Worst Town/area In Scotland

MTJ

I was in Port Glasgow once with an ex and she was visiting her Auntie. The three of us were walking back from her Grans when these bunch of neds started shouting over at us, as soon as we walked around the corner, her 50 plus year old Aunt sprinted like f**k leaving the two of us looking at each other.

Classy place.

Going back to train lines, the Glasgow > Ardrossan South Beach line can be a pretty daunting experience, especially at weekends. Passes a few right dodgy schemes

Glasgow, Paisley (Feegie), Johnstone (in general), Miliken Park (Howwood Road), Glengarnock (Kilbirnie Longbar - hellhole), Dalry (has a few horrible schemes, Timber etc), Kilwinning (Blacklands), Stevenston (all of it), Saltcoats (top end), Ardrossan (top end)

I don't really think you've stepped foot in the blacklands in a while.

Its one of the best areas in Kilwinning these days, and it doesn't actually look too bad anymore.

The woodwynd is the worst scheme in Kilwinning these days, full of junkies.

Couldn't tell you about life expectancy but if you lived in Kilwinning you would definetly have had your hole by now.

I don't have any sisters. Seems like that's a swing and a miss on two fronts: quite an achievement.

• 2 years later...

Brilliant thread; and very illuminating (and very funny; I'm glad the site doesn't regulate laguange too much).

I'm a Sassenach, currently living in Belgium, and just come into a wee bit of money - far too little to be able to afford anything 'dahn sahf' (where I come from) - but I lived in Ayr for a short while and was very surpised to find that there are several places I can afford up in Ayrshire (although I'm sure you'll tell me why).

Right now, I've got three on my shortlist: Maybole, Girvan and Auchinleck. I notice that the latter has come in for a bit of stick, but it has a railway station (5 minutes walk apparently), and the property is the cheapest of the three by far, and comes with washer, cooker and fridge already installed. Unlike some of you (I suspect), I don't have any great expectations of nightlife; just looking to downsize somewhere quiet, curl up me tootsies, and enjoy not having a car (I cycle everywhere).

If anyone has any opinion on the three places, I'd love to hear it. Just remember: I'm 57, not 27. :-)

And since I did live in a few places in Scotland back in the late 90's over about 3 years, I'd like to offer my 'uitlander' nominations:

1. Possilpark - possibly the most depressing place I've ever seen; added to which was the fact that you couldn't get a draft pint without the word "shilling" in it. Couldn't even get Deuchar's, the one pint that was actually worthy of being called 'beer' at the time (although it was before the microbrewery explosion).

Thank God I only worked there and had a flat in Charing Cross - which I REALLY liked. Two blocks up from the "other" end of Sauchihall St. and quiet as a graveyard ... and two local casinos where I could go and lose a bit of money and drink (and eat) cheaply and well.

2. Livingstone - not a hellhole exactly; more of a Milton Keynes/God's waiting room. I worked for SkyTV, and it was the only contract I ever *asked* to be released from - though, to be fair, that had much more to do with SkyTV than Livingstone itself. I also have a soft spot for Livingstone FC, because the poor buggers won the Scottish First Division the year I was there, but didn't get into the Premier League because there was an ban on promotion/relegation that season.

Thanks for the info. Great thread.

Winston

Brilliant thread; and very illuminating (and very funny; I'm glad the site doesn't regulate laguange too much).

I'm a Sassenach, currently living in Belgium, and just come into a wee bit of money - far too little to be able to afford anything 'dahn sahf' (where I come from) - but I lived in Ayr for a short while and was very surpised to find that there are several places I can afford up in Ayrshire (although I'm sure you'll tell me why).

Right now, I've got three on my shortlist: Maybole, Girvan and Auchinleck. I notice that the latter has come in for a bit of stick, but it has a railway station (5 minutes walk apparently), and the property is the cheapest of the three by far, and comes with washer, cooker and fridge already installed. Unlike some of you (I suspect), I don't have any great expectations of nightlife; just looking to downsize somewhere quiet, curl up me tootsies, and enjoy not having a car (I cycle everywhere).

If anyone has any opinion on the three places, I'd love to hear it. Just remember: I'm 57, not 27. :-)

And since I did live in a few places in Scotland back in the late 90's over about 3 years, I'd like to offer my 'uitlander' nominations:

1. Possilpark - possibly the most depressing place I've ever seen; added to which was the fact that you couldn't get a draft pint without the word "shilling" in it. Couldn't even get Deuchar's, the one pint that was actually worthy of being called 'beer' at the time (although it was before the microbrewery explosion).

Thank God I only worked there and had a flat in Charing Cross - which I REALLY liked. Two blocks up from the "other" end of Sauchihall St. and quiet as a graveyard ... and two local casinos where I could go and lose a bit of money and drink (and eat) cheaply and well.

2. Livingstone - not a hellhole exactly; more of a Milton Keynes/God's waiting room. I worked for SkyTV, and it was the only contract I ever *asked* to be released from - though, to be fair, that had much more to do with SkyTV than Livingstone itself. I also have a soft spot for Livingstone FC, because the poor buggers won the Scottish First Division the year I was there, but didn't get into the Premier League because there was an ban on promotion/relegation that season.

Thanks for the info. Great thread.

Winston

Look up Dunfermline, Winston. The place is the nuts.

It is hilarious - once had an argument with a woman,

was giving her a £12 crisis loan at 16.00 on a Wednesday and she could cash her book the next day.

Her comment 'how can I feed me and my two kids tonight a fish supper is over 4quid each'.

The concept of supermarket and cooking beyond her. Absolute nightmares.

I'm sure the OP is long-since gone, but just to confirm: My sister lives in Vancouver - regularlly cited in the top 10 most "livable" cities in the world. What they don't tell you is that it also contains Canada's poorest postcode, which is where my sister has worked for the past 25 years, making breakfasts for schoolkids. Her programme even won her an Order of Canada award last year.

She's tried offering basic cooking classes (literally: how to boil an egg stuiff), but they all meet with the same response: A few desultory turn-ups who do it because they get a bit of dosh from the provincial government. I think she's had 3 people complete AND PASS the course in the 6 or 7 times she's tried.

MacDonald's (and chippies): You've won the war. Nobody in your target demographic knows how to COOK any more.

Winston

Auchinleck makes Possil look like Las Vegas.

Really. Ah well ... guess I won't be making an 'offer' on that one then...

But seriously? Possil reminded me of the outskirts of Warsaw in the seventies: Huge blocks of badly-built "comrade" apartments, slapped together to alleviate the housing shortage after the war. And of course, a beer desert at the time...

Winston

Auchinleck's amazing. You should definitely buy a house there. If they have included white goods and it's still the cheapest by far on your shortlist then they've obviously made a mistake in their marketing and you'd be daft not to buy it.

Hope you're not taking the P because I'm a cross-border Son of William. I'm obviously going to look; but after what Ive heard about it and New Cumnock down the road...

Much as I want the quiet life, I want to be able to live it; and it'd be nice to have a few decent shops nearby.

Winston

Good chance I'll be going to Auchinleck tomorrow for their match against Cumnock. Why do I get the feeling I'll be able to judge it at it's worst?

Can't post it up, but YouTube 'toughest villages in Britain 4/5' and skip through to New Cumnock about 2/3rds of the way through.

Look up Dunfermline, Winston. The place is the nuts.

Actually been to Dunfermline - although it was just to Sky's offices there, so probably didn't see the "real" town. Even so, I was glad to get back over the bridge. :-)

Winston

Edited by YoungWinston

Actually been to Dunfermline - although it was just to Sky's offices there, so probably didn't see the "real" town. Even so, I was glad to get back over the bridge. :-)

Winston

Dunfermline's actually quite nice as far as Scottish towns go.

That said, a bit of the centre (typically on the main route through) looks a right mess just now with the derelict Fire Station and massive Dunlop factory sitting there which are no use to anyone, next to a giant building site for an imaginative Tesco store. No idea if the nightclub there is open or shut down on a standard near annual basis. The extension to the Kingsgate just makes it look like any other new town. Could be Cumbernauld if you suddenly woke up on the bus.

Palace with abbey, Pittencrieff Park and several Stephens outlets sellng the world's finest delicacy are just some of it's saving graces though.

Good chance I'll be going to Auchinleck tomorrow for their match against Cumnock. Why do I get the feeling I'll be able to judge it at it's worst?

Can't post it up, but YouTube 'toughest villages in Britain 4/5' and skip through to New Cumnock about 2/3rds of the way through.

Cheers Hedgecutter. Sounds like another "thumbs down" unfortunately.

I should say that I really enjoyed my time in Scotland. Started out in Glasgow; and once I worked out that these "fierce sounding" (and there IS a bit of a 'language barrier') guys I met in the pub weren't going to nut me, I found everybody really friendly. And TALK - sheesh can you guys talk - which is great because I come from a family of 'em. Weather, politics, history, religion...nothing's taboo - which is brilliant. Try talking about religion in a Canadian pub...

About the only "strange" thing I remember was being asked to leave because I was wearing a blue shirt in a Celtic pub and there was an auld firm game coming on. I was a bit cheesed off at the time, but I'm sure they did it for my protection.

Winston

Edited by YoungWinston