What Was The Last Movie You Watched?

Rugster

Aye, but did you get your hole afterwards?

Nope. We went for the "wee walk" and all she did was preach about her ex-boyfriend. I kept subtly hinting how amazing she was when she belted out the words every guy wants to hear. "You're so sweet" dry.gif

Didn't even get a pull...

The Guard

Class wee film. Brendan Gleeson is fast becoming one of my favourite actors, and his character here - a straight talking Irish copper - is pure comedy gold. It must be said too the action sequences are really well put together. Funniest film i've seen for a long time. 9/10

Edited by stewie from paris

Nope. We went for the "wee walk" and all she did was preach about her ex-boyfriend. I kept subtly hinting how amazing she was when she belted out the words every guy wants to hear. "You're so sweet" dry.gif

Didn't even get a pull...

Ouch. Well there is your lesson. Don't go to the movies with your ex bird.

The Adjustment Bureau 71%

A Better movie than I thought it was going to be with a very interesting concept and solid plot. I heard it was adapted from a novel which sounds like the book must have been really good judging from the storyline.

Happy Gilmore

It's one of them movies that I just can't resist. So much good stuff in it. The shit for breakfast line is still one that cracks me up to this day, as does the answer from Shooter. "......NO?!" :lol: It's just a fun way to spend a couple of hours.

7/10

Edited by DomDom

Fargo 8/10

Took me a long time to get around to it, but thanks to my free netflix trial I finally watched it last night.

Great performances from Steve Buscemi, the guy from Prison Break and (I think) the guy from Mad Men all give excellent performances in a kind of comedy/thriller hybrid. Like a lot of Coen Brothers films, I can understand why it's hit and miss with some folk but I really enjoy their style of filmmaking. Good wee story if you don't read too much in to it, and the Minnesota accents are class :)

Bee Movie (2007)

Feeling pretty crappy so thought I'd stick on something that I didn't have to think about... well it made me fall asleep...

I did see most of it though, and the only good part was after the trial when a guy went out and shot Winnie the Pooh. :)

2/10

Singin' In The Rain

One of my favourite films of all time on big screen for the Glasgow Film Festival, and it was probably the best viewing of it I've had, despite being hung over and sleep-deprived. Never fails to put a big smile on my face: clever and cheeky Hollywood comedy at its best, decorated with some absolutely stunning dancing numbers. All the characters are devised and performed meticulously, I can't pick a single flaw with it.

It's not often you'll see an audience break into applause at the cinema, but it happened four times this afternoon; most so after probably my favourite scene in history: a newly in-love Gene Kelly singing and dancing his heart out on his way home, amongst an unusual amount of California dew, without a care in the world.

10/10

King of the Zombies (1941)

A plane crashes down on a Caribbean island and its passengers, two doctors and their black servant seek refuge in the house of a weird Austrian doctor.

When the servant is sent down to the basement, he discovers things are not as they seem...

Basement, creepy Austrian guy... see you were expecting his daughter to be tied up down there, weren't you? Na, there's just zombies walking about after the witching hour.

Mantan Moreland (the servant) puts on one of the best comic relief jobs you'll ever see. Very similar to a Warner Brothers cartoon, where the character that's just been exploded turns to the camera for a short soliloquy.

Nominated for an Oscar for best score, seems fair enough as the score was quite appropriate for the scenario.

8/10 - Moreland was hilarious, without him it'd be about a 5!

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Dingy, claustrophobic, grimy and seedy and all in a good way. This is a fantastically made film with great performances flying around all over the place, and it keeps you hooked from minute one. Can't help but feel a little let down by the big 'reveal' though. 8.5/10

The missus bought us the Cineworld unlimited passes last month and we have been to a few movies recently....

Man on a Ledge - I thought this was pretty average to be honest, not the best story, average build up and shocking ending, it's basically Phonebooth but slightly worse - 5/10

Chronicle - LOVED IT, non stop action and amazing effects. I loved the storyline for this and if you like films like X-Men and the likes then go and see this film, I was excited from start to finish - 9/10

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close - I didn't enjoy this film but the missus was in tears near the end, it had loads of promise and could have been better than it was. The wee boy who is the main character is extremely annoying, horrible wee face, and voice which just annoyed me from the very first minute. I got sucked into seeing this as Tom Hanks was in it but he's hardly in it at all the kent!. It's on for about 2 hours so it's a long yin, I would wait and download it or something - 4/10 (The missus will love it).

I'm going to see The Women in Black today, hopefully not let down as it looks pretty good.

Edited by M0rtonfc

Happiness

Had never heard of this before, my brother had a clear-out of DVDs lately and loaded them on me so I took a chance on this, and what a stroke of luck!

The plot follows the secretive and disturbed lives of many different people peripheral to three sisters (all affected by their own different every-day issues) at the centre of it all. It's ingeniously written.

One of the main themes is putting controversial material into normality and looking at how the main characters live with it. At times it's disturbing and hard-hitting; it deals with things like trust, vulnerability, childhood curiosity, guilt and betrayal, but this sets us up for the "specialist" humour that goes hand-in-hand with the deranged drama.

It's unmissable, but I am glad I watched it alone.

9.5/10

Edited by Albino Rover

Bridesmaids 4/10 what a load of pish

Dirty harry 9/10 proper man film pissed off Clint Eastwood takes absolutely no shit from anyone

Blue thunder 7/10 the guy.from jaws is a helicopter pilot who gets caught up in a conspiracy very dated now but still a good watch

Edited by pub car king

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Dingy, claustrophobic, grimy and seedy and all in a good way. This is a fantastically made film with great performances flying around all over the place, and it keeps you hooked from minute one. Can't help but feel a little let down by the big 'reveal' though. 8.5/10

As a massive fan of the Guinness version I was wonderig how they'd cut down a near 6 hr running time in that version to a 2hr film and this they achieve by excising a lot of the backstory and motivations of the suspects. Its still a good version of the story but its TTSP for the ADD generation and none of the performances are on a par with the original even if Oldman is quite clearly doing a Guinness impersonation.

The Rum Diaries

Better then I expected, great support to Depp and well worth watching

7/10

The Club

Deserves more of a write up than the first one as folk probably never came across it.

From 1980, an Aussie Rules club deals with boardroom backstabbing, overspending and a lack of success ( remembered it with all the Rangers stuff recently, hadn't seen it since the 80's so downloaded it).

Spot the Whyte, McCoist, and Grieg comparisons ;) , and the old soak of an ex player and former coach (Grieg) lines(''he's been up his mum , his legless sister and thinks he killed his dad!'') are class.

Really well written, footie bits well shot and the best sports song in history.

Watch it!

(reminds me in style of Gregorys Girl)

9/10

Edited by wunfellaff