Walking Down The Halbeath Road

7 minutes ago, Well over Par said:

Current board have hidden the true debts from the GmbH money men 

pigeons will come home to roost now 

the sooner Cook is out the door the better 

The current board have 4 people directly picked and appointed by the gmbh investors…

On 04/08/2024 at 02:09, Fifes Elite Force said:

Its not a derby. We are actually closer to Tynecastle as the crow flies and thats also not a derby.

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you on this.

You are correct re: Tynecastle, I think that you would be “bigging yourself up” if you started to consider Dunfermline vs Hearts as a derby! 🙂

Do you really not consider the Pars vs the Bairns to be a derby? Do you not get that same extra buzz on matchday when you are playing us that you get when you play Raith Rovers?  That you don’t get when you are playing Cowdenbeath, Kelty or East Fife? I certainly don’t get as excited when we play Stenhousemuir, Alloa or the Binos as I do when we play the Pars and by your terms I should do as they are derbies and these clubs are nearer to Falkirk.

I think what makes our games a derby (you don’t think it is, you say potato, I say potaato) is the fact that we are two similar sized clubs, we have similar sized supports, for many years we have played in the same leagues, either both of us going for promotion or both of us fighting relegation.

Throughout British football there are derbies that by your definition aren’t derbies.

Norwich vs Ipswich, the East Anglia derby. Ipswich is much nearer to Colchester than to Norwich but I am pretty sure the Ipswich fans don’t consider that to be the derby game because they aren’t a similar sized club whereas Norwich is.

The south Wales derby, Swansea vs Cardiff. Again, Cardiff is much nearer to Newport than they are to Swansea but the Cardiff fans (I think) wouldn’t believe a game against Newport to be a big derby game while the Swansea game is because they are similar in size to Cardiff.

Watford vs Luton, Stevenage are nearer to Luton.

Oxford vs Swindon, Forest Green Rovers are nearer to Swindon.

Blackburn vs Burnley, Accrington Stanley are sandwiched in between both of them but I wouldn’t think that the Burnley or Blackburn fans get as turned on for a game against Accrington as they do for a Blackburn vs Burnley game.

Plus many more.

The comparative sizes of the clubs is all a part of what constitutes a derby.

Maybe at the end of the day we’ll just have to agree to disagree.

Edited by Bairn in Exile

5 hours ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you on this.

You are correct re: Tynecastle, I think that you would be “bigging yourself up” if you started to consider Dunfermline vs Hearts as a derby! 🙂

Do you really not consider the Pars vs the Bairns to be a derby? Do you not get that same extra buzz on matchday when you are playing us that you get when you play Raith Rovers?  That you don’t get when you are playing Cowdenbeath, Kelty or East Fife? I certainly don’t get as excited when we play Stenhousemuir, Alloa or the Binos as I do when we play the Pars and by your terms I should do as they are derbies and these clubs are nearer to Falkirk.

I think what makes our games a derby (you don’t think it is, you say potato, I say potaato) is the fact that we are two similar sized clubs, we have similar sized supports, for many years we have played in the same leagues, either both of us going for promotion or both of us fighting relegation.

Throughout British football there are derbies that by your definition aren’t derbies.

Norwich vs Ipswich, the East Anglia derby. Ipswich is much nearer to Colchester than to Norwich but I am pretty sure the Ipswich fans don’t consider that to be the derby game because they aren’t a similar sized club whereas Norwich is.

The south Wales derby, Swansea vs Cardiff. Again, Cardiff is much nearer to Newport than they are to Swansea but the Cardiff fans (I think) wouldn’t believe a game against Newport to be a big derby game while the Swansea game is because they are similar in size to Cardiff.

Watford vs Luton, Stevenage are nearer to Luton.

Oxford vs Swindon, Forest Green Rovers are nearer to Swindon.

Blackburn vs Burnley, Accrington Stanley are sandwiched in between both of them but I wouldn’t think that the Burnley or Blackburn fans get as turned on for a game against Accrington as they do for a Blackburn vs Burnley game.

Plus many more.

The comparative sizes of the clubs is all a part of what constitutes a derby.

Maybe at the end of the day we’ll just have to agree to disagree.

Nope I dont consider it a derby if anything it's is a rivarlry. We arnt in a traditionally same geographical region, city/town. Theres loads of clubs in the central belt that are roughly 20/30s drive from each other. They arnt all derbies.

I posted this later in the thread

https://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/68892205.amp

TBH though even as a rivallry theres times I havn't really given a toss about the fixture. When in different leagues from you and when we have cup draws I look for a day out in Kirkcaldy rather than looking to get a game against Falkirk. I probably also get more joy our of beating Hearts and Hibs(I lived in Edinburgh) and Airdrie. Theres also times during this "rivallry" that the games havnt had much of an atmosphere/edge to them where I think a normal derby against rovers usually does. I think the whole thing is just due to us being similar sizes clubs up against each other often for the same things, and when we arnt competing wiht each other it isn't that big a deal. It doesnt even have a decent name, someone came up with the "Kirkcardine bridge" derby at one stage which sounds terrible

On a slightly seperate note, a few times during the euros we ended up speaking to Falkirk fans. As soon as they found out we were pars fans their patter/general demenour changed and all we got was "fifer" stuff. They were like a broken record, I ended up pulling up some lad that approached us pre the game in Cologne and started it. Really oddball stuff, equivilent to when you get the "jock" patter you get from English fans.

6 minutes ago, Fifes Elite Force said:

Nope I dont consider it a derby if anything it's is a rivarlry. We arnt in a traditionally same geographical region, city/town. Theres loads of clubs in the central belt that are roughly 20/30s drive from each other. They arnt all derbies.

I posted this later in the thread

https://www.bbc.co.uk/newsround/68892205.amp

TBH though even as a rivallry theres times I havn't really given a toss about the fixture. When in different leagues from you and when we have cup draws I look for a day out in Kirkcaldy rather than looking to get a game against Falkirk. I probably also get more joy our of beating Hearts and Hibs(I lived in Edinburgh) and Airdrie. Theres also times during this "rivallry" that the games havnt had much of an atmosphere/edge to them where I think a normal derby against rovers usually does. I think the whole thing is just due to us being similar sizes clubs up against each other often for the same things, and when we arnt competing wiht each other it isn't that big a deal. It doesnt even have a decent name, someone came up with the "Kirkcardine bridge" derby at one stage which sounds terrible

On a slightly seperate note, a few times during the euros we ended up speaking to Falkirk fans. As soon as they found out we were pars fans their patter/general demenour changed and all we got was "fifer" stuff. They were like a broken record, I ended up pulling up some lad that approached us pre the game in Cologne and started it. Really oddball stuff, equivilent to when you get the "jock" patter you get from English fans.

Fair enough.

Re: your link, the BBC is blocked here so I haven't been able to access it.

Going by the exchange of posts etc. on here I think that you might be in the minority with regards to whether our game is a derby or not.

Cheers.

5 minutes ago, Bairn in Exile said:

Fair enough.

Re: your link, the BBC is blocked here so I haven't been able to access it.

Going by the exchange of posts etc. on here I think that you might be in the minority with regards to whether our game is a derby or not.

Cheers.

Probably because most people don't really understand what a derby is. Heres a quote with a definition from the link you cant get into

"Unlike a sporting rivalry which can be based on league position or history between two teams, a derby is a match between two local clubs that are geographically close to each other - for example teams that are from the same city or from the same part of the country."

Given we arnt in a historic region and theres loads of teams around that are similar distance its not a derby.

Its fine being a rivallry though, it doesnt lessen the fixture. I dont get why it needs to be called a derby or why it upsets people its not.

Edited by Fifes Elite Force

11 minutes ago, Fifes Elite Force said:

Probably because most people don't really understand what a derby is. Heres a quote with a definition from the link you cant get into

"Unlike a sporting rivalry which can be based on league position or history between two teams, a derby is a match between two local clubs that are geographically close to each other - for example teams that are from the same city or from the same part of the country."

Given we arnt in a historic region and theres loads of teams around that are similar distance its not a derby.

It’s fine being a rivallry though, it doesnt lessen the fixture. I dont get why it needs to be called a derby or why it upsets people it’s not.

I would argue that one man’s semantics is another man’s semiotics 🤔😎

I suppose the rivalry with Falkirk is all about opinions. For me, it’s the bigger rivalry for Dunfermline. The Fife derby with Raith is a good, local rivalry. People can scoff at that, I know Raith fans tend to but it’s true. 

Last season Raith battered us and if I’m being honest it was the first time it felt like it was a bigger deal, for me anyway. I’ve watched us play Raith for the best part of 30 years but last season felt it felt bigger, nastier etc. I don’t know if that’s because of Raith’s social media stuff but everyone wanted to beat them and see them lose. Also they were doing well in the league, winning a lot and going for the title.

For me it’s always remained the same, I enjoy the Fife derby more, I much prefer going to Kirkcaldy for an away day but if you offered the chance to land four wins against Raith or Falkirk then I’m going the latter. It feels like proper dislike there, whereas the Raith rivalry wasn’t too bad. However, that did change last season and I suspect it’ll continue to grow to be similar levels to the Falkirk rivalry.

My dad heard it from a guy who heard it from a friend so this may well be horse feathers, but supposedly the guy who installed cables at East End Park this summer billed them for £1,000 and the club said they would pay in installments, and he was a bit surprised they couldn't just pay it at once.  Anyone heard similar? 

Rivalry/Derby it doesn't really matter imo, it's just a word. Cowdenbeath and Kelty are Derbys and as games they don't tend to mean half as much. 

At various times in my life, probably for the majority of it I've preferred the Falkirk games and looked forward to them far more, but I just dread the games now tbh. There's a proper nastiness to the game that I just don't like, I'll sound very much like a Rugby fan here but I like that with the Raith derby I can go out in Kirkcaldy after the game, have a few pints win or lose and you'll talk to Raith fans and you can get patter. There's none of that in my experience with the Falkirk game. From both sides it just seems to bring out the absolute worst in some fans and I cannae be arsed with it. 

4 hours ago, Fifes Elite Force said:

Maybe we just spoke to the same Falkirk fans but aye, this. 

For me the derby that matters is the one with the Rovers. Always has always will. Probably because I'm off a certain age(ahem).

For all the younger pars supporting family members and their friends it's definitely Falkirk as the derby.

Whatever it is both games bring passion which unfortunately spills over sometimes into ugliness.

But for me nothing is like sticking it up the lino sniffers. Lol.Unfortunately that's not been happening lately.

Coyp

26 minutes ago, timbermill tactician said:

For me the derby that matters is the one with the Rovers. Always has always will. Probably because I'm off a certain age(ahem).

For all the younger pars supporting family members and their friends it's definitely Falkirk as the derby.

Whatever it is both games bring passion which unfortunately spills over sometimes into ugliness.

But for me nothing is like sticking it up the lino sniffers. Lol.Unfortunately that's not been happening lately.

Coyp

I mind George O'Boyle and Kevin Thomas getting punted for sniffing a lino of something or other, but I'm sure they were at St Johnston at the time, not Raith. 

4 hours ago, A Diamond For Me said:

My dad heard it from a guy who heard it from a friend so this may well be horse feathers, but supposedly the guy who installed cables at East End Park this summer billed them for £1,000 and the club said they would pay in installments, and he was a bit surprised they couldn't just pay it at once.  Anyone heard similar? 

I heard it from a friend who, heard it from a friend who, heard it from another you’ve been hearing shite. 

27 minutes ago, Well over Par said:

well i wouldnt be too sure about that. 

😅

You're genuinely saying the club don't have £1000 on hand?

If that were the case wages and bills wouldn't be getting paid and the club would be going in to administration.

According to the Courier Ngwenya out on Saturday. So not a single left sided player in the entire squad. 

Fisher will be back and the club are "confident" Kane will be in the squad (which i'm taking to mean he might make the bench for Hamilton if we're lucky). 

9 hours ago, HoBNob said:

Rivalry/Derby it doesn't really matter imo, it's just a word. Cowdenbeath and Kelty are Derbys and as games they don't tend to mean half as much. 

At various times in my life, probably for the majority of it I've preferred the Falkirk games and looked forward to them far more, but I just dread the games now tbh. There's a proper nastiness to the game that I just don't like, I'll sound very much like a Rugby fan here but I like that with the Raith derby I can go out in Kirkcaldy after the game, have a few pints win or lose and you'll talk to Raith fans and you can get patter. There's none of that in my experience with the Falkirk game. From both sides it just seems to bring out the absolute worst in some fans and I cannae be arsed with it. 

Maybe we just spoke to the same Falkirk fans but aye, this. 

The nasty edge has always been there.

The only time I ever got involved in any sort of bother at a game was when I skelped one of you lot when we pumped you 4-1 at Brockville in 1978! (self defence honest).

That said much as I love turning you lot over and revelling in your misery I have a deeper loathing for the kiddy on fascist wankers at Airdrie.

I actually agree that the “Fifer” patter is a bit tedious and the Norrie and Gowans shite is pathetic.

Anyway prepare to take it dry on Saturday.