Things you want to share with P&B

Ad Lib

I was a bit disappointed today following an after match confrontation about a sending off. Firstly the team had went up to complain that I had not given them a goal - this complaint coming after they asked me the score. I don't know, maybe they got it into their heads I would give them a goal if they asked often enough.

But I digress, the sending off was not even remotely contentious. Repeated personal abuse to the referees face and I was about to book him he grabbed me twice to stop me getting the card out. So I sent him off, and he refused to give me his name in the mistaken belief that he would maybe get away with it.

Anyway, the team weren't that bad in the immediate aftermath but later on the player that had been sent off went up to confront the two receptionists - both of whom were women and neither referees. Their abuse threshold was far lower than mine. They got really pissed off and sent him out and I said I would be happy to talk to them afterwards - cause you know I can easily justify such a decision. I was ready to leave and they were huddled in a big group outside the front door but the manager told me I couldn't go out and confront them and I had to leave through the back door. The incident itself didn't bother me, but the lack of confrontation does - particularly when I come from the Ian Brines school of convincing the players you are fucking insane.

This kind of thing has happened before and before I was more than happy to cower - cause the guy was fucking massive but this time it looks like I've backed down to some fat kid.

Guest The Phoenix

I was a bit disappointed today following an after match confrontation about a sending off. Firstly the team had went up to complain that I had not given them a goal - this complaint coming after they asked me the score. I don't know, maybe they got it into their heads I would give them a goal if they asked often enough.

But I digress, the sending off was not even remotely contentious. Repeated personal abuse to the referees face and I was about to book him he grabbed me twice to stop me getting the card out. So I sent him off, and he refused to give me his name in the mistaken belief that he would maybe get away with it.

Anyway, the team weren't that bad in the immediate aftermath but later on the player that had been sent off went up to confront the two receptionists - both of whom were women and neither referees. Their abuse threshold was far lower than mine. They got really pissed off and sent him out and I said I would be happy to talk to them afterwards - cause you know I can easily justify such a decision. I was ready to leave and they were huddled in a big group outside the front door but the manager told me I couldn't go out and confront them and I had to leave through the back door. The incident itself didn't bother me, but the lack of confrontation does - particularly when I come from the Ian Brines school of convincing the players you are fucking insane.

This kind of thing has happened before and before I was more than happy to cower - cause the guy was fucking massive but this time it looks like I've backed down to some fat kid.

Just to cheer you up, I sent a young lad off last night and he came up to me after the game, shook my hand, told me his tackle was completely out of order and apologised.

Wee bawbag, I stuck the heid on him and left him lying in the car park.*

* I made that bit up, the rest is true.

Just to cheer you up, I sent a young lad off last night and he came up to me after the game, shook my hand, told me his tackle was completely out of order and apologised.

Wee bawbag, I stuck the heid on him and left him lying in the car park.

The other player who was giving me verbals after the match came over to shake my hand, which was good it shows they are not taking it seriously.

But as yellow and red cards are more work for me, you can rest assured I will try to avoid them if possible. The game was pretty hostile anyway, in the first half they were both threatening to knock each other out but when one victor emerged in the second half they turned on me. Looking back the first yellow probably exasperated it but I'd already warned him following a bad challenge so I wasn't having him swearing to my face.

Being the same age/younger than the players does not help, I can assure you.

Me and my mates were casually waiting for a taxi at about 4am last night after leaving the Arches nightclub and a drunk guy who was driving a car crashed into the traffic lights that are in the middle of the crossroads outside McDonald's/Central Station. Luckily he got out fine but the whole of the front car was mangled, we managed to push him back to the side of the road.

The guy was steaming though and was trying to get home to his girlfriend in Hamilton! :lol: Probably lucky that he crashed here instead of on the motorway at speed.

Edited by staggy4life

The other player who was giving me verbals after the match came over to shake my hand, which was good it shows they are not taking it seriously.

But as yellow and red cards are more work for me, you can rest assured I will try to avoid them if possible. The game was pretty hostile anyway, in the first half they were both threatening to knock each other out but when one victor emerged in the second half they turned on me. Looking back the first yellow probably exasperated it but I'd already warned him following a bad challenge so I wasn't having him swearing to my face.

Being the same age/younger than the players does not help, I can assure you.

I had an U19 game when I sent a guy off with about 2 minutes left for kicking an opponent after being tackled. When I showed the guy the red card he was shouting and swearing like a mental case, and had to be dragged off the pitch by his teammates. When the game finished, and I went back to the changing room, I saw the boy standing outside my door and feared the worst. Then when I walked over he said "Sorry mate, I just lost it", and shook my hand.

A kind-of ex girlfriend has messaged me on Facebook, now asked me to be a friend.

Should I accept? :unsure: She seems nice and I told her asap I was engaged.

How were you able to tell her you were engaged if your didn't accept her?

A kind-of ex girlfriend has messaged me on Facebook, now asked me to be a friend.

Should I accept? :unsure: She seems nice and I told her asap I was engaged.

Get her poked.