Walking Down The Halbeath Road

21 minutes ago, kdypar said:

Let’s be honest. The difference is the Rovers board are pumping in unsustainable amounts of money to get promoted. With the poor crowds you get that isn’t a long term plan. 

8 minutes ago, DAFC. said:

It is a bit reactionary that comment, but yous are spending absolute wads on players this season. 

Unless Dundee United bottle it, you won’t win the league, but from what I have seen, Raith have a brilliant chance in the play-offs. 

Substantiate

3 minutes ago, kdypar said:

Let’s be honest. The difference is the Rovers board are pumping in unsustainable amounts of money to get promoted. With the poor crowds you get that isn’t a long term plan. 

Are you being serious. We have a squad of 26, including 5 kids one we signed recently from Kirkcaldy and Dysart FC. 4 of them are out on loan plus Ethan Ross is on loan so running a squad of 21. Two of our summer signings were free agents that played with Celtic and Hearts B teams. Scott Brown and Dylan Easton were both signed from lower league clubs.  Our keeper was 3rd choice at Hibs and is probably the best keeper in this league. Yes we signed Euan Murray, Kevin Watson and Jack Hamilton who maybe slightly higher earners. We are hardly spending huge amounts considering our board stated Ross went out on loan to balance the books. How much do you think Owen Moffat who is your only player with talent is costing you. How much did it cost to secure KRH from Rangers or that diddy striker you've signed from Dundee. And let's face it whatever your paying Wighton is a waste of a wage. He's never been good enough for Championship football. Do you think Mehmets 3 year deal 🤣 hasn't got him on good money. Keep hoping that things will implode at Starks Park but the manager and board have all stated that they weren't looking for promotion in year 1 they are looking to build us up. 

10 minutes ago, diamond_for_life said:

There’s no excusing last nights performance against your rivals that was simply pish and questions do rightfully need asked. 

Having watched yous dominate last season and looking at the start of this season whilst performances might not but where they should be (I don’t know looking in from the outside) don’t you think you are were you probably should be in terms of league position? 

Win your game in hand and you go to 4th behind the likely top 3 before a ball was kicked. Dundee Utd winners, Raith 2nd and Partick 3rd was always the likely scenario. 

Again not trying to bash a club your size but what else realistically was going to happen? If you guys finish this season 4th then it’s job done for your first year back no? 

If we finish 4th aye, we'll look back and say job done. However the end of the season is miles away, and with how tight the league is, and how poor we've been recently, that's far from guaranteed. 

6 minutes ago, Rovers_Lad said:

Substantiate

You were losing money before, you're spending even more money now. 

Genuinely, how do you think Kelty got through the leagues, when they were signing up Fash, Easton, Husband etc were you saying they were getting bankrolled? Or were to saying that Barry Ferguson was a tactical genius and those players were on peanuts? 

It's no secret McKenzie is putting money into the club, baffling and bizarre that any Raith fan thinks differently. 

1 minute ago, HoBNob said:

If we finish 4th aye, we'll look back and say job done. However the end of the season is miles away, and with how tight the league is, and how poor we've been recently, that's far from guaranteed. 

You were losing money before, you're spending even more money now. 

Genuinely, how do you think Kelty got through the leagues, when they were signing up Fash, Easton, Husband etc were you saying they were getting bankrolled? Or were to saying that Barry Ferguson was a tactical genius and those players were on peanuts? 

It's no secret McKenzie is putting money into the club, baffling and bizarre that any Raith fan thinks differently. 

Of course our owner is putting some money in to the club, but also out commercial activities have taken off this season under the new board so that also brings in additional revenue. Attendances are over a 1000 extra every home game not including the home games against you lot and Utd where we had over 12k fans combined at these games. 

17 minutes ago, raith1974 said:

Of course our owner is putting some money in to the club, but also out commercial activities have taken off this season under the new board so that also brings in additional revenue. Attendances are over a 1000 extra every home game not including the home games against you lot and Utd where we had over 12k fans combined at these games. 

Aye, the attendances and commercial increased at Kelty aswell. That must've been how they were affording those extra players! 

Let alone the extra off field personal, Barrowman and Potter must be there for the love of the game. 

36 minutes ago, Rovers_Lad said:

Substantiate

You can’t run a title challenging team on home crowds of 2500. 

Murray and Hamilton signed from English teams. They will probably be on more than any other player in the league outwith United and Queens Park. 

its a wild take to suggest your not throwing money at a title challenge. 

Edited by kdypar

21 minutes ago, raith1974 said:

Take away the games against us and United and the crowds are poor. No matter what way you dress it up. The numbers won’t be adding up for long at Starks. 

2 minutes ago, kdypar said:

Murray and Hamilton signed from English teams. They’ll be on more than any other player in the league outwith United. 

Didn't realise Livingston had moved to England.  

4 minutes ago, HoBNob said:

Aye, the attendances and commercial increased at Kelty aswell. That must've been how they were affording those extra players! 

Let alone the extra off field personal, Barrowman and Potter must be there for the love of the game. 

Sorry extra players at Raith. You do understand any club needs a squad of players. It's just our starting 14-15 are streets ahead of your starting 14-15. I've read your fans saying you need to bring in 4 players in January where will money for those players come from. Increased attendances, cup runs or directors.

1 minute ago, raith1974 said:

Sorry extra players at Raith. You do understand any club needs a squad of players. It's just our starting 14-15 are streets ahead of your starting 14-15. I've read your fans saying you need to bring in 4 players in January where will money for those players come from. Increased attendances, cup runs or directors.

Using the Raith/Kelty school of economics we'll just say our commercial activities have went up, as well statements about our attendances, sounds easy enough. 

6 minutes ago, kdypar said:

Murray and Hamilton signed from English teams. They will probably be on more than any other player in the league outwith United and Queens Park. 

You are so wrong with your statement.  Our average attendance outwith the games against the Pars and Utd are 3k add in 12k for those two games then our average is considerably higher than 2500. Hospitality at those games is full, sponsorship at games and around the stadium is also up on previous seasons. Also remember that the floodlights at SP are on every night with the pitch being used. No expensive loan signings from down south that needs accomodation like previous years. And in terms of Hamilton he was on loan at Hartlepool he was a Livi player.

Just now, raith1974 said:

You are so wrong with your statement.  Our average attendance outwith the games against the Pars and Utd are 3k add in 12k for those two games then our average is considerably higher than 2500. Hospitality at those games is full, sponsorship at games and around the stadium is also up on previous seasons. Also remember that the floodlights at SP are on every night with the pitch being used. No expensive loan signings from down south that needs accomodation like previous years. And in terms of Hamilton he was on loan at Hartlepool he was a Livi player.

You're absolutely wasting your time trying to discuss anything with Pars fans. They're akin to Old Firm supporters that they get an idea in their heads and its absolute gospel, they'll continue to spout the same crap over and over despite info to the contrary. They're trying to find an excuse as to why we're better than them just now and the only one they have is the lazy rhetoric that we're chucking cash at a team who signed an 18yr old from Kirkcaldy and Dysart.

That was brutal and, like Ayr game, we have that truly abysmal performance in us. Like...gutless, no quality, no belief and its a massive problem that its even a possibility. 

But as some have said, we also have performances where we create a lot of chances and....our strikers will generally miss the chances but we're a young, lower half championship team at the moment with some significant injuries. 

Last night was a joke of a performance but bigger picture, for me, not time to throw the toys out the pram. 

10 minutes ago, raith1974 said:

Was there no away fans at any of those games? Like it or not the best core support you can gather is 2500. That’s not sustainable for challenging unless other money is added to the fund. Be that from directors or other sources. 

13 minutes ago, kdypar said:

Arbroath did on similar. 

I'd imagine Murray is on a fair wedge, similar Watson, Stanton and Connolly, maybe Hamilton though I think with his longer deal, he's likely on less up front and more over the course of the deal. The rest, probably not so much. Of course part of this is financed by director input and off-field activities. Bear in mind the players that we've let go that were also probably on a decent amount in Lang, Spencer, MacDonald and Ross (admittedly only on a loan to Falkirk). Incidentally, what is considered a high wage in this league these days? £1000 a week? £1500?

The aim at the start of the season was top 4, thats always been the target, though I imagine as weeks go by and we keep gathering points, that target perhaps shifts upwards.

Just now, cb_diamond said:

A very poor result to be fair but had to have a chuckle at the Pars poster on the Twitter match thread claiming the club is at its lowest ebb since the late 60s as you sit top half of the championship. Bizarre.

Because some of their fans think they are a Premiership  side even though they are like the rest of us average Championship sides which will have some better seasons and some poorer seasons.