Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

Nonsense.

As has been posted several times already, if you are an employee it is the responsibility of your employer to deduct the correct tax and NI and ensure it is paid to HMRC. If they do not do so the Revenue will pursue the employer. And rightly so. They won't pursue the employee as they've done nothing wrong. If your present employer goes bust and hasn't paid your PAYE to HMRC for six months would you be happy for HMRC to come after you for it?

The only potential for chasing individuals would be if it could be proven they were complicit in agreeing a scheme they knew to be illegal to evade tax. It would be near impossible to prove and it's doubtful how much benefit there would be even if it could be proven. Almost certainly less than the costs of pursuing it.

Actually where it is PAYE, officially the burden does still lie with the taxpayer. The employer does deduct the tax but where there is an error the responsibility for repayment is with the taxpayer - usually I think they adjust the figure and reclaim it over the next tax year however where that can't be done then the employee can be hit with a bill.

Whether they do that in this instance it's not possible to tell but I can't imagine they have gone to all this trouble not to bother.

if it's income tax that's the responsibility of the individual to make sure it's paid,not costly at all to chase individuals,In fact easy targets

Incorrect.

Actually where it is PAYE, officially the burden does still lie with the taxpayer. The employer does deduct the tax but where there is an error the responsibility for repayment is with the taxpayer - usually I think they adjust the figure and reclaim it over the next tax year however where that can't be done then the employee can be hit with a bill.

Whether they do that in this instance it's not possible to tell but I can't imagine they have gone to all this trouble not to bother.

Incorrect.

HMRC Link

Any underpayment caused by the employer failing to deduct the correct amount of tax from earnings (perhaps by not using the correct code) must be recovered in the first instance from the employer.

Under-deducted tax may only be recovered from the individual if a PAYE direction is made. A PAYE direction effectively transfers liability for tax from the employer to the employee. Further information on PAYE direction is available at PAYE90020.

Edited by strichener

Don't tell me they got beat tonight at Home!?

Celtic's defensive frailties were exposed again as their chances of Europa League progress were severely dented by a home defeat by Molde.

First-half goals by Mohamed Elyounoussi and captain Daniel Hestad did the damage as Molde reached the last 32.

Kris Commons had briefly drawn Celtic level but Ronny Deila's side could not muster a second goal and had midfielder Nir Bitton sent off on 75 minutes.

Celtic are bottom of Group A, but two wins will see them through.

They face Ajax at home on 26 November before travelling to Turkey to face Fenerbahce on 10 December

Rangers fans obsessing over their rivals, playing in a European competition, on a thread about the liquidation of Rangers. Bit embarressed for you, lads.

It's the only thing keeping them going, the fantasy that one day they'll be competing on the same level as "thame".

Rangers fans obsessing over their rivals, playing in a European competition, on a thread about the liquidation of Rangers. Bit embarressed for you, lads.

The Bralt is usually swamped with posts from the C*ltic minded week in week out, irrespective of what's happening over at their place. Kinda shows where their priorities lie.

If they lost in Europe tonight all good stuff. You would think the lack of competition in the SPL would allow them to completely focus their efforts on Europe ? seems not.

The Bralt is usually swamped with posts from the C*ltic minded week in week out, irrespective of what's happening over at their place. Kinda shows where their priorities lie.

If they lost in Europe tonight all good stuff. You would think the lack of competition in the SPL would allow them to completely focus their efforts on Europe ? seems not.

I hope that isn't a suggestion if sevco got promotion last year they'd be competition for the league?

So to summarise.

Rangers win tax case, their fans say "yoo huv tae except the roolin ae eh judges"

Rangers lose tax case on appeal, their fans say "whit dae judges ken aboot tax ah'll listen tae eh tax guys on eh wireless"

And with any shred of credibility the fans argument had left now gone, the fans say "haha luk at sellick mahn cudnae even beet a bunch ae fecking viking guys pmsl jus wate tul eh mighty teddy berz take to eh field again agunst alloa"

#beyondparody

Lol it gets better ...Mike ( he is out and has no influence at Ibrox) Ashley

.http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/mike-ashley-steps-up-battle-6779266

Billionaire Mike Ashley has taken an even tighter grip on Rangers retail division and now shares a places on the board with club chairman Dave King.

It has been confirmed that the Sports Direct founder has now joined the board of Rangers Retail, giving him an even stronger hold on the operation - despite attempts to renegotiate the deal.....haha

Edited by THE KING

Don't confuse "Celtic minded" with despising Rangers.

So to summarise.

Rangers win tax case, their fans say "yoo huv tae except the roolin ae eh judges"

Rangers lose tax case on appeal, their fans say "whit dae judges ken aboot tax ah'll listen tae eh tax guys on eh wireless"

And with any shred of credibility the fans argument had left now gone, the fans say "haha luk at sellick mahn cudnae even beet a bunch ae fecking viking guys pmsl jus wate tul eh mighty teddy berz take to eh field again agunst alloa"

#beyondparody

I think if you were being honest, you'd have also admitted that a similar criticism can be aimed at the supporters of other teams.

When the first rulings went in the favour of oldco a lot of "you" opined that the verdict doesn't matter because it was "morally wrong" regardless of the outcome and, furthermore, that there was still the chance of appeal so it wasn't over.

Until we find out whether this verdict is being appealed further then any reaction from either side is premature.