Islam Feruz

3 hours ago, IainMorton said:

How many players that Chelsea send out on loan actually break through into the first team? Over the years I can’t think of many, with Courtois being the most high profile player while Lukaku was a flop at Stamford Bridge. Loftus-Cheek looks like a good prospect and it would be good to see him get a chance in the first team. Chelsea probably have more players out on loan than in their current first team squad. An interesting strategy indeed.

Chelsea have so many players out on loan (Think it was in the 50s or 60s last season) that they have an entire team of staff dedicated to it.

Paolo Ferreria that used to play for them years ago is a part of it IIRC, where he goes and checks on all those out on loan and tracks their progress.

It's clearly a way of getting round FFP rules, whilst also stockpiling players in the hope you get 1 or 2 good ones out it.

3 hours ago, IainMorton said:

How many players that Chelsea send out on loan actually break through into the first team? Over the years I can’t think of many, with Courtois being the most high profile player while Lukaku was a flop at Stamford Bridge. Loftus-Cheek looks like a good prospect and it would be good to see him get a chance in the first team. Chelsea probably have more players out on loan than in their current first team squad. An interesting strategy indeed.

Of the 40 players they have on loan (at least of the 40 Wikipedia lists as being out on loan) 11 have made at least 1 first team appearance and 5 have made more than 10 first team appearances, but those 5 include big money players like Tiemoue Bakayoko, Michy Batshuayi, and Kurt Zouma who for whatever reason haven't made the grade according to Chelsea managers.  Of the players who joined Chelsea as a young teenager or came through the academy, only Charly Musonda has made more than 5 first team appearances, and he has 7.

Edit: sorry 13 of the players on loan have first team appearances and 2 Academy grads have more than 5 appearances, had missed that Ola Aina (6 apps) is at Torino

Edited by senorsoupe

That doesn't seem like a massive earner to me; obviously we don't know the figures, but it sounds like most of their players are on loan to fill out the squads of smaller clubs. Unless they're on tiny wages, I can't see that making much money for Chelsea. Presumably the aim is to keep a massive squad and hope one or two end up being world class rather than actually turn a profit on loans.

2 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

That doesn't seem like a massive earner to me; obviously we don't know the figures, but it sounds like most of their players are on loan to fill out the squads of smaller clubs. Unless they're on tiny wages, I can't see that making much money for Chelsea. Presumably the aim is to keep a massive squad and hope one or two end up being world class rather than actually turn a profit on loans.

According to Wiki Feruz is on 2500 per week, which is 130,000 per year and he's been at Chelsea since 2011 meaning that at the end of last season he had earned 910,000, if you add in the 300,00 development fee then Chelsea had spent 1,210,000 on him since 2011 which for them is a pretty miniscule number.  If you factor in time on loan where the borrowing club probably paid a fee and part of the wages then that figure would most likely be reduced below 1,000,000, even taking into account potential yearly wage increases. 

For a club like Chelsea that's a pretty minimal financial risk for a player with a lot of potential

7 minutes ago, senorsoupe said:

According to Wiki Feruz is on 2500 per week, which is 130,000 per year and he's been at Chelsea since 2011 meaning that at the end of last season he had earned 910,000, if you add in the 300,00 development fee then Chelsea had spent 1,210,000 on him since 2011 which for them is a pretty miniscule number.  If you factor in time on loan where the borrowing club probably paid a fee and part of the wages then that figure would most likely be reduced below 1,000,000, even taking into account potential yearly wage increases. 

For a club like Chelsea that's a pretty minimal financial risk for a player with a lot of potential

Im pretty sure he was a fair bit more when he left us. We didnt even try to negotiate when Chelsea offered him a contract allegedly. He has since signed another contract when leaving though which could have been on reduced terms given hes achieved f*ck all.

11 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Im pretty sure he was a fair bit more when he left us. We didnt even try to negotiate when Chelsea offered him a contract allegedly. He has since signed another contract when leaving though which could have been on reduced terms given hes achieved f*ck all.

The 2,500 quid per week was referenced as the first contract he signed when he joined Chelsea from Celtic as a 16 year old in 2011.  He signed a new deal in 2014 and I don't know his wage on that. 

18 minutes ago, senorsoupe said:

The 2,500 quid per week was referenced as the first contract he signed when he joined Chelsea from Celtic as a 16 year old in 2011.  He signed a new deal in 2014 and I don't know his wage on that. 

Ah By all accounts he had become a bellend many months before leaving so perhaps thats why there was no negotiation. 

1 minute ago, gannonball said:

Ah By all accounts he had become a bellend many months before leaving so perhaps thats why there was no negotiation. 

Yah, although it was more his agents who were more of the bellends than he was.  It's a reason why I get cautious whenever the media starts hyping a youngster like him, all sorts of hangers on (frequently the parents) get pound signs in their eyes and their heads get turned.  It's great that Karamoko Dembele got a goal in the Glasgow Cup but Celtic need to try to keep his head on straight, same with Billy Gilmour down at Chelsea.

Just now, senorsoupe said:

Aye, that's about what I figured. They're gambling on the big pay day rather than relying on loan fees to fund their youth programme.

Anyway, a million quid for playing with the weans for seven years? He probably feels like he's doing pretty well.

Just now, senorsoupe said:

Yah, although it was more his agents who were more of the bellends than he was.  It's a reason why I get cautious whenever the media starts hyping a youngster like him, all sorts of hangers on (frequently the parents) get pound signs in their eyes and their heads get turned.  It's great that Karamoko Dembele got a goal in the Glasgow Cup but Celtic need to try to keep his head on straight, same with Billy Gilmour down at Chelsea.

Apparently he was being disruptive in training and not even turning up some times. He may very well have been the very next big thing at the time but I would rather see guys like that go as it sends a bad message to everybody if we were to allow it. The Dembele lad seems to have his head screwed on a bit more by the sounds of it. I was on a flight last year to Amsterdam and a celtic youth team was on it with him in it. One of the dads was beside me and I was asking about him and he said he’s no different attitude wise than anybody else and has quite grounded parents. Apparently though he is going to declare for Ivory Coast once 18, not that I give much of a f*ck really.

16 minutes ago, gannonball said:

Apparently though he is going to declare for Ivory Coast once 18, not that I give much of a f*ck really.

There is still time for him to change his mind.  We (Canada) just managed to change the mind of a young defender named Ballou Tabla who is in Barcelona's youth system, he was set to declare for Ivory Coast but we managed to convince him to play for us and he's now cap-tied

5 hours ago, IainMorton said:

Would you count de Bruyne? He was sent on loan to Wolfsburg after they bought him.

2 hours ago, senorsoupe said:

Of the 40 players they have on loan (at least of the 40 Wikipedia lists as being out on loan) 11 have made at least 1 first team appearance and 5 have made more than 10 first team appearances, but those 5 include big money players like Tiemoue Bakayoko, Michy Batshuayi, and Kurt Zouma who for whatever reason haven't made the grade according to Chelsea managers.  Of the players who joined Chelsea as a young teenager or came through the academy, only Charly Musonda has made more than 5 first team appearances, and he has 7.

Edit: sorry 13 of the players on loan have first team appearances and 2 Academy grads have more than 5 appearances, had missed that Ola Aina (6 apps) is at Torino

Bakayoko is pish tbf and Zouma hasn’t been the same player since he got a bad injury a few years ago.

How many players have been in the position of being eligible to play for more than one country, and has chosen the clearly inferior nation? In terms of footballing pedigree, before anyone accuses me of getting all Hitlery.

Just curious if this young Ivorian lad has declared from a love of Canada, or because he realised he was never getting near his homeland's squad. The terrible cynic that I am.

42 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

How many players have been in the position of being eligible to play for more than one country, and has chosen the clearly inferior nation? In terms of footballing pedigree, before anyone accuses me of getting all Hitlery.

Just curious if this young Ivorian lad has declared from a love of Canada, or because he realised he was never getting near his homeland's squad. The terrible cynic that I am.

Well, the story goes is that it was the lack of pressure from Canada that swung him to play for us.  He was born in Ivory Coast but grew up in Montreal and apparently Ivory Coast had sent in the big guns like Didier Drogba to try to swing him to declare for them.  Meanwhile our manager rang him and said that although he would like him to declare for Canada he would respect Tabla's decision to play for Ivory Coast and that lack of pressure convinced him to play for us!

6 hours ago, Comrie said:

Would you count de Bruyne? He was sent on loan to Wolfsburg after they bought him.

5 hours ago, senorsoupe said:

Or Salah for that matter, Chelsea sent him on loan to both Fiorentina and Roma before he made his Roma switch permanent

Good shout although de Bruyne never got a chance under Mourinho and Salah wasn’t as good as he is now when he played for Chelsea.

25 minutes ago, IainMorton said:

Good shout although de Bruyne never got a chance under Mourinho and Salah wasn’t as good as he is now when he played for Chelsea.

Agreed that Salah wasn't as good as he is now, but I am sure that he was better than he looked under Mourinho.  A player doesn't improve by that much in such short time by accident

• 4 months later...
On 08/03/2012 at 21:11, woof! said:

He's one of the best players of his generation - already played and scored for Chelsea reserves at 16 (not just youth team). He IS too good for the u17s and we risk losing him through poor management. That said, it works both ways, and he better screw the nut.

Seven years later and hes finally been released by Chelsea.

Hes now 23 and has 5 (five) professional starts in the senior game over the course of his career.