The Wrestling Thread

Mo Wonderboy

Probably Mania 17 for me. The main event, the TLC and the hardcore matches are just three amazing matches.

Raven getting put through the window is one of the coolest things I've ever seen in wrestling, first time I saw it I just wasn't expecting it at all.

My favourite PPV ever is WMX8. Hogan-Rock, Hall-Austin, HHH-Jericho Flair-Undertaker and plenty of decent stuff on the undercard. That would be closely followed by Survivor Series from the same year (2002) - the first elimination chamber and the debut of Steiner. 2002 was my favourite year for wrestling, the WWE roster was amazing.

I dunno. I think X-8 is consistant enough, but there's not enough real class matches there. Rock/Hogan is about it. The other matches are decent enough really.

Probably Mania 17 for me. The main event, the TLC and the hardcore matches are just three amazing matches.

TLC and Rock/Austin are sensational. The Hardcore match is boring. Bunch of guys crowd brawling and then there's two good spots.

Not to forget the 24 hour hardcore title match or something like that.

Was that not Wrestlemania 2000? The hardcore 15 minute match where the guy with the pin at the end was the champ? I certainly hope not.

Not to forget the 24 hour hardcore title match or something like that.

It changed hands on numerous occasions. I haven't watched it for ages but can vividly remember Mighty Molly shouting "To the hurra-mobile!" and smacking the Hurricane in the back of the head with a frying pan to take the title.

TLC and Rock/Austin are sensational. The Hardcore match is boring. Bunch of guys crowd brawling and then there's two good spots.

The hardcore match at WM17 was Raven vs Kane vs Big Show. I thought that was fairly entertaining.

Was that not Wrestlemania 2000? The hardcore 15 minute match where the guy with the pin at the end was the champ? I certainly hope not.

He's thinking of Goldust vs Maven, which descended into a bit of a farce with Spike, Crash, Hurricane, Molly Holly and Christian all chasing the belt by the end of the night.

I dunno. I think X-8 is consistant enough, but there's not enough real class matches there. Rock/Hogan is about it. The other matches are decent enough really.

It's nostalgia as much as anything else for me. I was right into my wrestling in 2002.

Yup. A boring match happened to have golf carts and a guy getting lobbed through a window.

No way man. Those two are great(although Raven totally fucked up the golf carts bit) but just brawling to the back was great. Big Show going through a wall and the metal mesh fence thing.

WM19 was a good PPV as well

Obviously there was the botch from Lesnar but the main event was still a brilliant match. Added to that the emotional goodbye of SCSA, Hogan vs Mcmahon not being terrible and Jericho vs Michaels being excellent then it was a strong PPV. The only things that hold it back are the poor Taker match and HHH vs Booker T not exactly being a classic title match. Still they had a really strong card for it, and managed to pull it off pretty impressively.

All great suggestions for the greatest PPV... WM17 is the Daddy, but I think one of the more under-rated ones has to be Mania 22 from 2006.

Similar to Canadian Stampede, the crowd played a big part. We had a decent MITB match for the time, Edge vs Foley, Trish vs Mickie James (quite probably the best women's wrestling match at Wrestlemania ever), HBK vs McMahon delievered the goods too. Then, of course, there was that main event between Cena and Triple H. As I mentioned earlier the crowd were a big part of this PPV but they created some atmosphere for that finale. Just brilliant.

No way man. Those two are great(although Raven totally fucked up the golf carts bit) but just brawling to the back was great. Big Show going through a wall and the metal mesh fence thing.

I hated the wall spot. Looked fake as f**k.

Oh, former Scottish pro wrestler James Brown, known as James Wallace and Jay Phoenix here, is getting done for child porn and exposing himself in a public place. Wee fun tidbits to add to this, and I should stress that this is NOT a joke...

* He got stabbed in jail and moved to Bar-L.

* He turned up for court in a Tapout t-shirt and chinos.

* He talked about how great a wrestler he is and called the jury b*****ds.

There's gonna be a story in the Sunday Mail covering it in detail. It's all fucking lovely though. Utter c**t.

Oh, former Scottish pro wrestler James Brown, known as James Wallace and Jay Phoenix here, is getting done for child porn and exposing himself in a public place. Wee fun tidbits to add to this, and I should stress that this is NOT a joke...

There's gonna be a story in the Sunday Mail covering it in detail. It's all fucking lovely though. Utter c**t.

Aye c**t exposed himself in our local sports centre

Was on the front page of the local newspaper the Wishaw Press today.

I find it quite hard to judge PPVs as I didn't watch any live or without knowing the outcome (spoiled at school/internet) until recently.

In terms of PPVs I've enjoyed the most. The two I remember the most from my younger days of watching wrestling are No Mercy from 2000 (because, aged 10, I was so fucking pissed off the Rock lost) and Invasion for the Austin heel turn.

Since I started watching them live, Money in the Bank 2011 is my clear favourite. So it's the best in the last 4 years or so.

Would build the Rock - Cena Wrestlemania match far better if one of them was a heel as well I think.

Unnecessary. Cena will be a heel in Miami regardless of what they do.

Embarassingly I know him. He stays about 5 minutes from me so I see him fairly regularly. He always came up and spokke to me, but TBH I never liked him. He's always been a w****r. I've heard a few things about him. Apparently during his tinem in wrestling he has stolen from other wrestlers gear, used their phones to call sex lines etc etc. And he has also been a w****r with bookers, disobeying orders, not doing things as he was told. He's a grade A c**t. Ironically, he aoeard on thon Paddy McGuinness dating show back last year.

Wishaw Press

A worked with this moron about 6 years ago in strathy Park behind the bar.

Guy was a weirdo man. not suprised in the slightest this has happened. actually cant believe its taken this long!!

Funny story from the Diva Battle Royal on Raw on Monday is that Gail Kim has admitted that she actually eliminated herself in the match by rolling under the bottom rope in the first few seconds of the bout, she said she did this because she was told to get eliminated in the 1st minute of the match and this was the quickest way she knew to do it but she also wanted to see if anybody was paying attention, she added that it was pretty funny and sad that when she got backstage nobody had even realised she had taken herself out.

Another great PPV - Royal Rumble 98

New Age Outlaws vs the Road Warriors

Shamrock vs The Rock - belter of a match

Vader vs Goldust

Austin winning a great Royal Rumble match, probably my favourite RR ever.

Undertaker and Shawn Michaels having an awesome casket match. think hbk broke is back during this match or something like that

Kane had just debuted by this point as well.

And the Rock also wrestled for over an hour during that PPV

Edited by The Hero of the Day

Undertaker and Shawn Michaels having an awesome casket match. think hbk broke is back during this match or something like that

Is that the one where he went over the ropes and vaulted the casket? (seen the clip) think the instance I'm thinking of, he slipped two discs or something.