The Falkirk FC Thread

There's no way anyone is going to convince me that Raith Rovers are a bigger club than Motherwell.

We are smaller than motherwell,although kirkcaldy is far bigger than motherwell we cant get the punters to come out the pubs and come to starks.I think someone should torch the ice arena and maybe some of the 3000 fans would watch the rovers.

Looking through our squad and the number of appearances they've made this season, and it struck me that we seem to have a much more consistent squad than in previous years.

In all competitions, we've only got 20 players who have made 5+ appearances in all competitions. That includes McGrandles with 5, Shepherd with 6, and Ryan Blair with 9.

Defensively we've only got Grant, Leahy, McCracken, Muirhead and Watson with more than 5 appearances. Vaulks has played some games there too of course.

Lots to be said for quality over quantity for clubs at our level IMO.

Rodgers

Muirhead

McCracken

Watson

Leahy

Alston

Vaulks

Kerr

Sibbald

Baird

McGoals

McCracken is looking very past it but would rather have Vaulks in midfield.

Bring Miller on for Baird with 30 to go if we need him. He would struggle if we played him in front of the out of form Baird.

Hippo should be brought on as well if needed.

Shepps/Ohara could also be brought on to make a difference.

What a change we have seen in Shepps. He does not look like the wind would blow him over now and he has a bit more dig. Still as ginger as f**k though

Aye, when we brought him on against raith, Both me and the auld man thought it was such a daft substitution, he played great and pretty sure he set up the equaliser. He was fab on Friday night as well. Hope he continues this ðŸ˜

No surprise that Lee Miller being there has helped him.

Ohara said that he has been a huge influence on him.

Seen Lee at the cup final a year ago.

There was a guy looking for a break. Career going nowhere and rapidly becoming the forgotten man.

Look at him now

Aye, when we brought him on against raith, Both me and the auld man thought it was such a daft substitution, he played great and pretty sure he set up the equaliser. He was fab on Friday night as well. Hope he continues this

He set up the equaliser against Raith and also the equaliser against Hibs, given that it was his cross that Gray headed to Leahy for the thunderbolt. He's also played well in many of the U20 games since he came back from Brechin. Scored a few too. 

It will be harder for him to break through next year with Austin added to the squad, but at least he's in the mix again. Whereas earlier in the season he seemed to be well out the picture. 

Well done Scotty. 

1 - Absolutely none of those provincial teams are near Motherwell.

2 - Football isn't played in the stands.

Don't agree. The minute Wright fucks off anyway you will be scrabbling about amongst the rest of us diddies.

We've offered Alston a contract now, sure be embarrassing if you lost a key player to a smaller side.

Unfortunately if we don't go up we cant offer him top flight football. Apart from that he's desperate to stay at Falkirk. The big difference between our sides over the last few years has been the guys in the boardrooms. The bod at St Johnstone have done a fantastic job both in financial terms and football terms. Theyve had to replace manager after manager moving on to bigger things but always seem to make a decent decision on who to appoint next. Compare that to the clowns we had for a number of years appointing numpty after numpty and spunking cash on veteran players . Hopefully if we do get up we wont make that mistake again.

We've offered Alston a contract now, sure be embarrassing if you lost a key player to a smaller side.

Not as bad as 1 of your players dropping a league to sign for a 4 year old club.

At least Alston is going up a level

Looking through our squad and the number of appearances they've made this season, and it struck me that we seem to have a much more consistent squad than in previous years.

In all competitions, we've only got 20 players who have made 5+ appearances in all competitions. That includes McGrandles with 5, Shepherd with 6, and Ryan Blair with 9.

Defensively we've only got Grant, Leahy, McCracken, Muirhead and Watson with more than 5 appearances. Vaulks has played some games there too of course.

Lots to be said for quality over quantity for clubs at our level IMO.

Agreed.

The fact that we haven't had the same luxury as Hibs with a large squad has meant Houston has had to keep it consistent which has worked well for us and had his hand forced on squad/team selection, this coupled with the quality the players produce together as a team has benefited the club and gives a sense of camaraderie among the them.  The only downfall to having such a tight knit group is that a couple of injuries is all it takes to derail the consistency. I would love to be able to keep it the same going into next season, however if we manage to get promoted I'm not sure we currently have 11 men in this team that will make the step up and cope.

Don't take that as a negative post, far from it, more trying to be realistically optimistic or vice versa.

Oh. Was it the fact that they're a 4 year old club? A 4 year old club that just walked to the title in your league? Was it that point?

Ooooh look at you all angry.

Why has a discussion about Alston and St Johnstone got your attention anyway?