting from any respite from the blistering heat.

Landing in Sligachan with 9 miles to go, and topping up on fluids and a banana for good measure, we were reliably informed that aside from an initial climb away from the hotel, it was pretty much downhill to Portree, with the added bonus of a tail-wind thrown in. Quite where that tail-wind went is something I still haven't worked out, but regardless of whatever direction the breeze was blowing, that final leg was just a case of gritting the teeth and grinding it out to the finish.

I presented my 'dib' timer chip and learned that I'd completed the ride in 6 hrs and 58 minutes. Not bad considering the conditions, and the requirement to take a pause at every feed station to replenish fluids. Total riding time was probably about 6 hrs 40, but yesterday was all about taking part and completing the ride.

I'll probably never experience Skye in better weather conditions, so to have cycled a fair portion of it while it basked in glorious sunshine is something I won't forget. Would I do it again? Hmm....maybe the Beag next time, then off to the pub :)

Edited by Drooper

Sounds a good run Drooper.

I did a run from Paisley to Gourock on Saturday and it was a great day for cycling, 2 hours 15 or so to Gourock too wasn't a bad time, but not one of my best with the heat. The cycle track in the Port and Greenock is still a glass filled shambles, but lot of re-surfacing in parts.

The headwind from the east was something else, one of the strongest I've felt on a nice day. I did 2 miles from Paisley Town Centre on way out took me just under 9 minutes. On the way back the same part took 15 mins!

Sounds a good run Drooper.

I did a run from Paisley to Gourock on Saturday and it was a great day for cycling, 2 hours 15 or so to Gourock too wasn't a bad time, but not one of my best with the heat. The cycle track in the Port and Greenock is still a glass filled shambles, but lot of re-surfacing in parts.

The headwind from the east was something else, one of the strongest I've felt on a nice day. I did 2 miles from Paisley Town Centre on way out took me just under 9 minutes. On the way back the same part took 15 mins!

Aye, I'd thoroughly recommend either Skye sportive event.

It seems the two previous events were beset with terrible weather conditions, and the long route in particular would be murderous on such conditions. Indeed, I was talking to a guy who signed up for the Mor on both occasions but had to bail out and do the shorter route due to the conditions.

As for winds, it's amazing how what seems like a fairly gentle breeze when you're not riding can actually be a real energy sapper on the bike. For large sections of the route on Saturday, I reckon the headwind must have put paid to my MPH rate (albeit I wasn't fussed with this on the day given the heat, climbs, and some dodgy road surfaces in parts).

Drooper, that sounds like a cracking day and a good time in that heat.

I finally managed to get back in the saddle yesterday and did a slightly hilly 36 miles in just over 2 hours which was a decent run.

Work has been a pain for the last month or so - just happy to get back out and getting ready for the 100 miler in September.

A group of us did Edinburgh to Glasgow on Saturday.

Good day for it.

Total distance of 59miles and total time of 6hrs 30mins. We stopped off for about 40mins at both the Falkirk Wheel and The Stables in Kirkie so actual ride time was more likely to be around 5hrs.

Next cycle is around Arran.

Anyone done this recently?

Looking at arriving off the 10.40 ferry and then leaving on the 16.40 ferry.

Is 6hrs sufficent time to get around including a couple of decent stops?

On a mountain bike with slicks. I am usually comfortable at around 14/15mph.

Next cycle is around Arran.

Anyone done this recently?

Looking at arriving off the 10.40 ferry and then leaving on the 16.40 ferry.

Is 6hrs sufficent time to get around including a couple of decent stops?

On a mountain bike with slicks. I am usually comfortable at around 14/15mph.

I think Arran is tricky at the moment, because of road repairs. It is closed to cars at one point (near Corrie- North Island I think) but buses are getting escorted through the road works so you might be OK on bikes.

Well, that was quite something!

With the thermometers topping out at around 29 celcius, that was one hell of a ride. Addding in the 4 mile cycle from the B&B to the start at Portree high School, it was pretty much 100 all in, and did it feel like it!

The first 40 miles or so were spectacular as we hugged the northern coastline of the island. Breath-taking scenery, and more than a few breath-taking climbs (and descents!) thrown in, but every mile worth the effort just to be there in such sensational conditions. We then turned back towards Portree where the Beag riders finished up, while the Mor hardcore (geddit?) headed down to Dunvegin and onwards in the increasing middle of the day heat.

The leg from Uig back towards Portree had been a battle against a pretty strong headwind, but this didn't come close to preparing me for the road to Dunvegin, and then, tougher still, the ride through to Sligachan. By this time, (80 miles or thereabouts), it was becoming harder with every turn of the cranks to appreciate the sight of the Cuillin looming ahead. Keeping the head up was a challenge in itself, and with a few more tough climbs - including a 'b*****d' as so aptly termed by a guy who honked up it at my back - we weren't benefitting from any respite from the blistering heat.

Landing in Sligachan with 9 miles to go, and topping up on fluids and a banana for good measure, we were reliably informed that aside from an initial climb away from the hotel, it was pretty much downhill to Portree, with the added bonus of a tail-wind thrown in. Quite where that tail-wind went is something I still haven't worked out, but regardless of whatever direction the breeze was blowing, that final leg was just a case of gritting the teeth and grinding it out to the finish.

I presented my 'dib' timer chip and learned that I'd completed the ride in 6 hrs and 58 minutes. Not bad considering the conditions, and the requirement to take a pause at every feed station to replenish fluids. Total riding time was probably about 6 hrs 40, but yesterday was all about taking part and completing the ride.

I'll probably never experience Skye in better weather conditions, so to have cycled a fair portion of it while it basked in glorious sunshine is something I won't forget. Would I do it again? Hmm....maybe the Beag next time, then off to the pub :)

Sounds as if this was both heaven and hell....... and yes I'm jealous...!

Well done to you sir, this will definitely be a story worth recalling in years to come.......or at the next P&B outing ......;)

Drooper, that sounds like a cracking day and a good time in that heat.

I finally managed to get back in the saddle yesterday and did a slightly hilly 36 miles in just over 2 hours which was a decent run.

Work has been a pain for the last month or so - just happy to get back out and getting ready for the 100 miler in September.

Sounds as if this was both heaven and hell....... and yes I'm jealous...!

Well done to you sir, this will definitely be a story worth recalling in years to come.......or at the next P&B outing ......;)

Cheers guys.

I'm actually pretty gubbed still, probably down to dehydration. I was stocked up with electrolyte drink tabs and powders, and energy gels galore, but they were making me feel physically sick because they were getting hot given the temperature. These things can be pretty hard to stomach at the best of times, but they were giving me the boak. I had to settle with straight water eventually, and top up at every opportunity.

ETA: I'm up for another Team P&B ride in the next few weeks. Anyone have any suggestions as to dates? I'm okay up to the middle of July, when I'm likely to be offski on the family holiday if we can get something cheap and cheerful booked up.

Edited by Drooper

The Skye run sounds awesome - I'm going up there this week, but in a car.

I've been concentrating on short 20-25 mile runs recently, trying to get my fitness back up. That easterly wind is a killer - easily wiping 30% off my pace.

back on the bike going for it getting up early and do a couple 20 milers before work and after work to make up for lost time. Going for the trossachs 100k Action Medical run next month

Good stuff.

Glad to hear you're on the mend.

ETA: I'm up for another Team P&B ride in the next few weeks. Anyone have any suggestions as to dates? I'm okay up to the middle of July,

I'm afraid Im going to have to duck out of any future outings,as basically commited to more or less every Sunday with bike club and cant do Saturdays

Sorry

I'm afraid Im going to have to duck out of any future outings,as basically commited to more or less every Sunday with bike club and cant do Saturdays

Sorry

That's a shame.

So who is up for a get together?